We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points and bad points.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eleni Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eleni Holiday Village to your Saves list
Eleni Holiday Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ayiou Georgiou 5 | Chloraka, Paphos 8106, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good points and bad points.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

stayed at the Eleni holiday village from the 8th-22nd August with my dad and little sister. Overall the hotel is okay. There are good points and bad points.
Good points:
Hotel and rooms are clean and well maintained. The main ReceptioI area is nicely furnished and cool with good air conditioning. (needed in the Cyprus heat!)
Nice big, clean pool with a lifeguard.
bar staff and culinary staff are all reasonably friendly.
The rooms were cleaned 5 times a week, and the air conditioning was included in the price and worked fine.
Decent area- the bus to Paphos town was only a short bus ride away (bus tickets only one Euro for everyone!) and also up the road from the hotel there ate several bars and restaurants for in the evenings. (We reccomend the New Horizon pub. cheap, decent food and free wifi! Signposted all around the area around the hotel.)
Nice little shop in the hotel with all the basics for when you've (inevitably!) forgotten something!

Bad points:
food was 'okay'. whilst my father had pretty much no problem with what there was- me and my younger sister really struggled some days. there was a lack of 'plain', universally liked options (e.g. plain chicken breast) so quite a few times we were stuck with just chips for lunch and dinner. Breakfast wasn't awful- eggs, bacon, sausages, beans etc. For quite a few evenings we ended up having to eat out- which was expensive! if you're willing to eat anything (like my dad!) you'll be fine- but if you have young children or you're picky eaters, I recommend half
board or bed and breakfast.
Internet access- whilst the Eleni holiday village boasts Internet access and wifi, what they don't tell you is that it is very expensive. For an hour and a half on their computers it costs 7 euros, and for an hour and a halfs worth of wifi its 5 euros for an hour and a half. there is also no other option to buy a shorter amount of time- its an hour and a half or
THE SUNBED ISSUE. we did have a hell of a lot of trouble getting sunbeds. I've never known a hotel let people leave their towels on their sunbeds 24/7, but it was allowed here! after a few complaints to reception, from us and other guests, they did attempt to fix the issue by signposting that if towels were left on the sunbed for too long, they would be removed. This really was greatly appreciated, however this just resulted in people not only hiding their towels under the sunbed lid but also your towels being removed when you went to the hotel restaurant for lunch!

despite some things not being so great about this hotel- it is worth a try. The location is great, and the pool is lovely and Cyprus really is a gorgeous place. I do reccomend going half board or bed and breakfast if you're a picky eater, as nearby there are some great places to eat. thanks for reading!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    195
    94
    47
    29
See reviews for
208
207
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the best holidays ever!ENTERTAINMENT:the entertainment was unbelievable!you wouldn't think that just one little entertainment team could do so much!there was a Cabariet comedy show,fire eaters and lots more.the entertainment team are so friendly and look like they enjoy their job!KIDS:for kids they have a kids club,their own pool and the staff are great with them!FOOD:the food is great,they have a range of salads,pastas,meats,chips and stuff and desserts!they also have a pool bar for snacks like omelletes and burgers.LOCATION:the location isn't so good.there are a few night clubs and resteraunts but you have to get a depressing 10/15 minute bus journey to the harbour then another bus to paphos town centre.despite all that you are right next to the sea!it is a bit rocky but if you take a short walk down there is a man made beach that is great!STAFF:The staff are the best thing about this holiday!thanks to Vasy,Ana,Adam,Chris,Sophie,Alex,Ji-ji and lots more!you have made my holiday rock!!!if any member of staff is reading this,MR OUZO MR OUZO!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We decided to return to Paphos and chose this hotel as a change this time. We ended up being very happy with our choice. The price we paid was nothing considering the memories we now have.
The rooms are a little dated, but who cares when there is so much to do in the hotel, activites all day and night, including things for adults and children. The entertainment team work so hard to keep everyone happy, but also know if you want to just relax and be left alone. They make this hotel what it is.
Good choice every night for food, all inclusive is a great deal, with lots of different drinks included and food throughout the day.
Nothing bad to say about this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just got back from a 1 week holiday in Eleni in Paphos. I must agree with most of the other comments below, particularly the inconsiderate people who think it is OK to "reserve" themselves sunbeds even though signs on the walls say that this should not be done by order of management, obviously not enforced at all. I have a teeneage daughter with fair skin so needs shade and for the first day we arrived got a sunbed with umbrella - after that every night people left towels on the beds so that they had the same beds the next morning. We were forced to sunbath under the shadow of a palm tree on the grass at the botom of the complex as by 8am in the morning there were no more umbrellas - hardly ideal, but fantastic views across the sea. Getting around the pool was near impossible unless you want a bed here or there to yourself, almost lying on top of some other stranger as so tightly packed in. The worst I have ever known in any apartments.

We arrived at midnight as the flight and transfers were both delayed by 30 minutes. We decided to go self-catering and as it was so hot and humid hoped to be able to buy a drink of water at least. We had to beg the receptionist and the barman for a drink as he was closing and did manage to get 2 bottles of water which we paid for when we checked out. Something to be aware of as the onsite shop,even though closed at the time, was worthless for food and drinks the next morning. We ended up paying for 3 of the breakfasts in the restaraunt because of this. Once we explored further that day there were shops nearby with much better supplies available.

As regards the smell in reception - we did NOT notice this on arrival or the next days but when the lady arrived with her jewellery display (Saturday morning) it was very strong, at first I thought it related to the display cases - for those curious, like you stood in some dog muck, this did not clear for the rest of the week....I dont think this was the underground pool as we went down there to change and shower on our last day and the smell was not down there, just the usual chlorine aroma.

The outside toilets beside the pool down a considerable flight of steps were disgusting so avoid if you can.

I can't really comment about the pool, it looked clean but I only had one swim in it the whole time as it was just jammed full almost all the day with kids playing, this is a small pool no matter what anyone says. It is long and shallow at one end so unless you like sitting in 3 inches of water cant really be considered a pool. Great for the little 'uns though. The other main part of the pool was taken up by older kids and young teenagers playing the usual ball and jumping games - very crowded. There is a pool attendant watching most of the time too which was good. The volley ball pool is very small and as someone said taken up by older people that looked to be all friends or relatives and busy all the time.

Because of the towel/bed situation we decided to hire a car, this was about 36 Euros per day for a very small car (Suzuki Splash) - worst car I have ever driven btw. We were glad we did as we could explore Paphos a little further at night. Also buses run until midnight and cost 1 Euro per journey or 3 euros unlimited travel. Definately best to go to Coral Bay restaraunts and Paphos Harbour if you can. There was a lovely restaraunt nearby, Saint Giorgios, which we ended up at most nights - English themed with Greek food, English football and sport on the TVs as well if you are into that. Also Seriani's in Coral Bay is definately worth visiting for great Cypriot food. It gets fuller than any other restaraunt in Coral Bay so get there before 8pm to avoid waiting outside.

The room we had was great but again very basic as some people said. This is to be expected for this type of place - 3 star definately. The rooms were made up daily but the cleaning was very quick, some things on the floors were still there day after day. Towels were changed every 2 days.

Our shower was never without hot water, although it did keep getting hotter and colder, and because of the air conditioning a draft from under the bathroom door meant you were "attacked" constantly by the shower curtain....we had room 3112 which had a fantastic side view out over the sea. The beds though firm were comfortable and after all the entertainment died down at 11.30 to 12 am it was very quiet and we slept really well - air conditioning aside. This worked well in our room but we had to turn it down as drying our throats out at night - far too hot to turn it off at night - the temperature never dropped below 29 degrees at night and very humid.

The grounds were very well kept and it was very clean outside. It was too hot for insects especially mosquitos so need not worry about those things. We saw a few large ants and flying beetles but apart from that nothing worried us the whole trip.

All in all we had a nice time in the sunshine, but would never return to these appartments due to the towel/sunbed/pool issues. If you have small children that just want to play in the pool, are willing to "reserve" your beds when you get the chance and definately want All Inclusive these will probably apeal to you.

Room Tip: See View room though a little more expensive are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we had it goes interruptions to the begginings of August.
as him i had seen from the photographs the hotel it appearred good.When however we went to the hotel and remained one day there we occupied that they is not hotel of category A of but category c- .
the reasons the is it follows.
each evening in the room I found cockroaches with feathers
the swimming-pool was not never cleaned with result of being full filths and it smelled bad.
the types of hygiene in the room want renovation
the toilet paper they was type of luxury
firstly the wells of the hotel are:
one evening where we went for dinner I found in the rice small piece from sachet and bone
The food and generally the buffet of hotel they was the villain that i saw never and try.
A lot of quantity zero........ quality.
It does not deserve the labour you will pay all inclusive.
two from the nights that remained we went to restaurant in order to we eat and we are thanked the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I really dont know where to start from...my english is not very good so i do apologise for any mistakes.. but this 3 star hotel is by far the best family resort in pafos.. actually the quality of this hotel comparising to what you pay is amazingly low..i suggest it to all holiday makers travelling to pafos..is on an amazing cliff overlooking the mediteranean see..there around 7.30 you can widness the most magical sunsets ever..the bar on the lower part of the resort is open from early mornings untill late afternoon offering refreshments and snacks to all guests..amazing souvlaki...yiamiiii...there are sunbeds there for these who like to read a book overlooking the amazing view with a nice cocail made by antri..the waiters are so polite and always willing to help you withanything...not to mention The entertainment..kept us and our 3 children of 3 different ages amused at all times..amazing kidsclub with amazing entertainers..treasure hands,games and so much more for youngsters to explore everyday mornings and afternoons..now about the lunch and dinner it was always a new experience for us..the chef had a big suprice for all guests every
day..from all type of cuisines you could find smg to suit your tastes...also so many sweets and fresh watermellon ..so refreshing....we got very close with all staff having stayed there for a week and i really feel i should say from all my family a very very big thank you to all of you guys..and especially to the manager of this resort for making sure our requirements where up to our demands..he was always smiling and i was really shocked when he saw us on saturday and mentioned my husbands name asking us if all was ok..he even made sure for us that we could get Sunbeds for us and the children as it was pick season and the hotel was full of holiday makers and it was really hard to find a sunbed ..i am really really pleased we booked this village hotel for our holiday..defenetly suggesting it ,,,defenetly coming again..xxx

Room Tip: Choose number 2409 for family of 5 or next to rhe playground by the terrace overlooking the sea i th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Was booked in to the Phafian park & got moved to the Eleni a few days before we were due to fly. As i have stayed in the Phafian park before, the Eleni Village is NOT up to the standard or cleanliness of the Phafian park.

We arrived at midnight and was greeted by a nice man on reception who gave us our room keys, our luggage was taken by a young man called Tassos and we went along with him to our rooms. We asked the at the bar for sandwiches & drinks which were given.

Theres many things i can say about the Eleni so lets start

Reception
The reception has a weird smell, all the time it was not only noticed by us but all the other guests & our rep. No air conditioning bar 2 small air con portable machines this was not enough.

Rooms
Very basic and need updating badly. Thats all i can say.

Showers
Ridiculous, even boiling hot or freezing cold. For 3 days 2 out of 3 of our rooms had no hot water just freezing cold which resulted in 6 of us sharing one bathroom.

Toilet Bins
Toilet bins are stated that they are changed every day, Some rooms of our party the toilet bins were not changed for up to 6 days.

Towels
Towels were old, hard and ragged. 1 member of my party had her towels changed and was given dirty towels which were smeared with feces, We of course complained to the reception staff and were just given new towels with no apology.

Floors
Rooms were not swept or mopped regular, about 4/5 times in 14 days.

Cockroaches
In one room there were cockroaches, when we reported to reception, we were simply given tin of spray again no apology no offer to come and sort them out

Basins
Basins and bathroom sides were only cleaned twice in the whole 14 days we were there.


All inclusive food
The food was an absolute joke, never have I ever experienced bad food like this. Very poor choice of anything. Every single piece of meat was in some sort of sauce which contained wine. Nearly every dish, pasta and salad had cheese all over them. As 2 people in our party cannot consume cheese, chocolate or wine for medical reasons, they were forced to eat soup every night or simply eat out and spend money when we were all inclusive. Puddings were very limited Melon, oranges and grapes on occasions was as far as it went. Hot Puddings to still very limited e.g. bread and butter pudding served 7 times in 14 days, the other alternative was dried up cake. I have never been anywhere we you cannot get ice cream in the evening/with dinner there was none. My advice stock up at breakfast which wasnt so bad (bacon, eggs, waffles, beans etc) or at the snack bar (burgers, omlettes, chips, toasties etc)


Air-conditioning
The air-conditioning in reception and dining room was not working, they did have 2 small portable machines. But they were not adequate to keep the rooms cool. We couldn't wait to leave the table each meal time. Air con in rooms wasnt so bad but still NOT up to 4* standards

Reception Staff
Bar 2 people reception staff were rude and unhelpful

Bar staff
Bar manager Chris, Andri, Adam & the lady that collected glasses in the evening (didnt catch name) all absolutely lovely can not do enough for you. One lady called Honey needs to go back to school and learn some manners so rude, unfriendly and no manners. Did complain about her & at the end of the holiday she did manage a fake smile.

Pool

I have no complaints about the pools what so ever, always clean, plenty of room, always managed to get sunbeds together for the whole 2 weeks (there were 6 of us) Tassos the life guard (fastest person i know to do the rubix cube) was absolutely lovely, well mannered, friendly & polite. Never been anywhere that has a life guard so thats an added extra.

Entertainment.
Entertainment was great cheesy but thats just what you want. Entertainment staff Alex, Sophie & GiGi work there arses off for very little money & they made our holiday. Evening Enertainment ranges from caberet, quizzes, karaoke, fire show, mr & mrs, casino plus more., On sunday there day off they still have a live singer who was really good. You MUST MUST get up & do the club dance known as song number 9 you wont know the words but will end up singing your own. Mini disco is great for kids and adults lol you will not get the songs out of your head still now i find myself singing choco latte lol Bingo is really good, we ending up winning 165 euros on our second to last night. Watch Alex and his bingo balls though he tends to drop them all over the floor. Daytime Entertainment, Archery, Vollyball, Water polo and killer darts with Sophie, which was nice and you never felt pressured into doing it. Aqua fit with Alex (seriously i have no idea where that man gets his energy) that was always a laugh one day only 2 people wanted to participate and he still went through the whole routine with them. Please do it at least once when your on holiday its so funny.

Gym/Indoor pool/sauna
Gym was basic, but everything in there worked. Indoor pool looked clean however again no air con so never went in there. Sauna door hanging off and was never on or working just left with empty glasses & rubbish in there.

Shop
The ladies in the shop where lovely. However shop is quite high priced i assume its because its onsite. To the right of the entrance of the hotel about a 4 min walk is a lovely air conditioned shop thats much more low & reasonably priced.

Cigarettes
Was told not to buy at the markets by the rep and many people. They are pretty much all the same price around the harbour & little shops between 38-40 euros for 200. Reception staff also told us you were only allowed to bring 200 back but the correct amount told by our rep is 800 per person.

Apart from the sun, entertainment/staff & the pool i have nothing good to say about this place and if it wasnt for those things i dont think i could of stayed there for 2 weeks. The whole place wants ripping down & starting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eleni Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleni Holiday Village

Address: Ayiou Georgiou 5 | Chloraka, Paphos 8106, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#22 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#27 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleni Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eleni Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleni Holiday Village Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleni Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.