We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it - Excellent service all 'round!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kefalos Beach Tourist Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kefalos Beach Tourist Village to your Saves list
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tombs of the Kings Road | PO 62174, Paphos 8061, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved it - Excellent service all 'round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just read the review below - they must have gone to a different hotel. We came back yesterday and found it excellent. The rooms were spacious, clean and well kept. The bathroom was spacious and spotless. We did stay 'bed & breakfast' and found the breakfast was repetitive - however there was so much choice you could have something different everyday and lots of it if you so choose. The food was good quality and the seating service excellent.
We regularly got up 8:30am and always found a sun lounger by the pool - and there were some by the beach empty as well. The beach is virtually on your doorstep. Entertainment was great - especially for the kids with different pool games every day, but you didn't have to take part if you didn't want to. The music played by the pool was some of the best I've heard at a resort. Food and drink by the pool was top class.
Evening entertainment was fair with shows like 'Irish dancing', Abba, fire eating etc - not really my cup of tea but it was free. The locality was excellent with shops, restaurants etc just up the road - I too can recommend San Marino; and Metaxas has the most amusing menu lists I've ever seen and with excellent food and waiter service.
I did find the resort expensive, however I've been told all EU resorts are expensive at this time. I'm surprised this is only a 3 star rated hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    391
    100
    22
    7
See reviews for
783
764
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Firstly we decided to book kefalos on the strength of good reviews on trip advisor. At first we found the apartment quite charming and it had very useful appliances. As we had our 16 month toddler with us we requested a cot which was supplied at no cost. On the first day our baby wanted to sit at the kitchen table beside us to eat. There was no high chair so I let her sit beside us on the chair but unfortunately the chair was so lightweight that it fell back and she hit her head on the floor. I went to the reception to ask if we could have a high chair as a matter of health and safety but we were told that we could hire one for 56 euros for the two week stay. We were expecting to pay something but we could buy a high chair for this amount. My husband complained twice to reception expecting someone to discuss the issue with us but no one was interested. We feel that a high chair should be supplied if a cot is requested. We were told that the manager was not negotiating the rental for the high chair as they did not have enough to go around. Why do they not buy more? On a similar subject my step daughter kindly got up every morning to put towels on sun loungers as there were not enough of these either. After 7 am you had no chance of a sun lounger at the pool. The logical answer is buy more. The breakfasts were very repetitive and on a few occasions we stayed in the apartment as we were bored of the same old food. We went to lidl in the car and bought our own bread and cereal. The cleaners were very pleasant and cleaned the rooms very well. We found the entertainment was very repetitive and we saw a couple of the same shows twice. We hired a car which was a great move as we could get around easier with the baby. Our favourite place to eat was chloes Chinese restaurant at tomb of the kings road, but the harbour is very nice too. Beautiful decor and very nice food. We also went to fat mamas very good and if you like good local food the San Marino restaurant is near the kefalos and the food and staff very nice. We generally found the kefalos expensive. We were very disappointed with the attitude of some of the pool restaurant staff. We did enjoy the water park, the jolly Rodger pirate ship was fantastic and good value and the Concorde catamaran. But over all we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

On arrival at Kefalos we were impressed with the cleanliness and style of the hotel. We are a family of 4 with 13yrd old twin boys and the reception staff were brilliant and apologised for the twenty minute delay for our room. We found that we had been upgraded to a two bedroom apartment with was new and could not be faulted. The sea views and layout made it a pleasure to stay in with the sound of the waves at night in the bedroom or on the balcony. The room was very clean and well maintained throughout our stay. The breakfasts were great, there was a great range of food, the staff were pleasant and when we ate before 9am it was not busy. The boys spent lots of time in the pool and joined in the daytime entertainment centred around the pool. There was no problem getting a sun bed if you go dowm before 9am but there is plenty of space for a few more sun beds which would ease congestion. The little grassed football area was a lot of fun at night and we had a few kick arounds. The sea/beach was not great but there are nice beaches which can easily be reached by bus.We had four evening meals on a cheap package which were very good and well worth the money. Happy hour for cocktails was good and though the evening shows were limited in quality sitting out on a warm evening with the sound of the sea sipping a cocktail takes some beating. Went on the day trip by air to Egypt which was superb and a real must. Also visited North Cyprus which was interesting. Hired a Suzuki Jimmy which was great - plenty of roman ruins to visit and the Troodos mountains are lovely and just that bit cooler. Overall the Hotel was very clean, great staff(especially entertainment during day) the rooms were faultless. I would recommend a visit witout question Must have a sea view though to get the best from this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have just come back (10/08/2011) from two weeks holiday at the Kefalos Beach Village with my wife and 10 year old son this was our second time there and have to say that this was one of our best ever holidays from start to finish. When you arrive you are greeted by warm and friendly staff who are very pleasant and polite and nothing is to much trouble for them. We got to our room and what I thought was a nice touch was a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit in the room waiting for us. Breakfasts were varied you could have anything from cold meats,croissants,cereal,toast or a full english fry up which all were excellent. When we visited two years ago my son rarely used the kids club but this time he was in there nearly every day and would always come out saying how much he enjoyed it and would be singing the praises of Maggie and Lauren. The entertainment throughout the day by the pool was varied for both the adults and the kids and was absolutely brillant, in the evening the entertainment run by Rico, AJ, Freida and Ilyona from the kids disco to the bingo and the various shows were equally exceptional. We were about ten minutes walk from the main bars and restaurants and had some great meals in Duamo, Phuket and Fat Mama's to name but a few and on one night we took a walk to the harbour (about 20 minutes from the hotel) which was lovely and enjoyed a nice family meal at one of the many waterfront restaurants (If you do the walk to the harbour would advise that you get a bus or taxi back very reasonable). On one day we had a trip to the waterpark well worth it for a small extra charge and on another evening we did the Wavedancer Cruise which was very entertaining with Live Band, A Female singer, Dancers, Buffet with Desserts and Fireworks also a small charge for this as well. There is a nice indoor pool if you want to get out of the sun for a while, Wi-Fi upstairs near the hotel reception, Table Tennis and a Games room and a shop that is well stocked with everything that you might need. I would finally like to say a thankyou to Gary our Thomson Rep who always made himself available if we needed him for anything however minor or major it was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariamajik
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We arrived on the 31st of July 2011 to a warm welcome from staff and off course Geoff.
We changed our booking at the last min to add my daughter to the apartment and Elena the owner of the Kefalos was only to happy to help and offer very reasonable rates for b & b.
This was our 4th stay and as requested we were given an apartment near the Tennis court.
Room was spotless, maids cleaned everyday, clean linen and towels too!
Breakfast was outstanding as usual a large variety of choice.
We dined in the new fish restaurant this is situated on the edge of the beach and has a stunning view of the sea. This meal was again outstanding the fresh fish was cooked beautifully, the waitress service was great too, friendly and very helpful.This meal was the most reasonably priced of the holiday this and the Saturday barbecue.
When speaking to the staff all of them said they enjoy their job and all say the management team are great to work with. All the staff look happy and work extremely hard to give you the best holiday possible nothing is to much trouble.
The pool entertainment and activities again for the last two years has been run by Ricco, Ricco has a new side kick AJ both of them offered a large variety of activities to keep the children and adults very busy and most of all this was a lot of fun.
One of the new improved services was FREE beach towel hire!!! clean towels every morning by the pool for you to use wow great idea.
We went of a boat trip organised by Thomson's this was a bit pricey but worth every penny. Garry the Thomson rep was first class helpful lovely guy who was there all the time to help.

As a family it's important for us to spend lots of quality time together in a place that has everything to offer and this is why we go every year to the Kefalos and will be returning again in 2012.

One thing...... the beach is a stunning pebble and sand beach which is perfect for the children to explore and see little sea creatures we love it and the kids love swimming in the sea too.
If your lucky enough to go..........enjoy your stay you will want to go back again and again.
Thanks to team Kefalos for another great holiday :) :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just got back from Kefalos Beach today and can honestly say we enjoyed every minute of it. We opted for Bed and Breakfast and the food and choice was amazing.You could have a different breakfast every day, full english, cereal, toast, fruit,cold meats,cheeses,croissants, the list is endless.
Apartment was located close to the sea and the pool, and was very well maintained by the maids. Getting a sunbed was not really a major problem as the guests were mainly British or Dutch (no Germans...!) but you did have to be no later than about 7.45 or they were all gone round by the pool area. There was also an abundance of sunbeds on the grass and on the beach.
We ate at the 'Fish Restaurant' once and it was amazing. Beautiful views out to sea, although it is called Fish Restaurant there are meat dishes available and the prices are very reasonable.
Had lunch most days at the Pool Bar and the portions were massive.After a few days the four of us were sharing 2 meals!!
The whole complex is kept very clean and tidy, and is well set out.
Other restaurants we ate at were San Marino, Koh I Moor and an amazing evening at 'Fat Mamas'.

Room Tip: The sea view apartments would be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

as a travel agent i wanted to write a fair review for these apartments,
i can honestly say we could not fault ANYTHING. the rooms were massive and cleaned everyday we were there, the food was brilliant, the staff are so friendly and helpful. i am looking to return in November this year and hopefully next year. i would recommend to ANYONE.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kefalos Beach Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalos Beach Tourist Village

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road | PO 62174, Paphos 8061, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#6 Family Hotel in Paphos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kefalos Beach Tourist Village 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village, part of the Kefalos group of Hotels in Paphos, Cyprus. "Kefalos Beach Tourist Village" was conceived from a deep rooted desire to demonstrate the ancient tradition of genuine Cyprus hospitality. The Kefalos Group offers two Hotels in Paphos that are the jewels in the crown of Cyprus Hotels. Beautifully located in a scenic setting overlooking the azure Mediterranean and in total harmony with its surroundings; it blends together everything you would expect from a purpose built resort - with the ambiance and charm of a village. Located on the beach next to the renowned archaeological areas of Paphos - the UNESCO Park with its mosaics, the Venetian Pathos Lighthouse and the Tombs of the Kings.It is by far the ideal location for a holiday in Cyprus. With its close proximity to the sea, Kefalos Beach is probably the only Cyprus Holiday Village whose layout enables its guests to enjoy beach holidays in Cyprus whilst still enjoying the freedom of self-catering. Our Paphos beach hotel has an excellent range of facilities for all of the family and stands out against other Cyprus Hotels because of its purpose built accommodation and services for disabled people and its locations for wedding ceremonies and receptions. The Mosaics, Lighthouse, Odeon, Byzantine Ruins, Paphos Medieval Castle, harbour area, local bars and restaurants, are easily accessible via the newly constructed beach front promenade. Its ideal location combines peaceful seclusion with easy access to the centre of Kato Paphos along with all its attractions. Spacious accommodation, a palm tree lined beach front, large lawns, numerous sun beds to relax on, daily entertainment, dining facilities by the beach and a playground area with kids’ facilities are waiting for you at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village. Your Cyprus holidays will never be the same again once you have experienced the hospitality at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village. A new and refreshing way to experience beach holidays in Cyprus. A warm welcome awaits you at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village, your getaway to tranquility, relaxation and Cyprus hospitality..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kefalos Beach Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Hotel Paphos
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Paphos
Kefalos Beach Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kefalos Beach Tourist Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.