We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smartline Paphos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Smartline Paphos to your Saves list
Smartline Paphos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pari Street | P.O. Box 62459, Paphos 8064, Cyprus (Formerly Mayfair Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Hull East Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

just got back from 2weeks self catering at the mayfair hotel(PAPHOS)what a fantastic place.The apartment was clean and spacious and had everthing you needed. I had read reviews about the Mayfair a few weeks before we went and was worried that we may have made the wrong choice,(No need to have worried) it was great, we had a brilliant time.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly, Laura(waitress)was a gem, nothing was to much trouble and she always had a smile for you no matter how busy she was.
compliments to the chef the food was very good with plenty of choice to choose from at very reasonable prices. WEVE LEFT THE BEST TILL LAST.
THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF
(COCO/AJ/T-REX/JENI LEE/MEL/ LEIGHTON) were excellent, they work long hours but are always happy to help you enjoy your holiday, they are great with the children and are just as good with the adults. we couldnt have wished for a better group of lads and lasses, YOU ALL DESERVE A PAY RISE, hope to see you all again next year.

  • Liked — THE FRIENDLINESS OF STAFF AND THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    291
    166
    95
    75
See reviews for
430
260
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Just come back from a 2 week stay at this hotel,location about 10 to 15 minutes walk to the main bars & restaurants{try the japanesse next to the robin hood pub outstanding meal,hotel was ok nothing special but our room was very clean & tidy,want to give special praise to the entertainment that goes on around the pool everyday which was allways 1st class eg:killer pool,killer darts,volley ball,water polo etc,etc they made the day very enjoyable the whole entertainment team work very hard {sam,t-rex,coco,leighton & especially the main man aj {top bloke}
very enjoyable holiday will return again one day,
Darren from Swansea {Harry Potter}

  • Liked — Room was allways clean & tidy
  • Disliked — Nothing Really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Just got back from 2 weeks in Mayfair Appartments, Cyprus. Arrived there late afternoon, and first impressions were very good. Things only got better. Have always had to pay for air con and tv before, not this time. On check in, desk staff were very polite and helpful as were all other staff through the holiday. Appartment was spacious and had all equipment needed, and had a great view of pool from balcony and bedroom. Hotel location could've been a bit better, but nothing to put us off going again. We were self catering, but did try the hotel food at a sunday carvery along with snacks and drinks from the poolside bar, and found all good along with service. The hotel had more than one pool, and the one we used was fantastic. There were daytime activities and evening entertainment for kids, teens and adults and the entertainers deserve all the praise they get for keeping everyone entertained seven days a week. They would even stop and chat during their time off. A BIG THANKS to Leighton, AJ, Coco, T.Rex, Jenny and Mel for helping to make it a fantastic holiday. Not sure where some of the bad reviews come from, we would go back any time.....CAN'T WAIT.

  • Liked — everything appart from location
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Mr & Mrs Edensor & Ben ,Emily ,Paige & Harry
Stafford
20th August 2008
Just got back from 2 weeks at the Mayfair, After reading reviews about the Mayfair we were worried to say the least. How ever we need not have worried from the moment we arrived it was fun none stop from day to night. The entertainment team were fantastic , specially L80n when he did the dance in your pants dance with the kids it was like he was doing it for the first time. Well done you!! All staff were great and very friendly especially simo he was the best waiter ever. The only down side the rooms could do with being up dated how ever it is only a base. The pool has like green carpet around it, this does stain your clothes be careful. The best thing we did on week 2 was going allinclusive it costs 198 euros for an adult and 99 for a child for a week. the food was great lots of choice, all very friendly in the restaurant. If you travel with thomsons, dont expect to see the rep unless food is being served not once did she come around the pool or in the restaurant to see if you were ok or she could help with anything.

  • Liked — The entertainment team and staff
  • Disliked — rooms need up dating
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

After searching through lots of holiday deals my partner and I booked two weeks bed and breakfast at the Mayfair Hotel in August. It wasn't until after we booked that we started to read some of the reviews on trip advisor, some of which were positive and some of which were very negative. Although some of the reviews were quite worrying my partner and I are quite open minded so we thought we'd give the Mayfair the benefit of the doubt - we were wrong to do that.

Our first impressions on arriving at the hotel was that the reception was nice and the pool area too, but once checked in we were shown to our room which was in a seperate annex which turned out to be a far cry away from the standard of the reception or indeed the main hotel block itself. The corridors were dark and dingy, the ceiling tiles were stained, and the lift was full of graffiti.

The room itself was just as bad, the furniture was old and none of it matched, the fridge rusty. And to make matters worse the balcony overlooked the overflowing bins and some run down bulidings, and each time the air condition was switched on in the room the extractor fan on the balcony would bellow out hot air and leak water all over the balcony, making it impossible to sit on the balcony (even if you were prepared to sit and look at the awful view!).

At the same time as we complained another family were doing the same, their room was in the same block, and not only was it dirty but someone's dirty underwear was left lying on the floor when they checked in!

After three days of battling with our rep we paid 100 euros and were moved to another 3* hotel which was lovely, and in our opinion of 3* star standard. The Mayfair in our opinion certainly wasn't!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesbos
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

The staff work exceptionally hard to meed our needs, they are helpful and friendly. The food is gorgeous and well-prepared. The entertainment at the hotel is excellent and there is plenty on offer for you to do (but are not pushed to do it). The pools are well-maintained. Normally you can find a fault - I couldn't. Excellent

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — The towels on the sun loungers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

hi fellow travellers, just came back from cyprus/phapos stayed for aweek selph catering in mayfair apartments . been to cyprus 5 times in 8 years & found this hotel quite good as it is also hotel & not only apartments.we had agood time, very near supermarkets & bakery & few lacal restaurants.only had aproblem with water 1 day but was sorted quickly the next day & the manager gave us a complimentary dinner in the hotel restaurant, which we found quite good value for EURO 12.90 each if you had to pay for it.( does not include drinks).the big shock this year for me was CYPRUS WAS TOO EXPENSIVE to eat outside in restaurants been out 3 times & spent about EUROS 160 which is about £42.00 per night with 2 beers.this was only 2 course meals in indian( delhi), chineese(phuket) etcetc.for lunch we paid about EURO 32/34 again which is expensive for some kebabs 7 chips & couple of beers.I THINK EURO WILL HURT ALL BRITISH HOLIDAY MAKERS FOR NEXT FEW YEARS.the best place to go IS GOA/INDIA.WHERE STERLING IS KING!!!.STILL.for 7 days went through £700 including car hire for 4 days.off to GOA IN DEC.my advise to go fully inclusive in this hotel is agood deal.but i like to wonder about & try the restaurants thats why i found bit expensive, but cannot fault the hotel at all.again northern british were putting their towells on the sunbeds at 7am & going back to sleep this was annoying as by 9am you do not have asunbed .!!!.we will never change our habits will we ???. do not care about anybody else regarding this,even hotel policy is not to do this.

  • Liked — SELFCATERING WAS OK.
  • Disliked — NEEDED TO BE MORE CLENNER & TOWELS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WITH NEW.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smartline Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Paphos

Address: Pari Street | P.O. Box 62459, Paphos 8064, Cyprus (Formerly Mayfair Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Paphos 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Southwest Coast of Cyprus is the city of Paphos, the birthplace of the Greek Goddess of Love and Beauty, Aphrodite. Here on this piece of magic land, you will find Mayfair Gardens Apartments in the town of Paphos. The Mayfair Gardens Apartments provides an excellent standard of accomodation in a friendly and relaxed enviroment with a range of amenities. Situated in a quiet and beautiful part of Paphos, approximately 15 minutes walk from Kato Paphos Harbor, 900 meters from the Nearest Beach (with an array of ). Tavernas, restaurants, cafe's, Bars & Shops within the Vicinity. The Kings Avenue Shopping Mall is only 5 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Smartline Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paphos
Mayfair Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smartline Paphos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.