We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Bargain Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smartline Paphos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Smartline Paphos to your Saves list
Smartline Paphos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pari Street | P.O. Box 62459, Paphos 8064, Cyprus (Formerly Mayfair Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Paphos
england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for Bargain Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned on 19/6/13 from a 2 week holiday at this hotel and I want to be fair in this review so will state it from our point of view as pensioners who have always stayed in 4 star accommodation in Spain. We got it at a bargain price of £730 each for 2 wks with free upgrade to A/I so any criticisms had to be taken into context with what we paid. First of all the good points: Reception staff were very helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. Two large pools both nice with paddling pools for children - note - no lifeguards on duty so parents expected to watch their children. Food in the dining room was excellent, although many main courses in sauces which may not appeal to everyone and the standard was 4 star but breakfasts were not hot unless you got there at 7am as people left off the lids which allowed it to become lukewarm and the orange juice was awful and warm most of the time as presumably put into the coolers straight out of cartons which were not kept in a fridge. Our room No. was 5242 and was somewhat dated with no towel rails in bathroom, one socket in the bedroom which was faulty and after a couple of complaints and electrician calling and saying there was nothing wrong with the socket, though the hairdryer only worked whilst at ankle level and cut out when held head heigh, without them managing to resolve the problem, they lent us both a hairdryer (which was not in the room) and a 4 way adaptor as the socket was intermittently faulty, hence we could not use the TV either. Room service was approx. every few days and you had to ensure your towels were in the bath if you wanted them changed. There were no glasses in the bathroom for toothbrushes and we had to borrow one from my sister's room for that. We were in a studio so made our own tea but the cups got filthy and were never changed by room service and they never cleaned the sink area, presumably as were A/I, so we had to use them stained. Air con was excellent, view was over a street but the outlook and room location was quiet which was nice, beds were hard but equal to others we are stayed in. My sister had room 218 which had been refurbished with a window in the bathroom and newly tiled, decorated bedroom and seemed to be better equipped than ours, but air con was poor. First day round the pool we put up the canvas umbrella in a slight wind and it was lifted clear out of it's socket and thrown backwards towards a young couple behind us sunbathing (not bolted to the tube which plate was bolted into the floor), I thought it had killed him and panicked as the pole shot backwards. Luckily it missed him by 4 inches, but after mentioning to someone we would complain to the reception, they said don't bother, the same thing happened 2 yrs ago when an umbrella pole missed a baby by 2 inches and they did nothing about it, so safety not a priority at this hotel it seems ! The drinks were so-so and the Keo (the best local lager) and Carlsberg was not included in the A/I, neither was the water in bottles. My husband asked for a pint of water and they said he couldn't have it, but he could have a pint of lager (apparently they are only allowed to give out water in half pint plastic cups). Also they were handing out plastic cups to A/I customers up to 9pm some nights unless you complained (they were supposed to give drinks in glass after 8pm but were short of glasses). Plastic seats in the pool bar made it uncomfortable as there was no air con and we stuck to the seats every night, so in the end went out a number of nights to get a decent drink and comfortable seats. Dining Room service was excellent (again no air con!) as was customer service, but on a couple of busy evenings we went down at 7pm for dinner and there was rubbish everywhere outside the bar round the pool. Entertainment team was also excellent and congratulations to Phil & Co for their hard work in keeping the kids and adults entertained. Location was approx. 15 minutes walk to Harbour and a bus ride right outside to the local excellent market which was set against a fantastic view. Paphos is a great place with loads to see and do, buses were cheap although prices increased 2 days before our return to UK, to 1.5 euros per trip but still good value and I would return to this resort but not to this hotel as being over 60 we like the little things which make a holiday stress free and comfortable and this hotel did not meet our needs, also there was no air con in any of the public areas. For someone on a budget however, or families, it represented good value especially at the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool would be best and in the hotel block, although for quietness the other bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    296
    168
    95
    76
See reviews for
435
267
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for 10nights AI food was fantastic, 3 pools including kiddy sections (but no lifeguards)
Staff very friendly and helpfull , bus service to Harbour and old town outside hotel,also taxis,20 mins walk to harbour.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just got back today from a two week holiday at the mayfair with me partner and 3 children , On arrival Very Very Disappointed hotel very dated staff extremely rude and unhelpful arrived at room to see our view was a wall and a big dirty white tank that smelt of sewerage, asked to be changed and was moved to a room overlooking car park where as our holiday went on witnessed that from 7am to late locals standing on street corner drinking and quiet intimidating also on 3rd night witnessed a fight which wasn't nice for our children, pools ok but needed cleaning more often daytime entertainment average but staff wasn't to bothered if you joined or not, apart from a lady called teddy whom works extremely hard, bar staff up and down one minute you can order 2 drinks the next one, breakfast was dia as we only went twice as its varied from fried ham and frankfurter sausages, morning snack was leftover frankfurter sausage and beans or springrolls, lunch was average somedays nice somedays unedible, afternoon snack were lunches chips and fishfingers and if lucky nuggets but be quick as the only refill once, dinner very hit and miss some nights average some night we settled for a bag of crisps, lifts overall over 14 days worked 4 times so had to carry pushchair down stairs, rooms full of ants even woke to some in bed, we stayed in a group of 8 who all agreed on these issues extremely disappointed in this break and will be updating photos of our experience I also looked at reviews and thought people may be harsh but this really is a under average 3 star hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Smartline Paphos, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I lived, studied and worked in New York for 7 years, comparing Bronx with Paphos, I must say is only unfortunate and I would like to believe that it has to do with lack of knowing.
Further I will like to make the following comments:
1) Mayfair changed your room because you did not like the view
2) Then I am wondering why moving anyway if the view was only the car park
3) Let me add that from this balcony you can view the sea front of down town of Paphos, the big church and other nice things.
4) Breakfast: Fried eggs, scramble eggs or omelet, cold cuts, cheeses, various cereals, 2-3 types of jams , baked beans, various types of breads, tomatoes, fresh apples or oranges, chocolate puffs, mini croissants, coffee cake etc. These are some of the everyday items of our breakfast buffet....
5)We are truly sorry that one of the two lifts in the building you were staying was broken for four days as per our records. Sad to say though that the lift company reported that all 4 times the doors were forced by someone....and that was the reason of braking it, and Yes some people are harsh...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago and it was fantastic. Great entertainment team- especially Phil and Teddy- two very friendly people who made our stay very enjoyable! I would recommend this hotel for a fantastic hotel in paphos!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

this was the third time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel.
the first time all inclusive.
we found the staff very helpful and friendly, the food very good.
accommodation very comfortable.
could not fault anything.
unlike others we found Russian people polite,friendly, and laid back.
we have been visiting Cyprus since 1985, and both agree our best holiday
for years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Smartline Paphos, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks to you too!!!
I like the fact that you judged other people with an open mind and not their nationality...bravo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

never been to cyprus bit dissapointed with paphos ,the mayfair was good, food was ok room ok,clean and a good atmosphere,the area it was in, was a bit run down apart from the harbour area, i can understand people who complained about some of the rooms we were in 267 at the front but some were overlooking alley ways,and not great views, but the staff pull out all the stops to make your stay a good one,we don,t do the trips so can,t comment had a walk round the ruins that was good don,t pay though there is a gate near the roman hotel you can just walk in we were charged 8 euros, went to the market if you turn left when you get off the bus and walk up the hill you will see what looks like an allotment you will see a big fish pond with a tin roof on look a bit further out and you will see the ostrich in a pen sad but that was the highlight of our holiday always wondered what happened to bernie clifton,i would go back to the mayfair but we wont be going back to cyprus x

Room Tip: anywhere at the front or over looking pool area sides and back bit ropey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Once again I was dreading going away after reading some of the reviews, and once again I worried about nothing. My husband and myself stayed at the Mayfair for 11 days starting on the 21st of May. Even though the apartment we stayed in could have had the decor updated it was clean and spacious. The only thing we could have complained about was the comfort of the bed, it was VERY firm. Beds were changed every 3 days (except Sundays) towels could be changed as often as you liked ( asking reception if they hadn't been changed often enough for your liking). There was a kettle/cups provided if you wanted to make tea/coffee in your room, also a hair dryer which wasn't listed in the room facilities. The staff were pleasant and on reception George was very helpful explaining how to get to places of interest providing maps bus routes etc. Pool towels weren't provided which was a bit of a downside and ants were a problem by the pool. There was a wide choice of food mainly on the good side and bar staff very hard working and pleasant. I think we were there at the right time as it wasn't over crowded round the several pools, I know it sounds silly but the( foreign visitors) mainly Russian were just starting to come and they tended to take over things. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed it and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Smartline Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Paphos

Address: Pari Street | P.O. Box 62459, Paphos 8064, Cyprus (Formerly Mayfair Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Paphos 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Southwest Coast of Cyprus is the city of Paphos, the birthplace of the Greek Goddess of Love and Beauty, Aphrodite. Here on this piece of magic land, you will find Mayfair Gardens Apartments in the town of Paphos. The Mayfair Gardens Apartments provides an excellent standard of accomodation in a friendly and relaxed enviroment with a range of amenities. Situated in a quiet and beautiful part of Paphos, approximately 15 minutes walk from Kato Paphos Harbor, 900 meters from the Nearest Beach (with an array of ). Tavernas, restaurants, cafe's, Bars & Shops within the Vicinity. The Kings Avenue Shopping Mall is only 5 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Smartline Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paphos
Mayfair Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smartline Paphos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.