We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday in the bronx of pathos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paris St., Paphos 8064, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 96 hotels in Paphos
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“holiday in the bronx of pathos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just got back today from a two week holiday at the mayfair with me partner and 3 children , On arrival Very Very Disappointed hotel very dated staff extremely rude and unhelpful arrived at room to see our view was a wall and a big dirty white tank that smelt of sewerage, asked to be changed and was moved to a room overlooking car park where as our holiday went on witnessed that from 7am to late locals standing on street corner drinking and quiet intimidating also on 3rd night witnessed a fight which wasn't nice for our children, pools ok but needed cleaning more often daytime entertainment average but staff wasn't to bothered if you joined or not, apart from a lady called teddy whom works extremely hard, bar staff up and down one minute you can order 2 drinks the next one, breakfast was dia as we only went twice as its varied from fried ham and frankfurter sausages, morning snack was leftover frankfurter sausage and beans or springrolls, lunch was average somedays nice somedays unedible, afternoon snack were lunches chips and fishfingers and if lucky nuggets but be quick as the only refill once, dinner very hit and miss some nights average some night we settled for a bag of crisps, lifts overall over 14 days worked 4 times so had to carry pushchair down stairs, rooms full of ants even woke to some in bed, we stayed in a group of 8 who all agreed on these issues extremely disappointed in this break and will be updating photos of our experience I also looked at reviews and thought people may be harsh but this really is a under average 3 star hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I lived, studied and worked in New York for 7 years, comparing Bronx with Paphos, I must say is only unfortunate and I would like to believe that it has to do with lack of knowing.
Further I will like to make the following comments:
1) Mayfair changed your room because you did not like the view
2) Then I am wondering why moving anyway if the view was only the car park
3) Let me add that from this balcony you can view the sea front of down town of Paphos, the big church and other nice things.
4) Breakfast: Fried eggs, scramble eggs or omelet, cold cuts, cheeses, various cereals, 2-3 types of jams , baked beans, various types of breads, tomatoes, fresh apples or oranges, chocolate puffs, mini croissants, coffee cake etc. These are some of the everyday items of our breakfast buffet....
5)We are truly sorry that one of the two lifts in the building you were staying was broken for four days as per our records. Sad to say though that the lift company reported that all 4 times the doors were forced by someone....and that was the reason of braking it, and Yes some people are harsh...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    271
    158
    87
    72
See reviews for
412
246
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago and it was fantastic. Great entertainment team- especially Phil and Teddy- two very friendly people who made our stay very enjoyable! I would recommend this hotel for a fantastic hotel in paphos!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

this was the third time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel.
the first time all inclusive.
we found the staff very helpful and friendly, the food very good.
accommodation very comfortable.
could not fault anything.
unlike others we found Russian people polite,friendly, and laid back.
we have been visiting Cyprus since 1985, and both agree our best holiday
for years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks to you too!!!
I like the fact that you judged other people with an open mind and not their nationality...bravo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

never been to cyprus bit dissapointed with paphos ,the mayfair was good, food was ok room ok,clean and a good atmosphere,the area it was in, was a bit run down apart from the harbour area, i can understand people who complained about some of the rooms we were in 267 at the front but some were overlooking alley ways,and not great views, but the staff pull out all the stops to make your stay a good one,we don,t do the trips so can,t comment had a walk round the ruins that was good don,t pay though there is a gate near the roman hotel you can just walk in we were charged 8 euros, went to the market if you turn left when you get off the bus and walk up the hill you will see what looks like an allotment you will see a big fish pond with a tin roof on look a bit further out and you will see the ostrich in a pen sad but that was the highlight of our holiday always wondered what happened to bernie clifton,i would go back to the mayfair but we wont be going back to cyprus x

Room Tip: anywhere at the front or over looking pool area sides and back bit ropey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Once again I was dreading going away after reading some of the reviews, and once again I worried about nothing. My husband and myself stayed at the Mayfair for 11 days starting on the 21st of May. Even though the apartment we stayed in could have had the decor updated it was clean and spacious. The only thing we could have complained about was the comfort of the bed, it was VERY firm. Beds were changed every 3 days (except Sundays) towels could be changed as often as you liked ( asking reception if they hadn't been changed often enough for your liking). There was a kettle/cups provided if you wanted to make tea/coffee in your room, also a hair dryer which wasn't listed in the room facilities. The staff were pleasant and on reception George was very helpful explaining how to get to places of interest providing maps bus routes etc. Pool towels weren't provided which was a bit of a downside and ants were a problem by the pool. There was a wide choice of food mainly on the good side and bar staff very hard working and pleasant. I think we were there at the right time as it wasn't over crowded round the several pools, I know it sounds silly but the( foreign visitors) mainly Russian were just starting to come and they tended to take over things. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed it and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed at the Mayfair for the 5th time but were dubious after our last stay was disappointing, we needn't have worried, was the best stay ever! The room was clean & comfortable with a large sunny balcony, public areas were, as always, immaculate and the staff were brilliant...wish I was still there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Simply.... You really know how to enjoy your Holidays!
We thanks you Very Much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013


Nice clean spacious rooms, safe, kettle, hair drier inc.

Nice wide selection of good food and local drinks.

4+ really clean pools (+ indoor)

Gym.. Loads of weights

WIFI available in main areas on Pay as you go cards

Staff really hard working and friendly. Reception staff nothing too much trouble, the main guy was such a good laugh joining in on the karaoke :)

Food really good selection..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: Paris St., Paphos 8064, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paphos
Mayfair Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.