We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor accommodation standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paris St., Paphos 8064, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Tyne and Wear, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very poor accommodation standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading the reviews on here I was a little anxious about booking this hotel but decided on giving it a go as the majority of the reviews were ok. This was a big mistake! Check in took a while, I waited whilst the English receptionist checked someone in and I have to say she was very rude to him. The first room I was allocated was shocking! There were ants all over and all over the corridor outside, dead ants on the floors and in the fridge and the carpet was absolutely filthy. How they can expect to charge people for such a room is beyond me, I would be embarrassed putting a family in there. I never complain but was almost in tears at the thought of sleeping here. I took some pictures and went to reception to complain, she called the maid and asked her to check it out. I'm not being funny but no amount of cleaning would sort that carpet out. I told her I wanted another room and she said I had to wait another 30 mins for the reservations manager to come back. Once we spoke to him I have to say he was spot on. They agreed the room was sub standard and carpet actually needed replacing and offered us a second room. Although this was also not great it was clean upon entering. We were offered no apology but took the room as our 2 year old was getting tired. The hotel pictures on various websites are mis leading, judging from the two rooms we were allocated. We stayed the one night and cancelled the second. The hotel dealt with the cancellation efficently, the reservations Manager was very good, although again very little in way of appologies and they actually did not seem to care whether they had our custom or not.
Not a pleasent experience for us at this hotel

Room Tip: Room 310 - Avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    289
    164
    95
    75
See reviews for
428
256
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in May, told they had disabled rooms, very outdated dark room, huge bathroom and wet room, lights on opposite side of room to beds. Talked to reception and they were very helpful changed our room to the main hotel and we were not disappointed, bright and sunny. Thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day stay on an all inclusive basis, food very good the room was clean and tidy and we met some very nice people. It was a little way from the port but we could catch a bus at the end of the road or we would walk down, well my husband would push me in my wheelchair. There was a lovely walk along the coastal path which we did most days. All in all I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

just got back from 7 nights at Mayfair, we got room 201, bit worn out but clean, not a great view but you do not spend all your time looking out. The room will have to be refurbished soon as its going to fall apart !! Lift broke when we got there, fixed the next day then the other one chucked it. Its a fair way from the sea front but 1 euro gets you there on a bus. The food was good,we had plenty of choice and was of a high standed, the service was good as the staff are always helpfull and smilling, lunch buffet in garden was nice as was evening meal in restaurant with theme nights. The entertainment was good, the dancers worked very hard and were a good team, seen worse in better hotels. Would we go back? if the rooms were done up,the outside area refurbished yes. Go on line and give it a try for the best price as travel agent can be costly. Last note thanks to our cleaner who did well to try to make the best of our room.

Room Tip: Pool view is a must.high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

had a week in this hotel in september with family for a special anniversary,booked through low cost holidays but the holiday was not cheap in comparision with all other holidays we have been on.The quality of the room we were given on arrival was absolutely appalling,we were told to go through the bar left past the pools down some steps and down a corridor,we should have known then what we were in for! To say we were appalled at the quality of the so -called studio is an understatement,to stay in that room would have been a punishment not a holiday so we went to reception and asked to be moved,we were told this was impossible as the hotel was full and anyway the man on reception said wat do you expect and what would you get for what you paid in england??? Obviously hadn't heard of the concept of customer service?????we had to find alternative accomodation for the night then do battle with the manageress next morning to get a decent room (she said there was nothing wrong with the accomodation and we had actually been upgraded!!!! so obviously there are worse rooms in this hotel than the ones we were given? We paid extra and finally got a decent room in the main hotel,this holiday has now cost as much as it would have cost to go 5 star in Minorca which was where I originally wanted to go but thought the price was a bit steep even though we knew the hotel was gorgeous and the views amazing and it was right on the beach,It goes without saying that we will be going to minorca next year and wont be visiting Cyprus again as they thought they were doing us a favour giving us a hovel to stay in....on the plus side the staff who served us were lovely and the food was basic but good and the rooms in the main hotel are fine,this hotel is 2-3 star at best but low cost holidays sold it to us as 4 star...Be Warned, it isn't...

Room Tip: stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Spent 7 days here on an all inclusive basis as a group of 5. We all had an excellent time, and found nothing negative about the place. For how much we paid, we certainly got value for money and more. Food was excellent, and we all enjoyed the different dinner themes each night. Highlight of our stay were the staff. All were very friendly and accommodating. As mentioned, the hotel isn't in a real tourist area, but it is only a short walk to the harbour area. The buses are excellent value also.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

just came back from paphos on 18.09.12. my husband and myself had a lovely chilled holiday here (stayed all inclusive. we were expecting a room and got a 1 bedroom apartment). hotel very clean and friendly staff our waitress valentina was a diamond looked after us well. pool areas were lovely even though lot of people round the pools still plenty of sun loungers to go round and not noisey at all. food very good lunch being outside was lovely. getting around was very good bus to harbour area went from just round the corner from our hotel (or about a 20 minute walk to harbour). once you got to harbour area you could get connecting buses to other places on the island (a single ticket on bus was 1euro or you can get an all day ticket for 3euros and get on and off buses as much as you liked). would go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks sept 2012 on bed and breakfast basis. Thankfully we didn't pay for all inclusive. We were first put in an apartment which overlooked some back yards. The bathroom flooded when we used shower. Asked to be moved and only did after two days once the ac had leaked into the wardrobe and soaked all clothes! The new apartment was marginally better but the bath filled up when we took shower and took about an hour to drain away, the kitchen sink leaked, and the oven/grill had no rack shelves or tray in it ( this took 2 days to get-inconvenient when we were trying to cook!) there were two pools- one was much nicer (in the photos on their website) the other was drab and not featured on the hotel site. Breakfasts were poor affairs-buffet type, but stale bread rolls and croissants, bad instant coffee, ham not bacon, and watered down orange juice. The pool was cleaned every two or three days, and they emptied the septic tanks while breakfast was on for a couple of hours. Really not good enough, two star at best and we won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: Paris St., Paphos 8064, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paphos
Mayfair Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.