We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, could be improved.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paris St., Paphos 8064, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Newcastle England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, could be improved.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay here. Although we booked half board and expected a small hotel room we were give a very spacious two room apartment. Very nice view overlooking the pool and an excellent air con system. Never used the cooking facilities but seemed very well equipped. The fridge was especially useful. Hotel entertainment always finished about 11 to 11.30pm and seemed very popular but not to our taste as we prefer to go out after our evening meal. The buffet food was very good, plenty of choice and variety.
This hotel suited our needs and budget well, it is situated midway between the old town and the harbour which is a 15min walk away.Bit of a pain at first but you get used to it.
Our only main complaint with this hotel is that is appeared to us it used to cater for mainly self catering customers and now has jumped on the "all inclusive" bandwagon. This meant that the hotel was not equipped to cater for so many people staying at the hotel during the day resulting in finding a sun bed was impossible after 8-00am. Also the dining room was too small, resulting in a small queue every night to be seated. We thought the dress code at evening meat was very lax.Shorts, tee shirts/vest tops and flip flops seemed to be acceptable.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. On one evening our shower head broke off and the sink blocked up. We reported it on our way out at about 8-00pm and both were fixed on our return at 11-00pm (very good service).
Pity the hotel did not have free wi-fi but most to the taverna's seem to have it so we always looked for this when having our nightly glass of wine. Found a great bar called "The Rose Pub" which had a live rock band on the friday night and Peter Andre's brother Chris on another.Both very enjoyable and reasonable priced drinks. On our last night we decided to eat out at "christo's steak house" a very small place where the food is both cooked and served by Marianne. Very good traditional food.
Also booked a Jeep Safari with Stevie's Nice day out but could have been better is our driver Andrea's had been a bit more talkative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool as other will just look out over the street. Also a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guests
We would like to thank you very much for your comments and I will like to assure you that we do believe in improvement. We Thank you that give as the motivation to work harder.
Have nice winter.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    289
    164
    95
    75
See reviews for
428
256
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Mayfair, and our experience here was nothing but good.

We arrived at 3pm and our room (5435) was spacious, clean, over looked the lagoon style pool, and the air con in the room was the best we have ever experienced, sometimes it was that cool you had to turn it off. The cleaners came to the room every day and made our beds (except Sunday which was their well deserved day off).

The complex its self is very clean and well kept and everything was easily accessible. staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful and also spoke excellent English and gave service with a smile. Entertainment team were great and worked all day and all night i don't even think they had time off the whole of our stay! Night time entertainment varied each night and catered for all needs from the Kids party to the bingo the after show's and discos.

We stayed all inclusive and the food was excellent, everything you could ask for in a breakfast varying from full English to continental. Good variation during lunch and evening dinner (which was themed) chefs worked round the clock to make sure food was cooked to a high standard and extremely tasty and plentiful. Food was offered during lengthy periods e.g. breakfast 7-10 and lunch 12.30 till 3 and if you did miss this the snack bar was always available.

We stayed mostly around the lagoon style pool as this was the side of our room. The pool was cleaned daily, big and we could always find a lounger no matter what time of day it was, sometimes you just need to re-locate your lounger.

As for the resort its self Paphos is a beautiful town with lots of history and sight seeing. The hotel location was really good with bus stops right outside. 10 mins walks to the harbor and various beaches and tombs of the kings road, also about a 15 mins bus ride to Coral Bay.

We would definitely return to Paphos and would certainly stay again at the Mayfair as it was everything we had hoped for and more in a holiday.

Thank you to all the staff who were so accommodating during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be situated over the side of the lagoon pool - amazing views and room cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I'm presently still in cyprus I have been here for ten days staying in a villa. Due to flight mix up I booked to stay At the Mayfair for one night on the 7th September. I booked an apartment through booking.com. I was only expecting a basic clean room as it was 95 euros for the night. When we arrived the room smelled awful and was very dated. But we thought ok put up with it. We then went back to room around one in the morning this is when the nightmare started we had mites in the bed linen which were then crawling on us. We went down to the night porter who gave us a key to another room on first impressions the room was ok then we saw the cockroachs this made me sick to my stomach. We went back to reception we gave all the keys back decide to sit in reception till morn. When we spoke to the gentleman on reception he kindly advice me this is what I should expect in a foreign country!!!!! I could not believe my ears what a dirty flea pit of a room. We did not get one pence back. We capture the cockroach but no one wanted to come and see them. I would like a repely from the manager as this is the worst hotel iv stayed in my life!!!'

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Sir
I am sorry to here about your incident after your departure.
I spoke to my front desk staff and then inspected all three rooms that you were given to stay in.
The first room you claim mites. We have people before and after you with no report of such a problem. The second room you did not mention in your writing.?? The third room you saw a cockroach. When I spoke to the receptionist, I realized that there was a miss-understanding due to language barrier. He was trying to explain to you that countries with very hot climate they do have problem with insects. When you asked him for money back, he explained that he was not authorized to refund any money. You did not actually stayed in our hotel therefore allow me to say that "night of hell" is way out of reality as you could read from the other reviews as well.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just back from 11 days at the Mayfair and we had a really lovely time. Perhaps not a 4 star - maybe 3.5. The staff were very friendly and tolerant (but don't push your luck with them and the all inclusive)

The buffet all food was very good. At the end of the day it was a buffet and we went all inclusive but is was well presented, it ran efficiently it was always quite delicious considering the volume of people in August, the busiest time of the year. The waiters and waitresses were always offering drinks.

The room was clean when we arrived and was cleaned most days (they don't clean on Sundays and Thursdays. It was number 318 which was at the end so we didn't have anyone running past and it was very spacious. The view wasn't over the pool but it wasn't too bad.

The entertainers were lovely and very friendly. I have to be honest that there wasn't enough for the kids to do. We spent a fortune in the games room, dishing out money to play air hockey and other machines in the evening. There was a kids disco but it was 8.30 to 9 and when that finished it was bingo - which you had to pay for so the kids generally ran around or went into the games room. I did feel the hotel could have done more even with some free games for the kids like connect 4 or something.

The pool was great but in August there wasn't enough beds and you had to get up early to bag one.

Apart from the little things - it really was a lovely holiday made good by the very nice staff who work extremely hard.

There's a great bus service a minute from the hotel that takes you to the Harbour for 1euro! It runs quite late and there are some lovely bars and restaurants (we tried the Captains Table as it's upstairs, overlooks the harbour and has a 11.95 euro for 3 courses - although they brought the more expensive menu out first).

Another bus you can get from the Harbour is Aphrodite Water Park which is just brill. But back to the hotel........it was a very good experience all around!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridors mean you don't have the late home comers shouting outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

rooms are vary bad the room we booked 1 year ago for 1730 on 22/8/12 was not ready untill 1530 on 23/8 /12 dont go if you do bring your own tent and a good cooker only one ring to cook on so its beens on beens the pool in nice if you get up at 0330 to put a towel on a sunbed all in all its great to be home

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
You must forgive me but I do not understand what do you mean when you say that you booked a room at 17:30 for 22/08/12 and it was ready at 15:30 on the 23/08/12??? You mean we had you waiting 22 hours??? The check in time international is 2 o'clock in the afternoon and check out at 12 midday. As for the sunbeds we inform our guests that the only way to reserve a sunbed is by lie on it, not by putting the towel on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

nearly cried when we got there , would not have put an animal in the room . bathroom was dated toilet base was leaking, ceiling and wall paint was peeling bath mat was rotting one of the bedside cabinates was missing !!!!!!!! we paid the full broucher price and was gutted as this was my birthday present from my partner. so many people asked to move rooms, reported it to first choice they didnt give a dame as they claim not responsable for room allocations... wouldnt even rate it as a 3star ,,, beware!!!! they did move us however although better room still had holes in the doors cover with some sticky back plastic

Room Tip: make sure your not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

we were a little bit worried after reading some of the reviews left by others,this however was totally not nesassary as during our two week stay we were more than happy,our room was clean and spacious with good facilities,the pools were clean and plenty of sunbeds to be had ,the staff were very friendly and accomodating,i think the longest we waited for drinks was 5 mins during the busy periods,the food in the restaruant was of a very good standard ,plenty to eat and a good variety,i would like to say on this point that our daughter is on a strict gluen free diet and the chef and restuaraunt manager went out of their way to accomodate this ,even cooking sepertate meals for her when there was nothing she could eat,this really helped us to relax.we really could not find any cause for complaint and after staying in lots of fully inclusive hotels we all said this was the best for service, food and very helpful staff.you are located 10 minute bus ride from both shopping areas of the market and the harbour,do try the cy-dive sub aqua,its great value and a great mornig out.

Room Tip: pick a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: Paris St., Paphos 8064, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paphos
Mayfair Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.