We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short time stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Roman Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tombs of the Kings Road, Kato Paphos | Opposite Kings Avenue Mall, PO Box 60118, Paphos 8041, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 95 Hotels in Paphos
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
191 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Good for short time stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very budget hotel in centre of paphos harbour and touristic area. Goodsized room with lcd tv and refrigerator, hairdryer and some sat channels.
Old hotel and not very clean and maintained.
Breakfast as expected. Good and adequate for a 3star hotel, better than some 4star hotel.
Wifi internet is very expensive.
There is a swimming pool in the middle of the hotel and you can park in the streets or on opposite empty plot.
Overall good for short time staying and value for money. If you not to expect much, this is your kind of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    100
    47
    25
    16
See reviews for
40
120
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel said we did not book the first night and we had to pay £70.00 for a room but they said there was no confirmation of me booking it, but I had not paid the hotel anyway. The decor can be a bit in your face but hay ho I dont want to stay in the hotel/room all day. I would say this hotel is okay for a break only at this time of year. All staff are eastern block . If you stay at this hotel you have to go to the restarant across the main road when you come out the hotel. ( Tea for two )

Room Tip: To rooms at the back of the hotel has nothing to look at and the rooms to the front have no views as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

After turning up at 2 am to find hotel claimed they had no confirmation of my booking from "Holiday Brokers" they insisted I paid 62 euros for my first nights stay. 6 months later I am still trying to get the hotel to reimburse me for my loss. I have been advised to call Cyprus direct only to find the person I need to speak to unavailable. At this rate my 62 euros will be needed for telephone calls. Beware of booking this hotel and using this agent in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout the world from 2 star to 5 star deluxe, but this place leaves me lost for words.
It is the most outrageous hotel I have ever seen, it is literally painted on every wall, ceiling, item of furniture with scenes from the decadent past of Rome, I actually loved the decor, but not everyone will. Any wall that is not painted is a mirror and therefore shows the painting on the opposite wall anyway.
Unlike a previous reviewer, I really GET the reason for the mirrors, it give the whole place the illusion of being twice as big as it actually is, especially the bedrooms and I have to say it works well.
It has a fair few pluses and just as many minuses, but overall if you are an extravert, or have a good sense of humour you will be at home here.
This is a 3 star, and a pretty cheap one, I think it offers good value for money overall.
Pluses, location was perfect for us, beds large and firm ( we like firm beds), breakfast was ok, not a bad selection and cooked fresh to order each morning (there were only a few guests). Lounge and bar areas comfortable enough and the bar/waiting staff were very friendly. One of the receptionists could come across a little tetchy, however she did work 20 hour days for the 9 days we were there without a day off and to be honest we spoke to her sympathising with the hours she worked and she was actually very nice, just very tired. Drinks and food were of a reasonble price (especially the cocktails)in the bar. Rooms were clean and serviced daily.
Minuses. The pool area was pretty tired and the pool empty, although who would want to go in during January?. My biggest bug bear was the fact there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
It is unfair to really judge this hotel any further as it is out of season and running on skeleton staff, but I liked it and would not put anyone off going there, it certainly is a Hotel you will never forget.......

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace have more outside space (pool rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the minute you pull up outside and see the Roman statues and parapets you know you are in for a different type of hotel stay. Everywhere you go in the hotel is on a Roman theme and every room is decorated differently. You spend ages walking the corridors looking at the detailed murals on the wall. Rooms were spacious and bathrooms well fitted out.
The buffet breakfast was excellent. Drinks prices in the bar were reasonable.
Close enough to walk to the entertainment on Tomb of the Kings and only a 10-15 minute walk to the Harbour
Downside was no free internet anywhere in the hotel and it was very expensive to buy. No tea making equipment in the rooms.
Overall a good experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The title sums up this hotel : Different. If you are looking for a "normal" type of hotel , then choose another one.
The hotel is quiet unique and a must see even if you decide not to stay there.
A few positives and a few negatives also.
The decor is unique and true to the theme. However I found there were too many mirrors in the bedroom and the bathroom was a bit tired looking. There are no english channels on tv (but you are not on holidays to watch tv), no internet access from the bedroom and the air con stops working after a while.
The cleaning ladies don't really clean properly: they make up the bed and clean the floor but don't really do anything in the bathroom. Be aware of the ants invasion too !
The bar and restaurant looked very nice and the night bartender made us some really decent cocktails (by far the best compare to the ones you can have on the harbour). I did not have dinner there. If you want to enjoy a nice meal, you must go to Hondros Taverna and avoid any harbour restaurants! The breakfast was really good. Lot of choice such as: sausages, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, different type of jams, and much more ... and the resto staff was really helpful
The swimming pool is nice and surrounded by plants, however I suggest you go to Roman 2 to enjoy the rooftop swimming pool. The temperature there is better. You just need to let know the receptionnist at the roman 1 so she can let know the ones in Roman 2.
The real downside I found was the lack of knowledge of the surroundings from the receptionnists. No questions such as buses, nice restaurants, the bar area in town .. could be answered. But even though they were not really helpful, they were really nice and always had a smile on their faces.
In whole, the hotel is rather unique (and is not the best I stayed in nor the worst) and the decor is worth looking at.
If you decide against staying there, and you are coming with a group, I would suggest the Banana gardens villa in Kissonerga with view on the sea!

Room Tip: The coastal walk by the hotel is a must do !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

was quite enthusiastic after reading the reviews.
the reality was a different matter. the rooms were tatty, dirty and very dusty and the bathroom really was the pits, a grubby ancient shower curtain (yuk), no window and no vent.
just 1 socket in the room, so to charge my cell phone o camera i had to unplug the fridge!
most of the light switches near the bed didn't work and were not repaired during the week even after numerous requests at the reception.
my friend had to ask to be changed to another room as hers stank of sewage
helpful staff??? just one out of the 5 receptionists was professional and helpful.
the breakfast was ok, plentiful and varied. but a lack of real coffee is a downer for me
will not recomend this hotel to anyone (although the numerous east europeans didn't seem to notice the shabby state or the use of queues)

Room Tip: don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Roman II Boutique Hotel
Roman II Boutique Hotel
#78 of 95 in Paphos
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#52 of 95 in Paphos
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#34 of 95 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kissos Hotel
Kissos Hotel
#56 of 95 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystallo Apartments
Crystallo Apartments
#35 of 95 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Boutique Hotel

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road, Kato Paphos | Opposite Kings Avenue Mall, PO Box 60118, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 95 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roman Boutique Hotel is located just 1km from the Paphos Harbour in Cyprus. The brand new landmark "King's Avenue Mall" which opened its doors in November 2013 is located just opposite the Roman Boutique Hotels. Once inside the Roman Boutique Hotels you will be stunned as you are immersed in centuries of Greek history and Mythology. Resembling a Greek Palace, the museum-like interior has to be seen to be believed. Built near famous archaeological sites which proclaimed by UNESCO, the Hotel is well placed for sightseeing. Situated just off a main road between Paphos Town and Kato Paphos, just 400metres from a Blue Flag "Lighthouse Beach" and within a short walking distance to the Archaeological sites, the Paphos Fishing Harbour, local shops, restaurants, tavernas, Bars, ten pin bowling centre with a large kids play area, and the brand new "Kings Avenue Mall" opposite is not only a one-stop shopping experience but also offers all sorts of Entertainment - Cinema, Arcade, Kidsland, clothes shops, shoe shops, courts  ... All you could need! Paphos International Airport is only 16km away. Languages spoken at the Roman Boutique Hotels are: English, Russian, German & Greek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Roman Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.