We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marmite Hotel, you will love or hate it.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Hotel

Save Saved
You added Roman Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paphos, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 95 hotels in Paphos
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Marmite Hotel, you will love or hate it.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout the world from 2 star to 5 star deluxe, but this place leaves me lost for words.
It is the most outrageous hotel I have ever seen, it is literally painted on every wall, ceiling, item of furniture with scenes from the decadent past of Rome, I actually loved the decor, but not everyone will. Any wall that is not painted is a mirror and therefore shows the painting on the opposite wall anyway.
Unlike a previous reviewer, I really GET the reason for the mirrors, it give the whole place the illusion of being twice as big as it actually is, especially the bedrooms and I have to say it works well.
It has a fair few pluses and just as many minuses, but overall if you are an extravert, or have a good sense of humour you will be at home here.
This is a 3 star, and a pretty cheap one, I think it offers good value for money overall.
Pluses, location was perfect for us, beds large and firm ( we like firm beds), breakfast was ok, not a bad selection and cooked fresh to order each morning (there were only a few guests). Lounge and bar areas comfortable enough and the bar/waiting staff were very friendly. One of the receptionists could come across a little tetchy, however she did work 20 hour days for the 9 days we were there without a day off and to be honest we spoke to her sympathising with the hours she worked and she was actually very nice, just very tired. Drinks and food were of a reasonble price (especially the cocktails)in the bar. Rooms were clean and serviced daily.
Minuses. The pool area was pretty tired and the pool empty, although who would want to go in during January?. My biggest bug bear was the fact there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
It is unfair to really judge this hotel any further as it is out of season and running on skeleton staff, but I liked it and would not put anyone off going there, it certainly is a Hotel you will never forget.......

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace have more outside space (pool rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    74
    36
    22
    13
See reviews for
25
89
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the minute you pull up outside and see the Roman statues and parapets you know you are in for a different type of hotel stay. Everywhere you go in the hotel is on a Roman theme and every room is decorated differently. You spend ages walking the corridors looking at the detailed murals on the wall. Rooms were spacious and bathrooms well fitted out.
The buffet breakfast was excellent. Drinks prices in the bar were reasonable.
Close enough to walk to the entertainment on Tomb of the Kings and only a 10-15 minute walk to the Harbour
Downside was no free internet anywhere in the hotel and it was very expensive to buy. No tea making equipment in the rooms.
Overall a good experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The title sums up this hotel : Different. If you are looking for a "normal" type of hotel , then choose another one.
The hotel is quiet unique and a must see even if you decide not to stay there.
A few positives and a few negatives also.
The decor is unique and true to the theme. However I found there were too many mirrors in the bedroom and the bathroom was a bit tired looking. There are no english channels on tv (but you are not on holidays to watch tv), no internet access from the bedroom and the air con stops working after a while.
The cleaning ladies don't really clean properly: they make up the bed and clean the floor but don't really do anything in the bathroom. Be aware of the ants invasion too !
The bar and restaurant looked very nice and the night bartender made us some really decent cocktails (by far the best compare to the ones you can have on the harbour). I did not have dinner there. If you want to enjoy a nice meal, you must go to Hondros Taverna and avoid any harbour restaurants! The breakfast was really good. Lot of choice such as: sausages, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, different type of jams, and much more ... and the resto staff was really helpful
The swimming pool is nice and surrounded by plants, however I suggest you go to Roman 2 to enjoy the rooftop swimming pool. The temperature there is better. You just need to let know the receptionnist at the roman 1 so she can let know the ones in Roman 2.
The real downside I found was the lack of knowledge of the surroundings from the receptionnists. No questions such as buses, nice restaurants, the bar area in town .. could be answered. But even though they were not really helpful, they were really nice and always had a smile on their faces.
In whole, the hotel is rather unique (and is not the best I stayed in nor the worst) and the decor is worth looking at.
If you decide against staying there, and you are coming with a group, I would suggest the Banana gardens villa in Kissonerga with view on the sea!

Room Tip: The coastal walk by the hotel is a must do !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

was quite enthusiastic after reading the reviews.
the reality was a different matter. the rooms were tatty, dirty and very dusty and the bathroom really was the pits, a grubby ancient shower curtain (yuk), no window and no vent.
just 1 socket in the room, so to charge my cell phone o camera i had to unplug the fridge!
most of the light switches near the bed didn't work and were not repaired during the week even after numerous requests at the reception.
my friend had to ask to be changed to another room as hers stank of sewage
helpful staff??? just one out of the 5 receptionists was professional and helpful.
the breakfast was ok, plentiful and varied. but a lack of real coffee is a downer for me
will not recomend this hotel to anyone (although the numerous east europeans didn't seem to notice the shabby state or the use of queues)

Room Tip: don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel on a budget and we were very surprised! The hotel is brightly decorated, lots of yelllow and red flying around, so if your after subtle colours be prepared for a shock! We stayed b&b and the buffet breakfast was ok, nothing outstanding but it filled you up. The buffet dinner was very reasonably priced (€14) and it Is an all you can eat, bar prices are also very good. A word of caution, the hotel is aimed at Russian guests who appear abrupt and rude, this is just there way, and after a few days you get used to it and you find that many are friendly! The hotel is a 5min bus ride from the tombs of the kings, i recommend karlinas outside it for a drink or food afterwards. There is a huge strip of restaurants and bars, plus the harbour is less than ten minutes walk away! Overall we had a great time here and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Roman Hotels (I & II) are utterly unique. The décor consists of mosaics, stonework and statues and wall paintings - in Roman, Ptolemaic (Egyptian) & Greek style. There is also some cunning use of mirrors, particularly in the bedrooms.
The staff are excellent, very helpful, mostly trilingual: English Greek & Russian..

The beds are huge, firm & comfortable, the food, served buffet-style, is very good and the pool is lovely - it is surrounded by plants so does not look like the picture. Evening meals are eaten round the pool, to the accompaniment of live music.

There is internet access available but you need to purchase vouchers: 3 Euros for an hour, 5 Euros for 2 hours and the signal is only strong enough in the lobby.

There are a few minor defects if you are the fussy type - we had the occasional Pharoah ant on the bathroom floor & there were a couple of small holes in the curtains.

We did talk to a couple whose room had got flooded because of torrential rain - the Hotel management acted very promptly, cleared it up and then sent a team of plasterers in!

It is so much nicer to stay in a Hotel with character than a bland box!.

Room Tip: State your preferences: - I'm disabled & asked for a double room on the ground floor & I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford,Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very different hotel. The decor was all about Greek mythology, with paintings, tapestries, mosaics and lots of mirrors. Apparently it took 9 artists 3 years to complete. the whole hotel is a work of art. Has to be seen.The Hotel seems to be run by Russians and therefore attracts a lot of Eastern European holiday makers. The hotel is in 2 buildings Roman 1 and Roman 2. There is a roof top swimming pool and sunbeds in Roman 2. The food is served in Roman 1 and for the evening meal is accompanied by a musician. There is no other entertainment in the hotel but if you go along the Tombs of the Kings Road there is plenty of nightlife. Yiamus was a particulary good Karaoke Bar. Karlina's Restaurant always good
The food & cleanliness of the hotel cannot be faulted, however a bit of a tussle to get to the food as our Eastern European friends don't know how to queue!!! but not too much of a problem as the food is always replenished.
The bedrooms were comfortable with Kingsize bed, hairdryer, fridge and maid service everyday. The only down side on our room, was that we had a generator/compressor on the roof above us, which was very noisy and went on and off all night long. We were just unlucky to get that room. In the foyer there is a friendly parrot

Room Tip: Lower floors have less noise from A/C generator on roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Hotel

Address: Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 95 hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Roman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.