We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King Jason

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The King Jason to your Saves list
The King Jason
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Meal Upgrade!
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked these apartments 8 weeks before travelling. We asked for a ground floor, quiet room with a pool view and that is precisley what we got. We arrived late after a delay at our local airport but soon forgot about the stresses of the travelling when we were welcomed by Andreas and offered a drink and some nibbles upon our arrival. Our bags were whisked to our room and we were left in peace to relax and get settled. At 10am the next morning Maria from reception telephoned us to introduce herself and to ask if we'd settled in ok and we shouldn't hesitate to call her if we needed anything. This in itself was a nice touch. The one bedroom apartment was spacious and we had one of the "refurbished" bathrooms which was very nice indeed. There was no rush to get a sunbed and we noticed that every 2 sunbeds had an umbrella and small table which meant there was shade for everyone. The complex is clean and well maintained,we saw Andreas up a ladder one evening changing a light bulb in the restaurant. The attention to detail and the emphasis on giving you a good holiday is obvious by the 5 * service given to you by all staff. The iced towels around the pool on the hottest days are a nice touch. Just to say that we were incredibly well looked after, we ate in the restaurant a few times and the food looked and tasted amazing, the only downfall for us was that the restaurant closed at 8pm and for us this was a little early. Well done everyone, the Thomson brochure does not do you justice. We spoke to numerous people who were repeat clients. I feel that we might become repeat clients in the not too distant future. Many thanks to you all. Deb & Steve Poole Dorset

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear guest,

Many thanks for visiting the Louis King Jason in Paphos and for your kind review.

We are very pleased to read from you that our hotel's services exceeded your expectations and that you much appreciated the great attention we accord to the details.

Rest assured that your kind words over our staff members and management team are much welcomed and will be shared with them.

We thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to accomodate you in our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    231
    52
    15
    10
See reviews for
486
808
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

These apartments certainly have it all. The complex is compact, comfortable and central to all amenities. The food in the restaurant is excellent and not too expensive.

The apartments are spacious and immaculately clean. They are currently being renovated and I had the priveledge of seeing some of them.

What makes this complex extra special is Andreas and his well run team. Nothing was too much trouble and you were made to feel you were the only guest there.

There are no favorites at this hotel, everybody is made to feel extra special from the greeting you receive when you arrive to the personal touch of somebody waving goodbye to you on the hotel steps.

Our five year old little girl lost her inflatable crocodile by the pool. she was devastated but this was short lived by Andreas purchasing her a new one from the hotel shop.

There was eight of us travelling together varying in age from five to fifty one. The hotel met all our personal expectations way and above.

Thank you Andreas and team for a wonderful holiday.
We will certainly return, the complex it is like a magnet.

Regards

Gill and Co Barmouth, Mid Wales

Room Tip: Go for appartment on ground level with pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
A very good morning from me and all the team at the King Jason.

This is to express my personal thanks for your kind and positive comments after your stay with us. They are of course gratefully appreciated by all of us.
We are now in the final planning stages of the renovations and we will hopefully start running at the beginning of December and not stop until February when we reopen.

Looking forward to seeing you all in the not too distant future when I can show you the finished product!!

Very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was my first trip to Cyprus. We travelled back on the 19th Oct. 20011. Trip advisor helped me make a choice of accomodation. King Jason exceeded my expectations. I travelled with my elderly mum therefore I contacted the hotel with certain requests to meet her needs. The manager more than met her needs. The service, led by the manager Andreas, was first class. My mum who is in her eighties has enjoyed holidays abroad all her life. She told me that the service and food was the best she had experienced. We both had a wonderful holiday and it was mostly down to the quality of the hotel. The bus stop was a reasonable distance from the hotel but for an able bodied person the harbour and tourist area is walking distance. I cannot thank Andreas and his staff enough for helping make our holiday special. The waiters were first class. The hotel staff were so friendly that mum felt she was "coming home" after each days outing. I look forward to bringing my husband to King Jason and my mum states that she is returning with her friends. Thank you so much Andreas.

From Andrea

Room Tip: Left had side looking from bar area - sun in the evening. Right hand side sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear guest,

We are very happy to see that your first visit to Cyprus was such a pleasant experience and that the Louis King Jason exceeded your expectations.

We are grateful to you for your appreciations toward our helpful staff members and the particular attention you received from our General Mananger Andreas Kyriacou. The fact that your mother felt at home in our hotel means a lot to us and we are delighted to read that you would like to visit us again.

Rest assured that your kind thoughts will be shared within our hotel.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back at the Louis King Jason.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland great britain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

once again just back from two fantastic weeks at king jason. been going there for a number of years and can highly recomend this hotel was there with my daughter and her family the staff cant do enough for you from the wonderfull manager andreas to kitchen staff to cleaners. we will be going back next year sorry andreas but every thing about the hotel is great small verry friendly your made to feel very special so once again thank you to everybody at king jason for making our holliday special see you all soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear loyal guest,

We are delighted that after many years of visiting the Louis King Jason you enjoyed once again a lovely holiday with us in Cyprus.

Thank you for appreciating our friendly service and our courteous staff members and devoted management team.

Your comments are much welcomed and we look forward to accommodating you very soon again.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was our seventh trip to the king jason,as usual the booking process & organisation of airport transfers was excelllent,Andreas & his staff were,as ever,helpfull,efficient,friendly and always available if needed.The rooms are always clean and are very spacious.Looking forward to seeing it upgraded in the new year

WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear loyal guest,

It is always a delight to read such a lovely review about the Louis King Jason and we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about us.

We are delighted that once again, you were left most satisfied with the quality of our services and the genuine friendliness of our staff members. Your kind words about our caring General Manager Andreas and his team are much welcomed.

We look forward to the pleasure of accommodating you in our hotel, hopefully soon after the much expected refurbishment is complete.

Meanwhile we wish you all the very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just returned from our first time in Cyprus. Stayed at the King Jason and had a wonderful time. Booked a stuio but given a 1 bed appartment, which was very spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The staff at the apprtments were extremely helpful and friendly from our arrival, where we were greeted with someone to take our luggage and given a glass of fruit juice and sweets/cakes. The hotel has great facilitiesand a lovely and realxing ambience. The pool area has plenty of sunbeds, parasols and big canopied beds to lounge on. The hotel is having a refurb soon, which would be the icing on an already great cake. Would highly recommend and would love to return.
Paphos is lovely and a lot bigger than we imagined. There are some fantastic eateries, notably the Agipanor, which has great standards of food and service and is ideal for a reasonably priced evening meal The Friends bar next door is also great for snacks/meals, friendly service and great prices. There offer of an English breakfast for 1.50 euros is genuine and tastey.
Paphos is great for boat trips, however, some can be pricey depending on what you want. We opted for a 2 hour trip wth Venus Cruise and this included a light lunch for £15 each.
A MUST for anyone seeking a bit of something different has to be the Undersea Walkers adventure. This was truley amazing particularly as I am generally fearful of water and can't swim properly. However, the guys who run it are very friendly, reasurring and professional. We saw lots of colourful fish and got the chance to feed them. I STILL CAN'T BELIEVE THAT I DID IT!
Paphos has lots of archelogical sites all within easy reach and there are shopping opportunities including the indoor market. The bet way to get about is on the buses, which are very regular and will take you round for just 2 euros - the ticket lasts all day.
We wouldn't particularly recommend Paphos/Coral bay for those who are in search of fabulous golden beaches to lounge on all day as the beaches tend to be rocky/platforms but try not to let that put you off this great place.
Well done Trip Advisor and Forum buddies as our booking was down to you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Louis King Jason for your holiday in Cyprus.

It was a great pleasure to read that you were left satisfied with the relaxing atmosphere of the place, our hotel's friendly service and our facilities, which will soon benefit from a makeover to keep serving our beloved customers to the best of our abilities.

We are also very happy that you much enjoyed visiting the area of Paphos and that you took part in different activities and excursions.

We are enchanted that you returned home with memorable moments from your first experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We booked at the Louis King Jason after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. It absolutely lived up to our expectation. We had a thoroughly enjoyable week and would not hesitate to go back.

We are a couple late 40's early '50's and wanted a nice relaxing break in the sun. Firstly , the location is perfect for us . It is in a quite residential area but it is only a 15 / 20 minute walk to the main harbour. Also, given that quite a few of the top rated restaurants were further round the bay from the main harbour area, these were also easily walkable in about the same time as King Jason is positioned centrally for both. If you want to take a cab, it was the minimum €8 charge.

It's also only 20 minutes or so to walk into Paphos old town , though to be honest, we weren't that impressed.

We stayed a 1 bedroom apartment on the second floor. It was clean and comfortable. Hardwood floors throughout so no hard ceramic floors. The furniture was decent quality . The lounge area had a couple of decent sized sofas which could be used as beds if there are 4 of you.

Bathroom had a bath , much to my partners delight, and a shower over the bath.

Good sized bedroom with comfortable twin beds pushed together.

The balcony overlooked the pool although wasn't in direct sunlight but actually I wasn't bothered as it meant it was a little cooler.

Air conditioning units are in the bedroom and the lounge area.

One observation is that you couldn't access the upper floors by lift although there are plenty of ground floor apartments and so if stairs are a problem , I would recommend you make this clear when you book.

Pool area was nice - loads of sunbeds and also quite a bit of natural shade from trees etc... if you want to get out of the sun for a while.

The restaurant and bar are very comfortable and the terrace area is lovely.

We went self catering and preferred to go out at night so we only ate in the hotel a couple of times at lunch , but the food was good and we were told by others that they enjoyed the food.

I can't speak highly enough of the staff. Always friendly, very courteous, helpful and accomodating.

Finally - the cats ! As it happens, we love cats and so for us it was part of the attraction of the place. There are quite a lot of them and some of them extremely friendly. Some were a little timid but they all seemed nice natured. They come up to you on the patio area by the pool and they do appear when you are eating on the terrace. If you do not like cats, you may be put off by this. However, if you ignore them, they will ignore you and they only seem to hang around people who actively show an interest, and quite a lot of us did. In fact we adopted one for the week and fed quite a few of them, though we found out towards the end of the week that one of the staff also looks after them and feeds them.

The manager told us that they are closing in December to refurbish the bathrooms and upgrade the pool area and put in a jacuzzi in the outdoor pool. Good to see they are maintaining the place to their high standards.

In summary, if you are looking for somewhere where there is lots of activities, evening "entertainment" and a raucous place you can let your hair down for a fortnight - then I don't think this is the place for you.

However, if you want a quite , relaxing break in a nice, clean, comfortable apartment in a smart, well-run hotel, staffed by very friendly people (and cats) and where you enjoy a leisurely stroll in the evening to the bars and restaurants, the I can heartily recommend Louis King Jason. We thoroughly enjoyed it, wished we'd booked for longer and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read that after the many positive comments you read about the Louis King Jason, you were left much satisfied with the quality of our services and the facilities of our hotel.

We are glad that the location was perfect for you and that you enjoyed the surrounding area and the harbor of Paphos.

Your appreciations toward our courteous and well attentioned staff members are much welcomed and will be shared with them.

The forthcoming renovations are much expected and we look forward to your next visit once the refurbishment is completed.

Very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The King Jason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason

Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Kato Paphos, some 950 metres from the sea and only a short walk to the picturesque fishing harbour and ancient fort, The King Jason allows guests to explore the numerous archeological sites of Paphos and to enjoy the many and varied resort facilities available. Superbly connected with frequent direct flights from all over Europe, Paphos Airport is a mere 15 minutes away and is now home to international carriers like EasyJet, Monarch, Ryanair and Aegean. For shopping fans, the King’s Avenue Mall (Cyprus’ biggest shopping mall) is situated only a short walk away. Also within walking distance are a variety of local restaurants and bars which enable guests to really savour the real Cypriot experience.Built in the red tiled Greek Island style and surrounded by extensive greenery and colour each of the 16 superior studios, 62 one bedroom suites and the recently constructed 32 deluxe studios are designed and furnished to satisfy the most discerning of tastes.All are air conditioned and heated individually, and have amenities like direct dial telephones, radio alarms clocks, 32 inch flat screen satellite TVs, DVD players, and hair dryers. Their kitchenettes are fully equipped with a full electric oven, two ceramic hobs, a microwave oven, a filter coffee percolator, an electric toaster and a kettle. Recently and fully renovated throughout, all units boast thick orthopedic beds, designer furniture, and spacious bathrooms with a shower or bath tub. A number of ground floor apartments with walk in showers complete the setting. A specially designed ground floor apartment with an enlarged walk in shower and bathroom is also available for our disabled guests.The recently constructed Deluxe Studios are ideal for couples and offer superior furnishing with complementary amenities such as bathrobes, slippers, personalized toiletries, wine and fruits on arrival. They offer double sinks, a spacious luxury bath or walk-in-shower and a separate toilet. Upon setting foot in the hotel, guests are introduced to a world of style and elegance. An open welcome desk without restrictive boundaries exudes a homely feeling of warmth and personalization. The beautifully decorated lobby is designed for relaxation and comfort, leading to the main bar and opening onto the terrace, where the sound of running water from the fountains further enhances the feeling of peace and tranquility.The restaurant, with its spectacular terrace overseeing the main pool, is open throughout the day for buffet breakfast, an a la carte or buffet lunch, as well as a themed dinner meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The King Jason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King Jason, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.