We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King Jason

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The King Jason to your Saves list
The King Jason
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Meal Upgrade!
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a fantastic Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We selected these apartments after all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and stayed there during the last week of August and the first week of September 2011. From start to finish it was a joy. The complex is a situated roughly half way between the port and old town so walking to either was not a problem for us. The complex was spotlessly clean and well cared for. Both the receptionist Pavlos and the manager Andreas were professional, polite and considerate. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them and they were a joy to interact with. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean as well as being quiet and cool. There was a good size adult swimming pool, a good size toddlers swimming pool, plenty of spare sun loungers, a great decked area with comfortable double size sun loungers and a shaded area, a covered patio area with comfy chairs, a shop, an indoor swimming pool and a gym. We could go on about their other facilities but hopefully you get the picture. In addition you could stay B&B or half board, purchase drinks and food from a menu and on certain afternoons enjoy free cakes and biscuits (eat as many as you like) in return for buying a drink. In our opinion, this is a great place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone if you're looking for a great location, great staff , great accomodation and great ambience

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Louis King Jason for your family holiday and for your comments.

It is a great pleasure to read from you that you were most satisfied with your stay, our services and our facilities. Your lovely comments about the friendliness and the professionalism of our staff members and management are much appreciated and will be shared with them.

We thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    231
    52
    15
    10
See reviews for
486
808
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I agree with the positives in the various reviews, although I would not be quite as gushy in my praise as some. This place is definitely best for young families and older couples and that is not a criticism. The pool area is the clear high spot.
The hotel is set in a residential area 10 to 15 minutes' walk from Pub Street and the harbour, where most of the tourist action is. This means crossing a dual carriageway that has been built in the last few years, which does create an 'inner' and 'outer' Kato Paphos, with the King Jason definitely in the 'outer'. As the area is residential, the bar and restaurant close much earlier than most people will be used to and there is, thankfully as far as I was concerned, no 'entertainment'. Also, if you are self-catering but want to eat in the hotel you have to book in advance.
Locally, there are two restaurants, at the and of the street and round the corner on to the main Kato Paphos/Paphos road. Just turn left from the hotel entrance and walk for a couple of minutes. One is a fish restaurant, the other general. We didn't try either as my wife and daughter don't like fish much and the other was always busy, which may have been a good sign.
A few nitpicky suggestions that would make this place even better:
€5 an hour for internet is a bit steep in this day and age, especially when you have to locate in the hotel reception area rather than your room.
A self-service laundrette would make life easier and cheaper - the cost per item for hotel laundry was enough not to use it.
A courtesy bus to Kato Pahos and Paphos would be nice, and not beyond an hotel of this standard.
'Satellite TV in rooms' meant Channel 4, ITV Wales, BBC or Sky Sport 2 but never both, and a range of Greek channels that often had sub-titled English language programmes. No provision for non-English speaking visitors, although Dutch operators are evident in the hotel lobby.
Generally, the fabric looks a wee bit tired and in need of a makeover, but we understand that the hotel closes in December for a €1m refit and extended pool area.
All in all, a very nice hotel/apartment, but with a few tweaks it could be even better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Good morning from the King Jason,

Just a short note to thank you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us.

Please rest assured that all the points raised in your letter have already been noted, and will of course be looked at in greater detail to see if we can incorporate some and or improve others where possible.

Hopefully when the refurbishment is complete we will be better, and most importantly the coming guests will see and appreciate our work.

Very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just come back from an very relaxing 11 days at the King Jason.The atmosphere is very laid back and a great place to spend a day by the pool and chill out.There are no jugglers for the kids or some unfortunate soul doing a Lady Gaga impersonation in the evening to keep you entertained in the evening.If you do need to be entertained all these things can be found a 10 min walk away in the tourist centre of Paphos if that is your bag.However, this does not mean that the hotel is not child friendly,the pool area is ideal for kids and there is a games room.The theme of the hotel is relaxation and the excellent staff and management do all they can to maintain this during your stay.As has been mentioned in some of the earlier posts the fixtures and fittings in the rooms are getting a little tired but with the upcoming refurb of rooms all should be sorted out soon.All in all if asked "would you go back?"the answer is YES

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Louis King Jason and for your positive comments.

It is a pleasure to read that you have found your Oasis of calm net to us and that you had a very relaxing family holiday with us.

We offer entertainment in those Louis Hotels which specialize in all inclusive. All inclusive means that our customers spend most of their holiday in the resort, hence the need for entertainment is very high. In the case of the Louis King Jason, most of our guests are bed only, Bed & Breakfast or at the very maximum half board.

This means that our guests spend a lot of time outside the hotel and the demand for entertainment is non existent.

We thank you for your understanding and we look forward to the pleasure of accommodating you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Just got back from the louis King Jason on the 31st August 2011 and already booked for August 2012 . Next year will be our 4th visit and already excited to return back to the King Jason and Paphos. The manager is amazing and all the staff we feel its our second home now.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

The king jason hotel is absolutely fantastic it's a home away from home. The atmosphere is lovely and relaxed, the food is great and the staff are amazing. The locations very handy aswell, for if u do t fancy what is on the menu u are just a stones throw away from the harbour which has a huge range of good quality resturants and eateries. One other great thing about the hotel is it is a cat lovers paradise, there is a beautiful range of cats all quite friendly and each have there own names. One thing I will say is to allthe people that complain about cats or don't like them plz plz don't be don't go Cyprus is called the island of cats so obviously it's not the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read that you felt at ease and like home at the Louis King Jason!

We are glad that you appreciated the quiet and the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel, as well as the pleasant company of kittens. It was never our intention to adopt any of them, but when guests like yourself treat them so well, it is difficult for them to leave us.

We thank you for your comments and we hope we will accommodate you soon again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great staff, all very friendly, attentive and helpful. Good standard rooms with all the self catering equipment you could need. Lovely pool area and pools; always very clean and well maintained. Reception, dining and seating areas all nicely decorated and well furnished. Had a great holiday and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear guest,

Your lovely comments about the Louis King Jason and our friendly staff members are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are happy to read that you had a great holiday with us and that you enjoyed the pool area.

It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests and we look forward to seeing you very soon at the Louis King Jason.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

We were all very impressed when we first arrived, drinks much appreciated. Rooms very nice and well equipped, kept clean.
Only negative was sun beds were very uncomfortable. Was lovely at noon when cold towels were handed out as was very hot. All staff helpful and friendly.
Hotel a bit further out than others but that's why we chose it. Only a short walk to restaurants and then further short walk to more restaurants at Harbour.
On the strip of restaurants nearer to hotel was a lovely place to eat, was empty every day but thought would try and v glad did. The halloumi and moussaka were best we ate and we tried lots! Lady who runs v friendly and gave us free meat balls as she happened to be cooking them - were delicious! Restaurant called Christos steak house restaurant but is more local food than steak! Try it.
Def recommend King Jason and Paphos.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments about the Louis King Jason and for recommending us.

We are glad that you much appreciated our services and the attention of our friendly staff members to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Louis King Jason.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King Jason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason

Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Kato Paphos, some 950 metres from the sea and only a short walk to the picturesque fishing harbour and ancient fort, The King Jason allows guests to explore the numerous archeological sites of Paphos and to enjoy the many and varied resort facilities available. Superbly connected with frequent direct flights from all over Europe, Paphos Airport is a mere 15 minutes away and is now home to international carriers like EasyJet, Monarch, Ryanair and Aegean. For shopping fans, the King’s Avenue Mall (Cyprus’ biggest shopping mall) is situated only a short walk away. Also within walking distance are a variety of local restaurants and bars which enable guests to really savour the real Cypriot experience.Built in the red tiled Greek Island style and surrounded by extensive greenery and colour each of the 16 superior studios, 62 one bedroom suites and the recently constructed 32 deluxe studios are designed and furnished to satisfy the most discerning of tastes.All are air conditioned and heated individually, and have amenities like direct dial telephones, radio alarms clocks, 32 inch flat screen satellite TVs, DVD players, and hair dryers. Their kitchenettes are fully equipped with a full electric oven, two ceramic hobs, a microwave oven, a filter coffee percolator, an electric toaster and a kettle. Recently and fully renovated throughout, all units boast thick orthopedic beds, designer furniture, and spacious bathrooms with a shower or bath tub. A number of ground floor apartments with walk in showers complete the setting. A specially designed ground floor apartment with an enlarged walk in shower and bathroom is also available for our disabled guests.The recently constructed Deluxe Studios are ideal for couples and offer superior furnishing with complementary amenities such as bathrobes, slippers, personalized toiletries, wine and fruits on arrival. They offer double sinks, a spacious luxury bath or walk-in-shower and a separate toilet. Upon setting foot in the hotel, guests are introduced to a world of style and elegance. An open welcome desk without restrictive boundaries exudes a homely feeling of warmth and personalization. The beautifully decorated lobby is designed for relaxation and comfort, leading to the main bar and opening onto the terrace, where the sound of running water from the fountains further enhances the feeling of peace and tranquility.The restaurant, with its spectacular terrace overseeing the main pool, is open throughout the day for buffet breakfast, an a la carte or buffet lunch, as well as a themed dinner meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The King Jason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King Jason, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.