We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Horrid hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I read all the reviews of this hotel before booking and was very excited. What I'm about to write is my own view and I need to be honest - other's view will differ, that's ok. I had a great time for three reasons only: my husband, the sun and a few beers. Take that combination away and I would have wept. I mean no offence to anyone but this hotel sucks. I spent a significant amount of money and feel robbed. Why? For the following reasons:

The room: small, pokey and so old fashioned and worst of all? Sticky carpet. The balcony was tiny, with cheap nasty plastic furniture. The hairdryer was fitted to an inside drawer and couldn't do its job and it took us ages to find drawers to put clothes in. We went all inclusive but the fridge is not refilled as part of the package. The room looked as if it was last redecorated in 1960. Our bed had a hard lump down the centre - mattress was old and clearly had never been turned so we both rolled to opposites of the bed. Horrible.

Food: they have all inclusive, then they have "ultra" all inclusive. You pay £800+ for the basic, then they want the same again to be ultra- the difference? Ultra allows you to eat anywhere. A con. Food was OK, buffet often cold and very 'samey'- no traditional food ever served! Restaurants were OK, but very limited choice and we always felt rushed to eat.

Sunloungers: hotel says there is enough so don't reserve. 6am EVERY morning we watched a steady flow of Brits reserve their place! By 8am you were left with loungers under the tree or exposed to full on sun.

The pool: looks big in pictures on Thomson website, but is tiny and got very overcrowded. People "pashing" and dry (wet) humping whilst in there. Very off putting. I'm not a prude but I don't particularly relish seeing men's shirts 'tented' as they exited the water.

Entertainment: just don't! Painful, repetitive, out of tune, mind numbingly awful. We went to bed. We're not crazy young but this hotel felt old, tired and uncared for and the entertainment supported that.

Exclusivity: this hotel has so many layers of privilege- Thomson don't tell that on their website! The divide between 'black' card holders (apparently) the best rooms etc and the rest of "us" - what's that about? This hotel was damn expensive without the hidden layers of privileges!

Cost: the prices are extortionate. Do not consider this hotel unless you have money to burn. Even all inclusive meant we had to be careful - by the way, always ask for the wine list, there are several wines included in the AI deal- they just don't tell you and are keen to foist house wine on you instead.

Ages: I'm not ageist, but this hotel seems to have many returning guests. I felt a clear age divide, it was definitely adults only -for the over 65+ generation. I felt out of place. There seemed to be no atmosphere other than of quiet contemplation. I'm not ready for that yet.

The Good: staff were amazing (all except rude, pushy, sulky flambe night guy)

I know people have loved this hotel. I just couldn't. Your money will get you so much more elsewhere. Overall? The hotel met none of my expectations for the money we spent and we won't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    265
    92
    21
    8
See reviews for
39
812
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

just retuned from a 14 day stay at the pioneer hotel paphos cyprus and was very disappoined food warm and selection just repetitve a greek island and only once did we have mousaka goods in their supermarket on sitevery expensive the likes of essentials such milk water all thay seem interested in people who have booked suites or superior rooms need a lottery win to stay there wont be going back

Room Tip: not high room a/c units on roof lots of noises all night hat to move room down one floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent a week at this gem of a hotel at the end of August. Over the years we have had many enjoyable holidays in different hotels around the world and have highly recommended a lot of them. But I have to say, overall, this hotel beat the lot.

Our late evening check-in was speedy and welcoming, as was the plate of cold meats, salad and bottle of wine in our room.

We had a sea view room on the 3rd floor with great views over the pool out to sea. We were on the Premium all-inclusive package which we found to be well worth the price. Our wi-fi in the room worked well all week and the safe was large enough to hold our lap top along with our other bits and pieces.

We ate in Cristiana for all of our breakfasts and most dinners, having lunch at Thalasso each day overlooking the beach and sea. We also had dinner there one night and also at Regina, the Italian restaurant and can truly say that these restaurants serve the best food we have had at a hotel. Truly high end restaurant quality. We didn't go in the buffet restaurant at all during our stay and so cannot comment that that, but are sure it would be just as good. We found the house white and rose served in the restaurants to be totally acceptable and liked that you could have half a bottle, rather than a full sized one with your meals.

There was music provided by various singers during the week and also a couple of cabaret acts -a troupe of dancers who were really entertaining, Greek dancers and a fire dancer. More than enough entertainment for our needs.

The beach is not too small, and even though it was the bank holiday week, there were always plenty of beds spare both there and around the pool all day long, so no need to get up early to grab a bed. As we were on the beach all day, we did not see any weddings or children (except a few walking past on the public boardwalk) so our days were very relaxed and peaceful.

We did take the walk to Pathos one day and the bit of beach by the Pioneer was definitely the best of the ones we saw on our walk. Some have said it can be walked in 20 - 40 minutes, but it took us nearly an hour as we were enjoying looking at the other hotels on the way. In our opinion, none has such a good beach/pool area as the Pioneer.

With regards to the bars, the drinks quality was excellent throughout and the cocktails made with top shelf spirits. Especially liked an pre-dinner Cosmopolitan on the terrace and a late night drink in the Sports Bar, cosy and nicely air conditioned. Stefan was an excellent barman.

The staff throughout the hotel were, without exception, polite and friendly and spoke excellent English.

All in all an excellent holiday and we can't wait to go back next year when we will travel a week later as we would like to take in the open air opera at the castle and also to have fewer children on the flights.

The only downside was in Paphos itself, being hassled literally every 10 seconds to buy a drink at one of the many harbour side restaurants/bars we walked past. We had intended to sit with a nice bottle of wine and perhaps take lunch by the harbour overlooking the castle, but were so fed up with the hard sell, not even being given time to study a menu, that we spent the money on a taxi back to the hotel instead and decided not to bother going into that area again during this stay. We appreciate that they need tourists to spend their money, but someone should tell them that this is not the way to attract customers to their establishments.

Room Tip: Room 311 for excellent sea view and wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bought extra leg room £35 pp, arrived at the airport found out we could have bought it bogof! We were not allowed to have a room key each! Rooms refurbished but not cutting edge - wicker and carpet! in a beach resort! small rooms, coffee machine capsules never replenished. Two meals in the week could be taken in the other 2 restaurants which were empty and had nearly identical menus. Hard sell to pay for flamb meal. Tried had with the evening entertainment but the resident guitarist just did not play decent tunes, no-one danced and all ended up going to bed early. Public small stony beach - kids were allowed (adult only resort), few older topless sunbathers, a few lesbians around. Far too rocky to walk into the sea, had to swim via a jetty. Sanitary towels washing up sometimes. Beach drinks service touch and go. Had to sign for everything everywhere, hand over room card, wait for waiter to return with card which was tedious (as not everyone was on all-inclusive). Rep useless - called us in our room to welcome us day before we left! Card through door telling us to be in reception 11:15 - 11:45 for departure coach - we went down at 11:25 and it had already gone! E35 to airport and an hour after everyone else! We sat in hotel reception with rep wandering past us until we decided to ask where our coach was. She ended up shouting (disgusting) at us saying it was our fault we were late – yet shed seen us hand back our room key at 11:25! Why didn't she just give us a courtesy call in our room? Why didnt she check people on to the coach? Our mountain view room overlooked a car park. We were shown a beach view room which had sea glimpses, smaller balcony (ours was one of the largest) but it overlooked a building site! Looked at the trips but werent tempted for the money and sitting in a coach again. Don't spend your money - go to Mexico, same money and beautiful rooms, really all inclusive, great entertainment or even Jamaica was better. I'm really disappointed all round.

Room Tip: there aren't any unless carpet's your thing ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just come back from the pioneer beach hotel, had a great time the hotel was the best we have stayed in, never done all inclusive before will again especially at this hotel.the hotel staff were amazing especially stefan in the sports bar was excellent at his job always polite,nothing to much trouble like all the staff, we will return hopefully soon see you soon reception staff room 34. would recommend the flambe night great fun.

Room Tip: we had a limited sea view was absolutely fine. and noise free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having just returned from Paphos I can say this is a really good hotel to stay in. Everywhere was spotless from the communial areas to the toilets, to the bedrooms and bathrooms.

The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

The choice of food at the buffet restaurant was staggering - to many choices if anything. There were also ala catre restaurants to choose from if you were on the right board.

The only thing that let the hotel down was that there was not a proper sandy beach, more a gritty beach. But having looked at what other hotels in the area had made us feel better. There was a pontoon to get into the sea easily, so that was quite good.

The hotel is situated at one end (the quiet part) of the 'strip' and getting into the Port area and to the market is extremely easy as there is a bus stop a hundred yards outside.

This was our first ever trip to Cyprus and we are alrealdy looking at booking this hotel again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

From the second we arrived until the second we left, we recieved nothing but first class service and the facilities and room were clean and beautiful. We only stayed in the basic rooms but they were still stunning. We made some lovely friends and enjoyed our time in all areas especially the bar man Stefan in the sports bar who was not only professional and a skilled bar tender but has a wonderful sense of humor and made our holiday that little bit extra special. Thanks Constantiou Bros and Stefan for.making our holiday special. 4am groupies for life! (If Stefan ever reads this post haha)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#36 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult –focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel’s Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as facial and body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel’s Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.