We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Carlisle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A truly relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Check in was welcoming though a little more information would have been welcome.
We stayed in room 013 which was on the ground floor with a "mountain view". Couldn't see any mountains but it was nice and quiet. Every night at just after 11 we were treated to a firework display from the nearby Phaethon hotel - which we watched from the balcony.
Room was very well equipped if a little on the small side and a bit tired in places (carpet and wood panelling). However, a perfectly adequate room with effective air conditioning available all the time.
Food was excellent. Choice was impressive in the main restaurant. We didn't bother doing any a la carte dining in the other restaurants as the quality and choice was so good. Same applied to breakfast. Courteous greeting for every meal and we were always shown to a nice table.
The only thing at diner which put us off - was the member of staff trying to sell a "special romantic dinner" to couples. His sales technique was pushy and inappropriate for a hotel for the "discerning guest". We thought this was not in keeping with the high standards shown everywhere else in the hotel and it would have been better to have a table with a presentation offering this option rather than a pushy sales pitch while you ate.
All the general areas of the hotel were excellent - this was one good looking and very photogenic hotel. A lot of effort and care clearly went in to the running of this hotel at every level.
What was also nice to see was the high visibility of the management of the hotel. This was both reassuring and gave the impression that these managers were "hands on" and anxious to maintain the high standards of the hotel - well done.
The pool and outdoor areas were excellent - though be warned - even when my wife got up at 7.15 to put towels on a couple of sun loungers on the grassed area, a significant number of them had already been "reserved".
The staff worked very hard - I couldn't help but feel for the "pool girls" who were up and down all day long taking drinks orders in 30 degree heat.
The Thomson reps were helpful when you needed them but not in your face. No pushiness at all which was refreshing and appropriate for this laid back hotel.
Paphos harbour was a 45 minute walk along a path in front of all the other hotels. It was a nice walk but very hot and there is not a lot to do in Paphos harbour itself. Visit the mosaics at the house of Dionysius and have a quick look in the castle (only took about 10 mins). We took a bus to the harbour on another day - to the very efficient bus station(transport was frequent and excellent) on the 611 and then changed on to the bus for Paphos town itself. A tip here - don't bother. The town had no discernable centre and seemed a series of rambling and rather run down streets - though the municipal market was ok if you were looking for some souvenir tat.
We also went on the "undersea walkers" trip to Coral Bay. Picked up from the hotel - I have reviewed this separately but it was well worth it.
All in all an excellent holiday in a beautiful hotel which I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    259
    91
    20
    8
See reviews for
37
783
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Back from a week at the Pioneer Beach and can't wait to return. A wonderful holiday from the moment we entered at midnight till I put down my cocktail as our coach pulled up to take us home.
Our check in was quick and efficient with a glass of juice because of the hour we had missed the champagne. Room exceeded our expectations, generous size ,huge beds and a carpeted floor beautiful bathroom with lovely toiletries. On the table was a bottle of wine and two plates of cold meats salads etc and sweet greets. A lovely touch as we had been travelling most of the day.
At our late breakfast after a good nights sleep we were greeted by name in the dinning room and offered our missed champagne in our room later that day.
That was how the rest of our stayed panned out we were treated like royalty everyday . Waited on from breakfast till we said goodnight from the lovely restaurants four on site and all offering something different, overlooking the beach outdoors to the main buffet restaurant.
All staff had a smile and were happy to be there for you.
Three areas to relax by the pool or on the lawned under the palms or on the sandy beach, we did not feel the need to wander away from the hotel in the 7days we were there. As on the AI we only used 40 euro's to tip the housekeeping and the lovely girls at breakfast.
My husband said our stay was like being on a 1st class cruise but without the boat lol

Room Tip: Upgrade for best sea view and if you like a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good Hotel, having stayed at 5* hotels recently, this one as a 4* ticks all of the right boxes for a 5*, probably the only possible down point is the location, and the food selection which is still very good, but lacks the 5* magic. Despite previous reviews we thought the entertainment was first class, Andy the resident DJ was very good, and a dance group called 'Mesmerize' were probably the best Hotel act we have ever seen! Hotel staff are brilliant, very friendly, and cannot do enough for you, they are also very smartly dressed. Things to help you:- Gentlemen have to wear long trousers in the restaurant in the evenings, drinks are all international (no cheap local drinks here) go all inclusive as everything down to the strawberries and fresh cream in the afternoons, drinks (doubles if you want) and top class cocktails all day long, food available in the 'Regina' restaurant all day makes this a great experience. Lunch is served outside at the pool bar or the other restaurants, which is all good. Outside of the Hotel turn left, and just past the mini roundabout is the bus stop (100m) the 611 takes you to the harbour and bus station in Pathos for 1 euro, you can then catch the 615 to the tombs of the kings and Coral Bay, or the 610 to the Town centre and market, (all 1 euros) buses run every 10-15 minutes. Rooms are cleaned to a high standard every day, a little on the small side, bed is huge very comfortable every thing you need in a room, dressing gowns, slippers, fridge, flat screen tv, and great views over the pool and beach, with a lovely sunset in the evenings. Cocktail bar is amazing, beach not so good, lots of rocks and seaweed, but still refreshing and a must do, pool is lovely, free sunbeds, towels, are great, but get up early to get a bed, either by the pool, sea, or on the grass, a great Hotel, you will love it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokinfgham, Berkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you need to have a restful week in the sun being well looked after then The Pioneer Beach Hotel in Paphos is the place to go. This adult only hotel ticks all the boxes for our relaxing break. Our flight was delayed and when we were shown to our rooms there was a meal of cold meats, cheese bread and wine waiting for us. The staff are attentive without being intrusive. The poolside has no loud music but everyone seemed to have their own ipod listening to their own choice of music. Always enough sun beds for those who wanted them. We chose the all inclusive option and I must say we were not disappointed. The food was excellent with more than enough choices to suit any palate. There was entertainment each evening in the bar and the the performers were of a very good standard. Most nights however, we chose to sit out on the open terrace for drinks and this was very comfortable. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Top quality hotel excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from an all inclusive week away at the Pioneer after having a great time. The staff and manager were excellent, so courteous, friendly and helpful. The food was fab - the a la carte restaurants were great, and food was delicious. The main buffet served excellent food also, which is quite unusual having experienced many other all inclusive buffets in the Caribbean etc. etc. I think this was what sets the hotel apart from many other destinations - there was so much range and good quality choice of food on offer. I would very much recommend taking up the all inclusive package option, it was well worth the money.
The rooms and beds (& whole hotel actually) were extremely clean, the pool was lovely, and the sea view and little beach were perfect. The beach wasn't massive, but was just right- and the sunset in the evening was gorgeous - it was lovely sitting in the a la carte restaurant, al fresco watching the sun go down.
The entertainment was very good, with resident singers each night who worked their socks off. All I would say is that the entertainment stopped at 23:30, which was when most couples seemed to go to bed so the hotel was quite quiet by midnight. One of the bars served drinks until 00:30, so there was a place to relax for a while after dinner, but don't expect a busy/late nightlife.
The hotel was a 4 star destination but we definitely received 5 star treatment.
My boyfriend and I usually like to try different hotels and rests I different countries, but would go back to the Pioneer again for another week if we got the chance, as we know that we would be getting a great, relaxing break with great food. All in all a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at pioneer beach hotel and had to tell someone else about this gem. Booked the holiday to celebrate our 25th anniversary and upgraded to superior sea view room. Fromthe minute we arrived to the minute we reluctantly left there was absolutely nothing to fault this hotel. The staff are all excellent and very friendly and they do a great job. The food was excellent and the flambe night is an experience not to be missed.all in all if you are looking for an hotel in paphos this is the place to go, we have holidayed in some great places worldwide and the pioneer beach takes some beating.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have great sea and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The team are well led by a great Manager. Nothing was too much trouble .We had a fantastic week.. Food and services superb, in the indoor and outdoor Restaurants. We could find no fault in the hotel and this is unusual, and will definitely recommend it to our friends. Hopefully next year we will return.

Room Tip: we would like to have had a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult –focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel’s Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as facial and body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel’s Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.