We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday for a family with small children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pafian Sun Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pafian Sun Village to your Saves list
Pafian Sun Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday for a family with small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff were friendly on arrival, the rooms had amazing sea views were basic but spacious the beds could have been a little more comfortable but didn't spend too much time in them.....grounds where nice lots of sun beds two children pools one in a quiet area too. food I thought was really nice always found something I liked to eat lots of different choices with different well cooked meat even did a sunday roast with all the trimmings one night which I thought was brilliant. lots of choices for the kids. Entertainment made the holiday as the hotel is a bus ride away from the centre of paphos the entertainment team kept adults and kids busy throughout the day with activities and competitions. The evening entertainment for the kids was fab and I didn't see my two while it was on then there was always something for the adults also. My son went to the kids club twice and he enjoyed it I felt at ease with the staff running it. overall a very nice 3 star I would say I feel I got what I paid for in this holiday.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view its stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    317
    164
    101
    83
See reviews for
457
206
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from 17th - 28th September,all-inclusive through Thomas Cook.
It was hot and sunny but there was a tendency to be cloudy in the afternoon. Luck of the draw.

It's a nice, clean hotel.

The food was fine for us, no complaints. I won't go into any details, many other people have expressed their personal opinion.

Our room overlooked the quiet pool with a nice view over the sea and beautiful sunsets (only spoiled by the remnants of cloud that didn't allow me to get a picture of the sun setting fully into the sea - bugger! Must complain to Thomas Cook about that).

The room itself was fine - bed, shower, wardrobe, telly (never found out how to work it but who cares). The safe is 3 Euros per day but it's quite small and you can only put your little things in it so if you've got a big expensive camera for instance, it won't fit.. Oh and ANTS - yes there were some but even my wife didn't bother and she's the sort of person that sees a bit of fluff on the floor and thinks it's a Tarantula.

The only problem we had with this hotel was its location. We don't drink alcohol during the day but we like to have a drink and some entertainment at night. We knew what we were going to get in an all-inclusive hotel, but there is a bar right across the road and a few others within walking distance and that was in our minds when we booked.

I would say firstly that the entertainment team in the hotel worked their socks off and kept us all going with shows and quizzes.Full marks to them all.

Personally though, we sometimes just want to go out on the spur-of-the-moment and do something different. The only option was the aforementioned bars that only showed football as a form of entertainment. Of course, there is the option of getting the bus into either Coral Bay (10 minutes each way + waiting time) or Paphos (15-20 mins + waiting time depending on where) but you might spend that time travelling there and find nothing to inspire you anyway.

We are both in our early 50's; too old to be out until 6am but too young to go to bed at midnight. We just wanted the opportunity to wander out and get a drink and some music/entertainment/karaoke..something different.

All-in-all it's a good enough hotel, pleasant stay, no real problems...but the location was an issue for us.

Everyone's different!

Room Tip: Cluster 27 & 28 are at the quiet pool with a view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

just returned from a weeks stay at the Pafian Sun, what a lovely holiday! the staff were helpful and friendly, the food in the restaurant was always hot, fresh , with plenty of choice. the service in the restaurant was very good. the bar staff were friendly and efficient- drinks weren't amazing but all inclusive never is. the rooms were pretty basic but had everything we needed and were cleaned almost every day. as a previous reviewer said the towels had seen better days but they were clean and changed whenever we wanted.
the Thomas cook entertainers were great, a lovely bunch of people who did everything they could to make the holiday enjoyable without being pushy. we thoroughly enjoyed their shows and all the evening entertainment. for those previous reviewers who complained about them-there is a quiet pool to sit at during the day if you want to avoid the team and you do not have to sit outside to view the shows if its not to your taste- theres plenty of seating indoors!
the views were beautiful - for the best book a sea view room- you wont be disappointed.

but a big big thank you to Megan, Jason, Jess and Kelly, it was lovely to meet you !

Room Tip: Sea views are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just arrived back from a weeks stay at the Pafian Sun, we have been here before about 3 years ago. Check in was easy and unstressful even though we arrived about 1am. Our room was clean but only a flat pillow each was provided, we rang down to reception and the housemaids had gone home which we expected anyway, however we had to ring another 3 more times during the day to get the extra pillows. The evening entertainment was so loud, too loud that it was not enjoyable. There are two pools, one being a quieter one that we enjoyed a bit more.On Our previous visit here we did have a problem in our room with ants. I thought this time round it was going to be ok, as we didnt see them for a few days. In honestly we werent plagued by them but they were clearly visible.
The food, has definately not up to the standards i remember before, this time it was just ok, we did get a bit tired of the food, it was nothing special, a definate decline in standards.
However we really enjoyed our holiday, the location was nice and the staff always seemed happy and willing to help. The hotel was clean.
Im not sure if i would return,

Room Tip: If you dont want loud evening noise ask for a room near the quieter pool overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If Butlins in the sun is what you’re after, then this is the place for you. For us, it was our worst nightmare. We arrived around 11pm to a bar/terrace littered with plastic cups and plates and very drunken people. The people were fine, they were on holiday but the mess was unbelievable. We went up to the room, which was around the main pool and could not believe the state of the bathroom. There was actually mould everywhere. There was not any cutlery or crockery in the room the furniture and windows were filthy. The next day by the pool it was like Hi di Hi. There was a constant barrage of loud silly games that you simply could not get away from. Forget relaxing and reading a book. At night you were served your drinks in a plastic cup, really???? Are the English regarded as children? This was supposed to be a 4* hotel and to be served in plastic cups from an ice cream serving hatch that was doubling as a bar because the cocktail and other bars were all closed simply is taking the mick. There was entertainment but this was in the main for the children, which is great but not all night. I do think that by 9pm the entertainment should have been aimed at the adults. After all, this was 28th September when children were supposed to be at school. Please don’t get me wrong, we’re not miseries, we’ve had our kids and love them dearly and gone places to keep them entertained when they were small but the children’s entertainment at this hotel was way too much and not enough for the adults. Food, what shall I say about the food? Well, badly cooked, not enough choice and mostly not very nice. There was the odd thing that was OKish but really not too great on the whole. We booked an all-inclusive holiday and ended up eating out most of the time at an extra cost. We spoke to our rep and the staff at the hotel about finding somewhere quitter in the day. The staff were really good and totally understood and told us there was a quitter pool nearby. This was lovely because it was much quitter and overlooked the sea. It seemed that everyone coming after we arrived was of the same mind. They were totally disappointed and said that the hotel was not how it was described and was most certainly not a 4*, at most it was a 2*. Please don’t be fooled by the photos, these have obviously been retouched. It was a shame the holiday was bad because it had been booked to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. No we’re not just old and miserable, we were married at 22.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from the pafian sun and we had an excellent time, room was nice, food was nice, entertainment was good, Thomas Cook rep was very good.i would say the hotel is a 3star plus like advertised, there was some slightly Chavy guests but that's not hotels fault. Location was great 5min on bus one way you could go to the gorgeous beach of coral bay in the other was paphos harbour both are lovely and worth a visit. Rumour is the hotel is getting revamped next year and thompsons is taking over. All in all though I had a really enjoyable holiday, the holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is rated a 4 star hotel, we have stayed in 3,4, and 5 star hotels and no way could this be called 4 star. On arrival we were given a form to fill in with passport details etc, we were told that if we wanted someone would fill it in for us, bells started to ring!!
We got to the bedroom and found that the décor was very dated, not so much of an issue as we do not spend a lot of the time in the room when we are on holiday. On closer inspection we noticed there was not a plug for the bath, we went back to reception and said there was not one, the receptionist had a draw full of them, she said they did not leave them in the rooms as guests would leave the bath to overflow, we asked for an upgrade and was told we would have to wait 3 days as the was full, the cost would be 15 euros a night extra, something we would have been willing to pay.
On waking up the next day there was not any hot water, this we reported, we went into breakfast and found that if you wanted cereal there were only plastic bowls to have it in.
There are two pools, we went to the quiet pool which was good with a sea view which we like.
The hotel say they have a dress code for dinner, this is not enforced, men were dining in vest and shorts, so not a nice experience, only 2 air conditioning units in the dining room worked so it did get very warm and uncomfortable.
There are 3 bars but all are around the pool so drinks were only served in plastic cups, we understand the need for plastic near the pool but we feel there should have been a bar inside where you can haver a drink in a glass.
There is an al a carte restaurant where you can dine once a week, we tried this out on the first Monday, we had chicken breast, this was very dry it was served with a jacket potato and frozen carrots, so hardly al a carte.
We still did not have hot water, we complained to the Thomas Cook rep who gave us a customer feed back form which we filled in and she took to the office, we did say we did not think it was a 4 star resort and she said peoples expectations were different. I aske what constituted a 4 star resort and she said that if they have a gym and a spar it is 4 star, I said so regardless of what the rest of the hotel was like as long as there was a gym and a spa it was 4 star, she said yes.
On the Tuesday we had a reply from the office, they could move us to a couple of other resorts, one was 425 euros extra and the other was over 600 euros, none of our complaints had been addressed they would take more money off us to move. This we said we would not do as we hade already paid for what should have been 4 star, we did get moved to a superior room which was much nice did have hot water and had a sea view.
The staff were miserable, hygiene was not very good, cutlery having been dropped on the floor being put on another table setting, or if someone had used a table and some cutlery looked clean again this was put on another table, tables being cleaned and any small amounts of food pushed on to the floor.
The hotel has a policy of no towels to be put on sunbeds early in the mornings to reserve them, again not enforced, all this is put on the website but not adhered to, it would be better if they did not do this because you can only base your choice of holiday on what you read and if this is not enforced then why put it on.
We paid a lot of money for this holiday and it was like a Pontins holiday camp.

Room Tip: If you have to go here choose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pafian Sun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pafian Sun Village

Address: Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#19 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#35 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pafian Sun Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pafian Sun Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Hotel Paphos
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Paphos
Pafian Sun Holiday Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pafian Sun Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.