We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good holiday, a few touches to make it great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pafian Sun Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pafian Sun Village to your Saves list
Pafian Sun Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very good holiday, a few touches to make it great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel, and overall very happy with our stay.
Smooth check in, to our very spacious if a little shabby room. It was clean, and I am told they are having a refurbishment this winter. Beds were not too comfortable, but bearable.
Windows could be a bit thicker, but this was only an issue at 10pm wanting an early night, but music is only around an hour later than that.
A choice of 2 pool areas. We favoured the bigger busy one, due to having young children. But the one overlooking the sea is great too, and more laid back.
Entertainment is lively, and fairly constant throughout the day, but no pressure if you don't want to join in. Evening is as you would expect, a bit cheesy, but good light hearted fun.
Yes, plastic cups at the bar and only 2 per person, but this was expected and fine for us. Our oldest son was able to get his own, and loved doing this.
I think food was great. Plenty of choice at breakfast, scrambled eggs ropy, but you can have fresh cooked omelette, fried, and pancakes. Lots of lovely salads and main courses for lunch and dinner,and a theme each night for variation.
Bus stops are outside the hotel into paphos and down to coral bay, which is a lovely beach.
In my opinion, you get what you give with staff, they don't make a big fuss of you, but ask after them, smile and use manners, and they take good care of you.
If there is a big refurbishment due, I have no doubt this could get a top rating.

Room Tip: A room away from the main pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    317
    164
    101
    83
See reviews for
457
206
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have just come back from an unforgettable 2 week holiday at the Pafian Sun with my wife. We travelled with Thomas Cook and arrived on the 17th of September.

Reception - we didn't need to use their services much, they delivered a pleasant check in

Food - we really enjoyed the food, they had a different themed night for every evening of the week from Chinese to Greek to Italian.. Always a great choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Bar - again, a flautless service, the staff worked hard.

Rooms - very spacious and comfortable, we were located nearby the pool area and didn't really have a problem with noise from the pool area

Entertainment - the Thomas Cook entertainments team are such a credit to both Thomas Cook and the Pafian Sun, they worked so hard out in the sunshine 6 days a week with so much to do throughout the day and evening time.. Hey had darts, pool, boules, quizzes etc. My wife loved aqua aerobics. The evening time would start with a kids disco, we didn't have any kids but it was entertaining to watch.. They would then have adult entertainment starting from 9pm. We didn't really get involved with any of the gameshows but again very funny to watch! They had shows on which were very good, I liked the soul show. Thank you Kelly, Jess, Jason and Megan, you made our holiday. It's a yes from me.

All in all a great holiday, it's a massive shame that Thomas Cook will not be working with the Pafian Sun next year..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we stayed at the pafian sun at the begining of june for 2 weeks and we has a family(2 adults 1 child 10years) had a great time, but i do think it was the time of year we went i think if we would have gone in the main school holidays it might have been a different review that i would be writing.
we arrived approx 11.00pm and check in went really smooth, we found our room easy enough off the map that we recieved from reception.
we never had a problem with getting sunbeds where we wanted but the hotel was not at full, i can imagine that in peak season you would have to get up early to secure a bed.
we couldnt fault the food every meal we had was delicious, hot and plentyful we never had to wait for a table and our drinks were served to us i think in a reasonble amount of time.
the daytime entertaintment is varied and the entertainment team have a no hassle policy if you want to join in thats great if not, enjoy your time sunbathing, we did the quiz in the morning and my daughter and i did the aqua aerobics which was great fun.
the evening entertainment, well youve just got to keep an open mind and go for it, it is aimed at getting everyone involved but if you dont want to you dont have to, we never felt pressured off the entertainment team, only our 10 year old who insisted on us taking part in everything.
the bar in the evening can get busy but the guys behind the bar were very quick and the que soon went down, theres a great choice of drinks, infact i cant think of a drink they didnt have and some friends we met even mananged to invent there own called the manci cherry (vodka, cherry liqure and a dash of lemonade) be warned its goes down great not so good next morning.
the bus stop outside the hotel is brill for getting around, buses are every 10-15 minutes and just a euro for adults and children are free or a day saver for 3 euros which was great for when we went to the waterpark.
overall we had a great stay and met some great people of all ages at the pafian sun, yes it could do with a revamp in some areas but which hotel doesnt?

Room Tip: you need to stay clear of the rooms around the pool if you like an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 fantastic weeks at the pafian sun. The entertainment team absolutely work their socks off so thanks to Kelly, jess, meg and Jason for all of your entertainment. Only downside was pirate prat, sorry I mean pat the kids entertainer who doesn't like kids! What a rude man, so much so we left half way through!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was a bit concerned about going here after reading previous reviews but was not disappointed.
we booked at this hotel along with about 30+ other people who were attending a wedding on the island, we had an apartment overlooking the pool with sea views, fantastic sunsets every night.
The apartments were very clean they were cleaned every day bar Tuesday and Thursday (thankyou violeta). We had a slight problem with air con but it was soon sorted out, ants were a problem on first day but we were left a spray and had no problems after that, I found all staff very polite and friendly. The food was great, plenty of choice even for my fussy son and a different theme every day. I do agree with linda p it would be great to have a bit more adult entertainment, but must say all the entertainment staff work very hard at what they do and we had a good laugh most of the time. The pool and surrounding areas were kept clean everyday. Drinks were served in plastic glasses but with kids running around all the time im not surprised.
We hired a car from across the road for a couple of days which was cheaper than from rep and found the supermarket across the road cheaper than on site. Great time had by all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This was first time to this hotel was a bit worried after reading some of the negative reviews but need,nt have worried had an excellent time. Stayed in a studio overlooking the sea room was clean and comfortable. Plenty have food choices at all meals all good. The only thing was disappointed with was the lack of adult entertainment plenty of children's entertainment though. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was here on holiday from the 15th to 29th September.
This was our first family holiday for a couple of years and was a bit worried after reading some reviews on here. I needn't have been.

When we arrived we were quickly checked in by friendly staff and given our key and air con remote. Our room was clean and spacious. The beds were comfy but unfortunately I was banished to the sofa bed which wasn't the most comfy of beds. There were a few things wrong in the room, buttons missing off the tv, kettle didn't switch itself off, but nothing major.
A few people mentioned the ants and yes, they were everywhere - outside. We rarely had them inside. The only other creepy crawlies we saw were lizards and the odd praying mantis.

The food was served buffet style and we couldn't fault it. There was always too many options available and different things everyday, so I don't understand how people could say it was the same food everyday. The food was always hot, tasty and cooked perfectly (except maybe the boiled eggs). The waiting staff were helpful and were great with the baby.

The drinks were served in little plastic cups which was a bit annoying but when you consider they serve for over 12 hours per day. If they were serving pints etc, it would probably get very messy, very quickly.

The pool and pool area were spotless every day. As was the rest of the grounds.

We had a fault with the air con which was fixed very quickly.

The entertainment team worked their socks off all week, from 11 in the morning until 11 at night.

The rooms and some parts of the hotel do need some refurbishment as it doesn't look like its been done for a while, that is the only criticism I have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pafian Sun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pafian Sun Village

Address: Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#19 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#35 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pafian Sun Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pafian Sun Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Hotel Paphos
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Paphos
Pafian Sun Holiday Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pafian Sun Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.