We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pafian Sun Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pafian Sun Village to your Saves list
Pafian Sun Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
hailsham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the Pafian Sun half term week. From the beginning: Very quick at the Paphos airport, walked out with cases and our pre booked taxi driver was there. His name was Rocky and he was excellent, telling us about Paphos and Cyprus on our way to our Hotel. Arrived at the hotel quite late, and a nice man called Dave took us to our room. Our room was quite near the children's club, away from main noise but close enough to pop back to room if you are round the pool. Room was fine, took ant powder with me but didn't need it. Fridge and kettle in the room. It was nice to have a separate room from our 8 year old, who had a sofa bed in the lounge. She woke early so we went down to breakfast. In the hotel hand out they give you it says no towel's to be put on sun beds, but at 7.30 most mornings there were quite a few. So maybe if you want a certain place put them on at breakfast. Breakfast was fine, and lots of things to choose from. I took some teabags down with me that I had bought from England (no one does tea like us) and just used hot water. Our daughter met a lovely friend on the first day, so we knew we wouldn't see much of her. The animation team were very good and very nice people, but it was also quite nice when they had a day off, we had a little peace! Lunch and Dinner always plenty to choose from and fine for Hotel food, their roast on the Saturday was very good. Drinks were ok, I didn't think they were watered down, I thought they were quite strong. Well the first one anyway! We got the bus into Paphos stayed a couple of hours and then got the bus to Coral Bay, you can do them both in a day. A great stay and my daughter had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    317
    164
    101
    83
See reviews for
457
206
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at Pafian during the last week of May. Overall the hotel was very good. We didn't realize that we were visiting during the British School "half-term" so I am assuming it was a little more crowded than normal but the complex is large and spread out so unless you are around the pool you don't feel crowded. We booked all-inclusive and had a one bedroom apartment with a half kitchen that we never used but the dining table and refrigerator were nice none the less. The following are the pluses and minuses of this resort.

Pluses:
+ Size of the apartment
+ Good variety of food, you could find something that was to your liking at every meal. It may not have been five star but to say the food was "bad" is just being picky.
+ Great location to the beach and scenic overlook. Definitely go at sunset. Be warned the beach access is small and rocky
+ Friendliness of the staff
+ Availability of drinks (soft drinks, beer, wine, cocktails)
+ Free parking
+ Clean

Minuses:
- The decor of the rooms is dated. It didn't bother us, but don't expect modern decor.
- No free Wifi. This day in age, there is no reason not to have free Wifi.
- Would have liked to see more Cypriot, Med, Greek food.
- There was one English TV station, given the majority of guests were British, not sure why there wasn't more than one English speaking station
- Not sure why there are no pool towels provided by the hotel
- Agree with one of the other guests that the morning cleaning is a bit aggressive during a period where people are going to breakfast. It seems to be a bit of a hazard.


Overall: We thought the hotel was value for money and would recommend it. My two sons liked the hotel and I thought it was a solid hotel. There is Free Wifi across the street just in case you want free Wifi

Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and the sea. If you are renting a car from the airport, get a GPS.

Room Tip: Room over looking the pool and/or sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have just got back from the Pafian Sun after a lovely hot and sunny week First time I have been during half term and was a bit apprehensive that it would be too lively. No need to have worried, a little bit livelier than other years but the choice of food and cleanliness etc was just as good as always and everyone appeared to be having a good time . The rooms could do with a makeover and the beds were not too comfortable but bed linen and towels were changed all the times and the staff most helpful.Taking into account of the fact that there were three different generations in our party and that everyone had a good time I .Would recommend the Pafian Sun especially to families wanting a relaxing and yet fun hoiliday.

Room Tip: the pool rooms are a little noisey but good to be able to sit on the balcony/patio and enjoy the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I won't lie - having read reviews and seen some pictures, I had my reservations about our up and coming family holiday to the Pafian Sun. Without sounding stuck up, all inclusive family resorts were not my usual holiday, however with 13 member in our party, including 5 children from the age of 1-5, we needed a resort that was value for money, good location and offered something for everyone and the Pafian Sun was that. It by far exceeded my expectations and we had an absolutely brilliant holiday. The rooms are large and spacious and offer standard facilities - fridge, hob, kettle etc. Although they are clean and were serviced daily by the cleaning team, the decor is very dated and they could do with a make over
The pool area was also always clean, there was a constant atmosphere and a lovely buzz of happiness from everyone enjoying themselves. We particularly enjoyed spending a couple of days at the quiet pool too as the grass area was ideal for my 1 year old to crawl around on. It also offered fantastic views of the sea. The entertainment staff were great fun, offering simple but enjoyable activities day and night for all ages to participate in. The waiting staff and reception staff were also very helpful and pleasant.
The food - something that is very important to us all!! The food could not be faulted - there was a large variety of hot and cold foods available at all meal times and all of it was very enjoyable. The only evening that was a disappointment was the formal sit down night that you are invited to join in on certain nights of the week depending on your room number.
Items sold in the shop were fairly pricey compared to at home - chocolate bars were approxmiately 1-2 euros each, a can of coke was €1.80 however they weren't any more expensive than the supermarket accross the road.
The location was fine for us as we only planned to travel out on one day for a wedding, however if you wanted to travel around to various places, buses/taxis/ car hire is needed. A bus journey is only €1 per adult, children are free, however taxi's can be expensive.
All in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable week had by us all and I would definitely recommend the Pafian Sun to any family considering going to Cyprus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a 2 week holiday at the pafian sun and we had a great time. Location from the airport isn't too far and when your travelling with a baby like we were that's important! We were greeted by a very friendly English receptionist upon arrival at the hotel who was more than helpful, all the rooms have unlimited aircon and are very clean and tidy. Cleaners come and clean rooms everyday changing beds etc, the pool area is very basic and could do with a bit of work, it's not the biggest pool in the world and when there are kids with inflatables it gets busy very quickly. The food is brilliant we couldn't fault it, they cater for all tastes, and the choice is brilliant. The staff are very friendly but the cleaning Rotas need to be addressed as they start cleaning all the outdoor area at 7am when breakfast begins and are still doing it at 9 so expect wet legs and slippy floors both inside and outside the restaurant. Location isn't the best your not walking distance to alot so buses an taxis are used alot. The entertainment team are great and very funny and work very hard. The only major drawback to this hotel is the Russians they are very rude and its very much a us and them situation they don't take part in the entertainment and it often can feel abit awarkward. But if you can beat them to the buffet at meal times you will be fine :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family stayed here for a week in August two years ago the staff here were lovely. The food was poor. The rooms were fine and the activities at the pool were very good. The hotel is out of the way a bit and we rented a car for a couple of days to drive to Limassol and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a very nice 2 week holiday at the pafian sun.I was surprised at how big the complex is, its kept clean and tidy. The rooms are very spacious, large bedroom with plenty storage spaces, the dining room area is also very large. Small porch area though.
The restaurant was excellent, the standard of food really good, with a different menu every day, ranging from Italian, Mediterranean, Chinese Cypriot, to a ,carvery night. Plenty choice of salads.
The bar served a good selection of local drinks and cocktails, if you tip the barman at the start of your holiday he will look out for and make sure you get a good measure of drink, he will also remember what your favourite drink is.
At meal times ask for your glass of wine to be in a proper wine glass or you will get it in a plastic cup.
The main pool area is always busy, so I suggest you walk round to the quiet pool area.(no music playing)There is also a bar there, I found the barman here to be very nice, friendly and helpful.
The evenings entertainment was ok,it started of with a name that tune quiz, followed by a game show,or cabaret act.
No matter where your room is you will hear the evenings entertainment as its mostly outside focused round the main pool area. It does however stop at 11pm.
I would defiantly consider returning to this hotel again.
This hotel is closer to coral bay than paphos,right outside the hotel is the bus stop,it costs 1 euro to get into paphos,but if you pay 3 euros you can get a unlimited day travel.

Room Tip: clusters 27 and 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pafian Sun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pafian Sun Village

Address: Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#20 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#36 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pafian Sun Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pafian Sun Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Hotel Paphos
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Paphos
Pafian Sun Holiday Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pafian Sun Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.