We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected from a 4 star rating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pafian Sun Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pafian Sun Village to your Saves list
Pafian Sun Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not what was expected from a 4 star rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Overall the hotel was ok however not what we were expecting from the 4star ratring (more 2-3star). We had to change rooms the day after we arrived as it was not the balcony view we requested (although the holiday had been booked for a year before hand), the staff on reception were very good and moved us straight away. The rooms were ok but the sofa bed in the living room was low and uncomfortable, the sheets and towels are shabby and stained badly, although I cant fault the maid service as they were very friendly.

The food was good but very repetitive and it is off putting to see people eatling and licking the tongs which everyone has to use to get the food. The waitress staff were rude and off hand, taking plates away sometimes when you were still eating and getting annoyed at you if you told them you were'nt finished.

The entertainment was the same everyday and the same 4 songs played for the children every night, the daytime childrens entainment was ony on for 2 hours a day and only seemed to cater for younger children. The entertainment was not on for 2 nights due to the rain however they could have used the inside room for this.

My suggestion would be to change this to a 2-3 star hotel so that the price reflects the standard, and so no more decent people are ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    317
    164
    101
    83
See reviews for
457
206
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Pafian Sun holiday village has to be the most uninspiring all inclusives I have been to. The rooms are large but with little equipment, no remote for the Tv, only BBC World service to watch in English, considering even the street signs in English, is not a good deal for us. Only one glass and no cutlery which could be a bit of a draw back if you are staying as self catering. The best thing about the room was the view, we had a sea view, which we didn't ask for, but the glorious sunsets made up for the disappointing hotel environment.
The food was school dinner quality, orange juice was in reality, orange squash, which seems a bit daft since the island has orange groves in abundance. The best thing was the fruit cake which was available for breakfast and in he afternoon, at least it tasted like it had been made on the premises unlike any of the puddings which had obviously come out of a freezer! The drinks are watered down, Diet Coke tastes like water, the coffee was good though.
There are NO towels at this hotel for taking to the pool, not mentioned in the brochure. We didn't take any and had to go and buy them.
This should not be advertised as a Sentido hotel. The Sentido chain is supposed to soothe the senses, this hotel is an affront to them!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here 25th september until 09th october, party of 9 of us travelling, we got up the next morning it was like walking in to a dumpet site!! There was food and empty cups left all over the tables left from the night before, crawling with ants it was very disgusting especially when there all over both of your beds!!! Two of our party ended with tummy bugs one of them ended up in hospital one year old, very poorly and numerous people in hospital with the same tummy bug and from the SAME HOTEL!!!!! We were very dissapointed with this hotel and the STAFF!! As on thomas cook it says its a 4 star more like a 2 star, you only had to stand next to your sun lounger and ants was actually running up your legs, they never cleaned around the pool area. Toilets in the lobby was very disgusting they smelt like public dirty toilets, all dirty stuff wiped on walls, before we went we read bad reviews but we assumed that they were fussy people but it is true and we will NEVER EVER go here again! Hospital facilities 25 minutes away in taxi and costs 15 euros each way! When ever you reported something they said they would send someone straight away but took 5 hours after!! And for the thomas cook rep 'esme' she was no help at all, my mother in law asked her to ring the hospital for her to see how the grandson was going on and she said no she hadnt got the number, the only good people in the whole hotel was the ladies on reception and the entertainment team they tried their best!! The cleaners were very ignorant and lazy, every morning and evening their was mucky bags of rubish left outside our rooms! I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYBODY ESPCIALLY FAMILYS WITH CHILDREN THIS HOTEL IS VERY DIRTY!!!!

Room Tip: none of the rooms are good because you have to share your beds with ants!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I like many others seem to have been reading other reviews, was dubious about this holiday. We wanted a week somewhere with kids club facilities and all inclusive. Being new to all inc and a resort catering for children we expected it to be a busier resort to what we would normally book. I have to say we had a fab week!

When we arrived we were given the worst room we could have possibly been given! 5A which was located right next to the entertainment stage, needless to say the 1st night was horrendous with noise. It was a bit of a butlins feel to it and we were thinking we were in for a nightmare week...... The next day I requested a move and we were told by reception we would have to endure 1 more night in 5a but then we could move to a quieter room.

From the moment we moved it was like a different holiday, 12E was great set back out of the way and we needed up with a balcony and sea view which was fab!

Good points about the Pafian Sun

Firstly the food, I really don't know what some people are writing about on here re the food being rubbish because it was brilliant, great theme nights, kids buffet and all the meat served was so tender, no upset tummys, eveything was well presented and The staff were very nice , worked long days along with the bar staff and i couldn't fault them, it is a bit like a school dinner hall but its all inclusive, what do people expect?.Yes this was out 1st time all inclusive but I was surprisingly pleased at the quality. the wine was also very nice, even though it was out of plastic cups! Why people moaned about it was beyond me? The breakfast had something for everyone, fruit, cereal, hot full breakfast, fresh made as you waited omelette, pancakes for the kids, the list is endless. We all ate far too much but it was all so nice!

Secondly the kids club, there was a lack of interest , a lot of kids chose not to go but my daughter loved it and made a great friend there. The kids reps were lovely and in really can't fault them. The day and evening entertainment was also ok, we tended to go out after our meal to the harbour or coral bay so we only sat and watched it on 2 nights but it is what it is. If you want to stay in the hotel and drink yourself silly because its all inclusive instead of going out and taking in some of paphos sites then why moan about it being rubbish?the Bus service was very good every 15 mins to harbour which was nice for a walk, shopping, drinks etc.

Another worthy mention is the maid service, can't fault it, the maid was friendly and I found the maid service very good.

Sunbeds , there were plenty as it was last week of sept seemed quieter, top pool was louder and the lower pool was much quieter with just a pool bar.

I would recommend the superior rooms near the lower pool if you can get one, they have premium view and quieter that end. Clusters 26/27/28 we would definitely recommend.

In short YES we would return, had a fab week ( once we escaped the dreaded room 5a) staff were great :)

Don't be put off by over critical reviews, you can't please everyone!


  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here Sep 29 to 6 Oct 2012 - This was our third holiday to Phafos so we didn't want to do much, which was just as well as this hotel is not near anything, you have to get a bus to get anywhere. I will keep the review simple:-

Pafian Sun Holiday Village - Good points:-

Lovely Pool area, could always get a sunbed and not crowded with kids (although not main season)

Food was lovely every day, good variety and no chips in sight (except in kids section!)

Restaurant staff were good and efficient, but again it wasn't main season so probably much busier then.

Bar service was good, beer was decent, cocktails not much cop. Only downside was plastic glasses but that's the norm with all inclusive.

Thomas cook reps did their best with entertainment, games in the daytime and bingo and shows at night - was good and people joined in.

Access to a small beach/Rocky area where you could go in the sea, which was lovely, although wasnt really room to sunbathe there.

Rooms were actually one bed apartments which were really big and we had a pool and a sea view so that was lovely.


Bad points:-

Nothing around the hotel, had to get bus to get anywhere - bus service is decent though and cheap.

Apart from beer, didn't think spirits and cocktails were any good and definitely not strong.

Room was covered in Ants and although we reported it to reception and was told the maid would spray - it was never done.

Info given by reception was that maid service was 5 times a week and towel/bedding change twice - we got maid service 3 times in a week and two towel changes (had to ring reception for it once) and no bed sheet changes - was not impressed with this.

Had an air conditioning leak from the bedroom one which kept us awake all night and had to use towels to clear up the water - reported it and was fixed few hours later but never worked properly since then.

Shower head holder was broken so had to hold to shower which wasn't ideal.

Kettle didn't work.

In general although the rooms were nice and big, they were in need of some updating and maid service needs major improvements.

Bar staff flirted all the time with the young women (including my 18 year old daughter who was with her boyfriend), asking them to meet them later ect. It was harmless but depending on how you took it could see it being inappropriate. Daughters boyfriend got them back though by cheekily leaving his name & number (false one!) with the bar man - they though it was funny!!


In all we had a good holiday as we didn't want to do much except relax, we got the bus to Coral Bay for the beach and the bus to Kings Road and to the Harbour - as we had already been twice before though we didn't mind but could see it being a hassle if it was your first time in Phafos and wanted to see everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here Sept 2012 , 5 adults , 2 children ages 6 & 7 , 1 baby age 1. Booked 2 x 1 bedroomed apartments with a sea-view through Olympic holidays..
Apartment was very nice , modern and clean.Maid service was hit and miss but good enough.View was fantastic , we had a garden (no balcony) so the outside space was really handy. Air-conditioning did its job and no extra to pay either. Few ants about especially if you dropped any food they would come in their droves.
Food was good with a special section for the children, no complaints but got a little boring after a week.Plenty of selection for even the fussy eater.
Drinks. Beer tasted very weak watered down especially in the evening,Cocktails slightly better but still weak. Plastic cups all the time.
Two pools one noisy with activities all day and lots of kids ,one quiet which made a nice getaway now and again.Pools clean and no infections occurred. Kids club was non existent they didn't seem to be bothered. Plenty of sunbeds but needed to get up early to save one,
Laundry had 2 machines one of which was being fixed, for a massive holiday village this was not really very good.
Evening entertainment was boring not much going off, kids disco and the usual bingo.
Bus stop outside the hotel 1 euro per trip or 3 euro for all day.
Supermarket over the road which is a lot cheaper than the one on site,
Have visited Cyprus several times as a couple but this was the first as a family it was enjoyable but would not go here again. Cyprus also seems to be full of Eastern Europeans lots more than there used to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

just got back from a week at the pafian sun village and to be honest i wish i stayed at home . The drinks are all watered down so much you could drink all day and not feel a thing ,all the cocktails are pre--made in shush puppy containers and to have to drink out of plastic cups all day was a discrase .to be honest the food was good as there was always something to eat .The bus service was good and very cheap the harbour is well worth a trip out and also coral bay the beach is good and so is the town with loads of bars selling proper drinks out of glasses .The cleaner only turned up four of the seven days .The hotel only seem to have the brits here but even they want to be germans and put the towels on the sun loungers at the crack of dawn (sad sad people) all in all thanks to all the chavvey people who stayed there who make me so not proud to be english give me a hotel full of germans any day at least they have standards and wont stop at places like this SORRY for me will nmot be going back

Room Tip: second poll better dont go there if you like a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pafian Sun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pafian Sun Village

Address: Peyia Road Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#19 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#35 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pafian Sun Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pafian Sun Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Hotel Paphos
Sentido Pafian Sun Village Paphos
Pafian Sun Holiday Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pafian Sun Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.