We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - average hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location - average hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the ATG for 4 days late April/early May. Three star hotel in my estimation. Nice location close to Paphos tourist areas. Had B&B package - breakfast so-so. Water still too cold to use outside pool or swim in the sea. Will look for somewhere else if we visit Paphos again.

Room Tip: high floor, balcony seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    152
    21
    13
    1
See reviews for
279
555
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel for a week in late April and generally found the hotel had very good facilities, great location and friendly staff but the 'partial sea view' rooms were not good value compared to the full sea view rooms. Its also almost impossible to upgrade as other reviewers have made the same comment so everyone who can goes for full seaview. Three problems with our partial view room; it basically had a great view of the car park but only a very limited view of the sea, it faced North so never got any sun and was quite noisy (esp Sat night). We only ate in the breakfast buffet and the pool bar where the food was just OK. We would go back but not to that type of room.

Room Tip: See above...dont go for partial view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for mentioning that you felt the hotel had good facilities, a great location and that you found the staff to be friendly.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards. We are very sadden to read that the service provided by our team in certain areas did not meet with your expectations of our hotel. We thank you for raising these issues and providing us with this valuable feedback. Most certainly we will be looking into these issues within our operations and seeking ways to further improve our service quality.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent in every respect.
my first ever 5 star award.
would like to thank harry and anabelle 2 animation staff, both of whom were brilliant.
Room 355 was brill, wonderful sea view and sunset.
food from both breakfast and dinner both excellent in both variety and quality.
italian restauraunt memorable.
in particular liked the idea of allocated sun beds, locations to suit every taste.
public spaces and bars very welcoming and comfortable.
wished we were there longer, and will certainly return and recommend to our friends.

only negative is the number of closed and derelict premises in paphos, although you do not notice this if you stick to the seafront paths and harbour area.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, customer service, food, sun bed allocation and especially the Kanika Allstars.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful hotel for a wedding with a great location and excellent food. We were just sad that they had nowhere the wedding dress could be hung up except in the limited wardrobe space which was not high enough to accommodate it. While they are planning to have a room for wedding dresses possibly they could just put some coat hooks high up on a wall and provide covers for wedding dresses.

Room Tip: a sea view room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

We are glad to see that your wedding day was memorable.

Your constructive comment will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.

Wishing you once more congratulations and all the best for your new start together as husband and wife.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this fabulous hotel in Paphos, it was our first trip to Cyprus and this hotel but we will almost certainly return, we just couldn't fault the hotel, right from the minute you walk in you feel relaxed and the service is brilliant, our suitcases were whisked away to our room and we were given a welcome drink while we checked in, this set the theme for the whole of our stay, all the staff are so friendly and helpful and the level of service takes some beating. Our room was on the top floor and we had a lovely sea view, the bed was huge and soooo comfortable unlike most hotel beds which even in expensive hotels are usually too hard. fab bathroom with the novelty of a window into the bedroom which meant you could see the lovely view from the shower...different! But don't worry there is a privacy blind in the window if you need it. The food was fabulous, especially the Italian restaurant with loads of choice, entertainment provided every night was of a good standard and we enjoyed it, sun bed allocation means you can roll up whenever you feel like it and know you still have your beds waiting, no problem to change if you decide you don't like your first choice, I think if you want beds right by the pool you have to ask the man who allocates the beds to let you know when some become available as people leave, however we ended up with some overlooking the sea and were very happy there and still only a stone's throw from the pool. The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the harbour area which we did most days just for a coffee and some people watching, there are some nice restaurants in this area for drinks or coffee etc. all in all we loved Paphos and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view it's definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Thank you for your views about the hotel, the location, the food- we will pass on your comments to the Chefs of all our kitchens especially the Garibaldi Italian Restaurant Chefs that you have kindly mentioned. Also thank you for mentioning the new windows in the bathroom that now allow lots of light to flood into the bathroom and also the privacy blind.

It always gives me great pleasure to read about the fantastic team of staff I have here at the hotel. I will be personally showing your review to all of the staff.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There is little to say to this really other than the hotel was fantastic and the staff were absolutely excellent I wouldn't hesitate to return to the hotel nor recommend it.
I have to mention Philippa, the hospitality manager, was particularly helpful and friendly, nothing was to much trouble. she went above and beyond.
Every aspect of the hotel during our stay was amazing from the porter staff and cleaning right the way through.
I could go on and on but think ill just be repeating myself.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

We are very proud of all of the team of staff we have at the hotel and they will all see your review and especially Philippa the Guest Relations Manager.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at the Alexander and couldn't fault it. We just had a standard room as it was a last minute getaway for us but the room was spacious with very comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom, we miss the rainfall shower. The quality and choice of food was so good we ate in the hotel each night which is something we never normally do! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the entertainment team work very hard to provide a varied show each night. Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean including the indoor pool and spa. The location of the hotel is no more than a 10 minute walk away from Paphos harbour and for those who, like us enjoy a longer walk, there is a fabulous coastal path from the hotel in the opposite direction. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Paphos.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, food, location and cleanliness of the hotel.

I will personally pass on your comments to the staff and the Kanika Allstars Warren, Beth, Harry, Amanda and Katherine who will be delighted to have been mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#5 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.