We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just returned from staying at the Alexander for a week which included our wedding as well and i cannot fault the hotel or it's staff on anything it truly was a memorable experience and we shall be returning in the not too distant future. Many thanks to everybody at the hotel for making our day so special and our week stay extremely enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you can choose a sea view room it is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    146
    21
    13
    1
See reviews for
275
542
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a second visit here and the hotel is just as excellent.

Although the location is great, the building modern but personal and the food excellent, it is the staff that make this hotel stand out above the others. They are all genuinely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel valued and consequently, provide outstanding service.

This really is the hotel to visit in Pathos and it seems that most people already know this since it is nearly always full. Even so, there is still room to circulate and no long waiting at any stage.

Overall, a truely relaxing stay in a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays for a second time. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, customer service, location and excellent food.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is lovely. A perfect location and view, excellent food in the buffet and the Italian restaurant, clean rooms which and appear newly decorated but it is definitely the staff and the impeccable service you get (whatever your age and where ever you are - pool side, bar spa or restaurant ) that makes this hotel special. I stayed with my mum (70) and my daughter (12) and we had a fabulous time. Just about to book for next year !

Room Tip: The sea view is beautiful and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for mentioning the excellent location, the good food, comfortable rooms, high standards of cleanliness and most importantly our greatest asset the team of staff we have. We are very proud of each and every one of them and their commitment to provide the very best in customer service.

The whole team and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very well looked after in all aspects. The rooms were nicely furnished with everything you need, including plentiful supply of tea and coffee. We had a lovely little balcony looking out to sea - only points I would make is that until air con comes on in May, the rooms can be pretty warm ( we were provided with a fan) and the twin beds were fairly small.
Excellent breakfast, staff everywhere very attentive and quick. Wi-fi throughout hotel and pools, good range of TV channels.
Entertainment in the bar at night could be heard throughout the lounge so no place for a bit of quiet. A range of pools and a heated indoor one. Sun lounges had to be booked which prevented any squabbles, although they were very close together and there is a public walkway in the middle of them.
The hotel is very well situated just 10 minutes walk along the front to the town and harbour where there are numerous (fish) restaurants.
A good week, despite an earthquake of 5.5 on penultimate day !

Room Tip: Sea view second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your good comments that you were well looked after during your stay and that the rooms were furnished to your liking, that you liked the complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room and the sun bed allocation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, with warm regards from all of us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel is very good. There was an excellent variety of food for breakfast and dinner. There were welcome extras such as three apples on arrival, tea and coffee facilities, free water and wine with our evening meal. The sunbed allocation works very well and if you choose an unsuitable position it can always be changed. Free beach towels are very welcome. The management and staff are very professional, helpful and friendly. The orthodox Easter celebrations exceeded our expectations due to the actions of the management and staff going the 'extra mile' by escorting us to the church on two visits and joining in with us. We were each given a free candle and each room was given an Easter present.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view and a view of the harbour is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations and that you joined us for our Easter celebrations.

We are glad that you found the sunbed allocation system to your liking and most importantly that you found the staff to be our greatest asset.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived and were presented with a welcome drink from the warm and friendly staff, (whilst our cases were taken to our room), we new that the excellent reviews from all who have stayed at the ATG hotel were well founded.
Our room was well positioned facing the sea and harbour, spotlessly clean with a large comfortable bed and had an excellent wifi signal. We did have an issue with the safe so I called reception and could not believe that, in less than a minute, a maintenance man was there to fix it - tremendous service.
The food in the buffet style restaurant is excellent quality which was based on cuisine from a different area of the world each night, so there was always a good choice. Although the food was great, it was the restaurant staff that made the overall experience so much more. They were very courteous, friendly, always smiling and nothing was to much trouble and even though they were very busy, they made it look effortless.
The hotel is ideally situated within a 5 minute or so stroll to the harbour area, along the paved, well lit coastal path. This is were the bars and restaurants are, but as the drinks and cocktails etc in the hotel are excellent and comparable in price, so we preferred to relax in the hotel bar/ lounge area on an evening and yet again, the bar staff and service was perfect.
We will definitely return to the Alexander The Great Hotel, in so joining many other holidaymakers who return time and again.

Room Tip: Room 105 has an excellent view of the sea and harbour, but the best part of this is the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Thank you also for mentioning the location of the hotel and the great service provided by the staff.

The restaurant, maintenance and bar staff will be pleased when they see they have been mentioned.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel, immaculately clean. Lovely sea views, very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed for a week and found the hotel to be very comfortable. Our only negatives were that the air con is not available in the bedrooms during April and our first room was above the bar so very noisy with a 2 year old, the reception moved us to a much quieter room the next morning and arranged for a porter to assist us with the move. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Third floor room was much quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.