We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Paphos
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our forth stay at this wonderful hotel. We were hooked from our first visit and we are never disappointed. The location of the hotel makes it a perfect choice and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is clean and well maintained.
The buffet breakfast and evening themed meals are excellent as are the bars. We loved sitting outside at the Infinity bar enjoying a drink, the beautiful weather and the view. The staff working in all areas run a seamless and professional service.
We will definitely be back again in 2015.

Room Tip: We have stayed in sea view room and those with views of the mountains. We are prefer the sea view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    125
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
248
462
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our first visit to this hotel in October and will not be the last. We have stayed at another hotel over the last seven years in Paphos but this year we changed to Alexander following reviews we had read. We were not disappointed, the arrival greeting by reception was the start of a wonderful two weeks. All staff (including cleaners of our room) acknowledged you I.e a smile or greeting, nothing was too much trouble. Other reviews detail venue advantages so would only duplicate. We have seen changes over the years we have been going to Cyprus but this is the best change for us we have done. Looking forward to our next holiday.

Room Tip: We asked for and was allocated sea view room on third floor- outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What is there not to like about the Alexander the Great in Paphos. The location is perfect especially now that you can walk into the harbour area in about 10 minutes along the promenade. The hotel is right on the public beach. The beach itself is small but sea swimming is excellent thanks to the breakwaters.
The weather in early to mid November was pleasant with day time temperatures gently falling from 26 degrees to 23 degrees while we were there. Days are short with sunset at about 16.45 but sunrise is early at soon after 6.00.
The hotel grounds are spacious and your sun beds are allocated at the start of your stay so no need to get up early and place your towel in order to claim your spot. Breakfast is served in the Café Royale, and even on our final day we were able to eat at one of the outside tables. Dinner is served in Roxanne`s at a very extensive buffet. Both breakfast and dinner were of good quality and the theme nights outstanding.
As an alternative we had several meals of high quality in the specialist restaurant, Garibaldi`s. The service was always good and never pressured. All the hotel staff were helpful with special mention to be made of Emma and Paula but there were many more whose names we did not always know.
The manager Andreas was highly visible, a positive sign in our opinion, often eating in Roxanne`s himself.
We had a standard room which was comfortable and had been redecorated tastefully fairly recently. There was a small balcony which was adequate to our needs. A large TV provided access to the main four terrestrial channels we have at home. Free Wi-Fi was available in the room.
So, is the hotel perfect? Well no, of course not. Is there any such thing? The two main negatives concern the pool and the fitness areas.
The indoor pool is a decent size and will be heated through the winter. It is not large enough for a serious swim however but this would not matter given the large outdoor pool if only that were heated as well. By the time we came home less than half a dozen people a day were venturing into the outdoor pool which is about to become a white elephant for four or five months. What a waste.
We understand that heating the pool will be expensive although solar panels would help. Think what a unique selling proposition it would be for the hotel to be able to boast " the best heated pool in Cyprus" in its publicity.
The fitness areas including the gym and changing rooms are also a weakness. For example the air conditioning in the gym is hopelessly inadequate. There is much more that we could add if Andreas would like me to do so but he is probably aware of the issues.
However if you do not swim and do not use the gym none of this will matter. Even for us we still rate the hotel very good and we certainly expect to return.

Room Tip: Choice of room may largely depend on the time of year you travel. Generally speaking odd numbered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our 9th stay at Alexander the Great, as expected the friendliness, the service, the food the facilities and the entertainment were first class, we could not possible think of staying anywhere else in Paphos. So we have already booked again for next April.
It is difficult to add anything that I have not already said about this great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Always had a wish to stay here as it looked such a nice hotel and we were certainly not disappointed. Our sea view room faced towards Paphos harbour and was attractively furnished. The only downside was the extremely shallow wash basin. Excellent choice of TV channels with all the main British ones available. Everything was spotlessly clean. The public rooms were all very pleasant with a spacious lounge/atrium leading out onto a covered terrace. Large bar to one side where there was evening entertainment. Beautiful pool area with lots of Palm trees - the hotel allocates its guests with reserved sun beds (you can choose which ones) to keep for the duration of your stay. At this quieter time of year it wasn't really necessary as there were plenty available but it would be a Godsend at the height of the season. Buffet breakfast and also lunch were served in the poolside restaurant and dinner, also buffet style, was in the main restaurant on the same floor. The food was plentiful and there was a good choice - we were quite impressed with their efforts to keep things hot; this can be a problem in a mass catering situation. The restaurant had themed nights and there was always a carvery available. All the hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. One evening there was a small mixup with drinks from the bar but this was swiftly rectified without any fuss, even though it was probably our fault for not being clear. Staff do their best to make the guests feel at ease. We had an excellent time and would certainly stay here again in future.

Room Tip: I think sea facing rooms could get some noise from the bar entertainment especially in the high seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to this hotel and we would like to return again. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. There were 4 restaurants to choose from and the food was excellent. We liked the outdoor pools which were very modern and the evening entertainment was great.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Always wanted to stay at this hotel and finally got the chance. What can I say, arrived after 11pm a drink was waiting for us as we checked in and our suitcases taken to our room. We stayed in a room overlooking the road but didn't mind we has views of mountains, the room itself was very comfortable, well equipped bathroom. The food was fantastic. Also staff from the general manager to the cleaners very happy to help and always smiling.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for mentioning that the food was fantastic and that our rooms are very comfortable and well equipped and most importantly that you found the staff to be helpful and always smiling.

The whole team and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.