We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Paphos
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Alexander the Great helped make our wedding day absolutely amazing! We stayed here for 2 weeks with family and friends and we had a brilliant stay which was even better than we could have imagined! The hotel has been finished to an excellent standard, staff are friendly and the location is great.

We stayed in a sea view room which was of a great size, and the views out to sea from the room were beautiful, even from the bathroom you can see out to sea! The pools are stunning and the sun-bed allocation is a great idea, no rushing down at 7am each morning to grab a sun-bed! The only negative about the pool is they had a strict no games policy so the kids couldn't play bat and ball etc. which was a bit annoying.

We stayed full board plus which was great - the food selection was amazing, we have eaten at many buffet style restaurants and in terms of choice and quality this really is up there. Make sure you try out all of the restaurants, they are worth it.

Location - i have heard some people comment on the road noise, we had a sea view room so this didn't affect us at all so i would highly recommend staying this side of the hotel. You can take a nice leisurely walk down to the harbour using the pathway that runs along the back of all the hotels and only took around 10 minutes.

There are also water sports available at the back of the hotel which are reasonably priced, definitely worth a try if you fancy something a bit different.

Special thanks to Eva our wedding co-ordinator who was a dream, resulting in a completely stress-free build up to the day and on the big day itself. Also the food and beverage manager - such a great down to earth guy :)

Room Tip: Room facing the sea, away from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the food selection, the location, the sun bed allocation system, Eva our wedding coordinator and Argyris Food and Beverage Manager are much appreciated by all of us here.

We are glad to see that your wedding day was memorable and that we have managed to make your day perfect. Your comments have already been shared with all the team members concerned and will motivate them even more to keep up the excellent work.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday and wedding expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your future wedding anniversaries.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    110
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
227
401
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Alexander the Great and cannot fault anything.
we had a land facing room which was equipped with everything you need. Tv had all man 5 british channels as well as bbc world news. Rooms were cleaned every day and restocked with tea and coffee, clean towels (hand, bath and beach). Chocolates were left on pillows every night.
Breakfast was lovely with every food anyone could want fof breakfast.
the swimming pools were warm and clean and with sunbeds allocated to each room there was no rush down to the pool to claim a bed.
paphos harbour was a short stroll away and full of shops, restaurants and icecream shops. A mall a short taxi ride away had all the usual shops m and s etc.
we got married at the hotel. The venue was beautiful and staff went over board to make sure it was perfect, especially our waiter Neo, who made sure everyone had enough food, drink and were enjoying them selves.
I would not hesitate yo recommend this hotel it was everything we wanted and much more

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the International TV channels available on your remote control in addition to the Smart Tv, the cleanliness of your room and the replenishing of the complimentary tea and coffee and also the turn down service at night with the chocolate.

Thank you for also mentioning the extensive buffet breakfast, the swimming pools and the location.

Most importantly I am delighted to read that your wedding was everything you had dreamed of and that you impressed with the exclusive wedding venue Unity Terrace and all of our staff and in particular Neofytos the banqueting Head waiter looked after you to ensure you had the perfect wedding.


It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday and wedding expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your future wedding anniversaries.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Alexander the Great hotel from the 4th of July until today, the hotel was really outstanding. All of the Staff were friendly and were willing to help us with anything, Loved the fact that this hotel had sunbed allocations as it makes it easy in the morning not having to fight for one plus all of the sunbeds have amazing views of the sea. We stayed half board plus which is breakfast & tea with a bottle of water and any drink each but if your thinking of eating out one night then you can change your evening meal to lunch. Every day there is a great choice of meals that would suit everyone with the main restaurant offering a different theme every night. The location of the hotel is perfect you can see & are within 5 mins away from the harbour , the beach is on the doorstep and local shops and restaurants near the hotel front. The hotel was very clean , the maids clean the room twice everyday ... Loved the maid called Larissa everyday she would smile stop and chat & have a good giggle : ) ... Stevewilly_12 I strongly disagree with your comment in regards to the entertainment not only in the day there was a fantastic range of activities for all ages ... But comparing the entertainment in the evening to butlins makes me question whether you were watching the same as everyone else?!? as every night there was fantastic entertainment with a range for everyone! All of the kanika entertainment staff were awesome and made you feel like you were not just another guest & there acting/singing was 5* not only would I come back again but I would definitely recommend it to anyone... If you have booked you will not be disappointed ! Thank you to Beth,amy,Emily,warren,Steve, Larissa and Dennis ( waiter) for always having a giggle , getting us involved & making our holiday amazing see you next year same time ! Nicole & Pete x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, the sun bed allocation system, the Half Board Plus where you can have a small local beer or a glass of wine or a soft drink and a bottle of water between two, the location of the hotel and the cleanliness of the hotel.

I will personally pass on your comments to Larissa, Denis and the Kanika Allstars Warren, Beth, Steven, Emily and Aimee who will be delighted to have been mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This really is the most amazing holiday hotel from the moment you arrive the front desk staff where attentive and flexible to our requirements the first morning we went to the sunbed allocation and was immediately greeted with a positive smile and assisted in arranging beds by the pool as we had our elder children and baby with us the pool area is fantastic and the swim up bar a joy.We had 2 seaview rooms on the 2nd floor which had amazing views and where serviced twice a day to the highest level. We tried all the restaurants within the hotel and everyone we came into contact with where smiling attentive and professional no matter what time of the day congratulations to everyone in food and beverage the service and food where of the highest quality. The General Manager is constantly meeting guests and ensururing you are enjoying your stay .
Thank you to the whole team at The Alexander The Great we will definitely return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our front desk staff, the sun bed attendants and the food and beverage department where you found all the restaurant staff to be smiling, attentive and professional at all times.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, with warm regards from all of us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We're regular travellers to Cyprus but this was the first time we'd been to this hotel. We'd booked a garden room for my wife's birthday treat but unfortunately the room wasn't available upon check in due to an unfortunate accident involving the previous occupant. That's when we met Philippa the Guest Relations Officer who went out of her way to sort things out for us.

We received special attention thereafter.

The food is very good, the rooms are comfortable. My only problem was the after dinner entertainment which was very poor. It very much reminded me of a training ground for Butlins/ Pontins staff.

We didn't use the entertainment facilities in the daytime so I can't comment on those but if you need to stay in the hotel in the evening and are expecting good entertainment, be prepared.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our food and the room.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

I will be showing your review to Philippa our Guest Relations Manager who be delighted to see that she has been mentioned.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity and the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We returned from a 2 weeks stay at this hotel where we invited 48 guests to join us on our wedding day! The hotel is beautiful & we found all the staff very helpful and kind. We especially found the wedding co-ordinators Eva & Leanne fantastic...simply nothing was too much to ask of them both.

The rooms were very modern, clean and comfortable and the hardworking maids changed the beds & cleaned every single day we were there. Beds were turned down every night & a chocolate left on our pillow.

The food in the main restaurant was gorgeous..a good selection and a very varied theme.. With a vegetarian, a 3 year old & huge meat eater to satisfy they done a superb job! Only downside was you can't take children into the Italian restaurant which was a bit of a shame.

The pool areas are all very clean & tidy & manned all day. The snubbed allocation system is a brilliant way of avoiding the early morning towel run..again a huge plus!

We would recommend this hotel very highly to anyone wanting a hotel that stands out from the rest but most of all anyone wanting the most amazing intimate wedding venue in pathos!

We look forward to returning for an anniversary in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality for your wedding and holiday.

Your views about the hotel, that the rooms were modern, clean and comfortable and the you liked the evening turn down service. Also that the food, had good selections, was varied and that you were catered for are most appreciated.

Eva our wedding coordinator and all of the team of staff here will be delighted when they see your review.

We are glad to see that your wedding day was memorable and that we have managed to make your day perfect.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday and wedding expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from this hotel after 1 weeks holiday . Upon eating lunch the first day there was a long black hair in my food. " gross" After arriving in my SIDE SEA VIEW room which I paid extra for I had the pleasure of looking on to a ground floor car park the only water to be viewed was a puddle on the ground under the window. Reception staff were very ignorant never lifted there heads once to talk. My 11 year old daughter was not allowed in the Italian restaurant again was included in the price I paid but couldn't use. All in all I'm so annoyed I paid £1240 for one week I should have just stayed at home. My advise to others thinking off going would be DONT.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards. We are very sadden to read that the service provided by our team in certain areas did not meet with your expectations of our hotel. We thank you for raising these issues and providing us with this valuable feedback. Most certainly we will be looking into these issues within our operations and seeking ways to further improve our service quality.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.