We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel minutes from Paphos Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Dumfries
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Superb hotel minutes from Paphos Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a superb hotel just minutes walk from the harbour area. We arrived at the hotel in mid afternoon and after completion of our registration form we quickly moved into our seaview room on the third floor. Our room was quite spacious and well furnished throughout with ample storage and hanging space for our needs. Upon opening the curtains we where blown away with the full seaview that met us. The balcony had the usual table and two chairs which became a pleasant spot for a relaxing break in the afternoon. We also had the sun all day onto our balcony.
There was a 32" Samsung Smart TV in the room which had several English TV channels available in the menu: BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Chanel 4, Channel 5 and BBC World News. The sound from the tv could also be relayed into the ensuite if required.
The ensuite had both a rainfall and head height shower over the bath and a non slip bath mat can be obtained from either reception or housekeeping if needed. There is also a blue nightlight in the ensuite. A clear glass panel from the bathroom overlooks the bedroom however an electric blind maintains privacy. A range of quality toiletries is also available and replenished regularly.
Our bedroom also had both UK and EU electrical sockets. There is also a mini bar with expected price list, complimentary in-room safe. There is also a turn-down service each evening when any used towels are also changed and chocolates left on your pillow which we always find to be a nice touch. Complimentary WIFI is available throughout the hotel and access details provided to us at check-in.
We received an invitation to the weekly Management Cocktail Party for new guest arrivals which gave us the opportunity to meet and chat to the hotel General Manager and his team.
There is a choice of restaurants available;
Roxanes-open for dinner between 18.30 and 21.30. Although self service it doesn`t feel like it with Quentin and the team being extremely helpful and attentive. A good selection of dishes available which would suit all tastes and several theme nights are experienced each week.
The Speciality restaurants include:
Garibaldi Italian Restaurant, Kiku Japanese Restaurant and the Limanaki restaurant which serves traditional Greek food. Not all the restaurants were open during our stay although the Garibaldi was extremely popular with guests saying how good it was.
All guests on either HB+ or FB basis are allowed to visit each of the speciality restaurants once during each week of the stay at no extra charge.
Breakfast and Lunch are taken in the Café Royale with breakfast available between 7am-10.30am with both inside or outside seating. It did get quite busy around 9am each morning although never felt under any pressure to rush breakfast with plenty of tables available. A good selection of both hot and cold dishes available.
The hotel operates a very good sunbed allocation system whereby the beds and umbrellas are allocated at the start of your holiday by the Pool Attendant with your room number attached to the umbrella. Striped towels are placed in your room for use at both the pool and the beach and replaced daily.
We noticed that there was a Little Monsters Kids Club in the hotel which offers supervised activities for young children. Both daytime and evening activities are organised by the Kanika All Stars who always appeared enthusiastic. Evening entertainment was centred around the Limanaki Tavern although piano music was sometimes played in the Roxanes restaurant during dinner. The Alexander Bar is close to reception and very popular.
The Pool Bar is open throughout the day and we enjoyed the light snacks and drinks on several occasions.
Paphos harbour is just a10 minute leisurely stroll along the promenade with the Alexander the Great Hotel being one of the closest to the Harbour area.
The hotel also appears popular as a wedding venue with at least one taking place during our holiday.
The Alexander the Great has undergone a complete renovation in the last couple of years and we were extremely pleased with the high standards achieved by the General Manager and his team. Many guests are repeat visitors which speaks volumes.
My wife and I look forward to returning to the hotel for another wonderfully relaxing holiday, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room on the third floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your good comments regarding the location of the hotel, the spacious well furnished rooms with ample storage and hanging space, the 32 inch smart TV in all the rooms, the bathroom with two shower heads, the rainfall and the head height.

Thank you for also mentioning that non slip bath mats can be requested on arrival at the reception desk, that there is free WiFi throughout the hotel, the specialty restaurants Kiku the Japanese, Garibaldi the Italian, and Limanaki the Cypriot tavern where guests can eat once a week, the sun bed allocation system, the Little Monsters Kids Club and the Kanika Allstars entertainment team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, with warm regards from all of us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    125
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
251
471
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel the week before Easter as I wanted to be there to celebrate my 50th birthday. This was our 10th visit in as many years and were were certainly not disappointed. The staff are amazing especially the bar staff, namely Mihaela, Alina, Siisike and Alina. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they really did make our stay very special. Philippa from Guest Relations was wonderful, she really did go out of her way to ensure that my birthday celebrations went well.I can't believe how much trouble she went to when my friends contacted her to arrange for flowers and a beautiful cake to be delivered to my room on my birthday. It really was appreciated. My husband even went to the trouble of arranging for our breakfast table to be decorated with balloons and champagne.

The hotel just seems to get better each time we go. The rooms are lovely and spacious and are spotlessly clean. The entertainment is good too although we only ever caught the end as we went out to eat of an evening. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice and was was always hot. We've never eaten in the other restaurants but have heard other guests saying how good the food is. I have never stayed anywhere else that has a sunbed allocation system like the Alex, it really does take the stress out of finding a sunbed each day.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday. We are already booked in for September and can't wait to go back. Thanks once again to all the staff for making my 50th birthday very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality for the tenth time and for your 50th Birthday celebration.

Your views about the hotel, the breakfast buffet at the Cafe Royal restaurant having plenty of choice, the good entertainment and the sun bed allocation are greatly appreciated. Also thank you for mentioning by name Philippa our Guest Relations Manager and the bar staff Michaela, Alina, Siisike and Alina. They will all be delighted that they are on the review and I will make sure that they all see it.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a brilliant holiday hotel, with very high levels of customer service in every department.
The hotel is modern,imaculately clean, well located and the rooms are well appointed.
Executive chef Pambos Charalambous and his team produce excellent food, with a wide ranging choice to cater for everyone. There are several seperate restaurants each offering a different theme.
We had a fantastic stay and will definately be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Thank you for mentioning that the hotel is modern, clean, well located and the rooms well appointed. Most importantly I am pleased to read that you found very high levels of customer service in all departments. Our Executive Chef Pambos and his team will be delighted when they see your review.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in the week prior to Easter. The room and general facilities were very good, with a great choice of meals from a couple of on-site restaurants. Breakfast was a delicious buffet affair, busy, but never overcrowded. Best of all was the friendly staff. Always smiling, greeting you whenever you encountered them. From the barstaff to the rececption, the cleaners to the waiters and the entertainers. It made our stay that bit more special. And when we thanked the manager on one of his regular walks about, he seemed genuinely pleased. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a special stay. Buy the way, the location (on the beach, a short stroll from the harbour) is not bad either.

Room Tip: our room was a seaview with balcony. There are only 3 floors and we were on 2nd
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

We are delighted you liked the location of the hotel, only a short walk away from Paphos harbour, the room and the restaurants. Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned, as will all the staff from the bar, reception, cleaners and waiters.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The upgrade to the fabric is good and the staff are attentive and good if not rushed. However, the area to sunbath and relax around the pool is very crowded and the sunbeds are not much to shout about. The room suffered from a toilet waste leak and the smell was rough - moved by staff but I felt sorry for the next room occupiers as the room was only vacant for 2 days for repairs - the smell was still there. Will not be going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards. We are very sadden to read that the service provided by our team in certain areas did not meet with your expectations of our hotel. We thank you for raising these issues and providing us with this valuable feedback. Most certainly we will be looking into these issues within our operations and seeking ways to further improve our service quality.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed from 12/4/14 to 19/4/14 for my son's wedding. He had stayed there last year to check it out as a venue. The hotel is quite simply brilliant the restaurants are very good as you would expect but the buffet restaurant does not feel like one, and is a pleasure to eat in. The wedding day was wonderful and the staff and service impeccable . Thank you for making my son and his new wife's dreams come true a magical time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality for your son's wedding.

We are glad to see that his and his new wife's wedding day was memorable and that we have managed to make their day perfect. Your comments have already been shared with all the team members concerned and will motivate them even more to keep up the excellent work.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There is much already said about this terrific hotel, so we wanted to focus on the Cabana rooms for our review.

Highs

Spacious room
Personally controlled Air Con
Large king sized bed, not two singles
Pool towels in room and frequently changed
Fairly private sunbathing and personal space around plunge pool
Little blue light over toilet (no dark visits during the night)
Mini bar/fridge, restocked daily and not crazy prices.
Large powerful shower
Plenty of UK TV channels

Lows

The pool cleaning system stays on all night..this is very noisy when sleeping, make sure you take ear plugs. (Also reported to hotel)
In late April, the exterior pools were all unheated and felt like they would freeze a penguin!! Don't waste your money on them until the height of summer, the non-pool versions were so close to the Adult pool you can jump in to cool down with no effort.
The image on the hotel website is very misleading, so please check out the real pics on ours and others reviews.

Overall we would highly recommend the hotel and would stay again on a future visit to Paphos.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for mentioning the that you found the room to be spacious, the large King size bed, that we provide complimentary pool towels in all of our rooms, the Smart TV with a wide variety of TV channels, the mini bar, the powerful shower and the personal space around the plunge pool.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.