We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
south shields
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a week stay here, got married here on Thursday. we couldn't have asked for more, the whole wedding day was perfect everything was very well organised. A special thank you to Eva for organizing the banqueting. We had a 3 course meal directly after the ceremony and canapes for the evening. Both where delicious. Also a special thank you to Kristie our Thomson wedding coordinator. The hotel is immaculate, pool area gorgeous. We had a sea view room which was definitely worth the extra money. we ate in the Italian restaurant one night and the food was gorgeous. The harbour is a lovely stroll from the hotel about 15 minutes. Paphos is a lovely place and we would definitely return to this hotel in the future. Thanks for an amazing wedding and holiday!

Room Tip: sea view room definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the three course wedding menu,the immaculate hotel, the gorgeous pool area and Eva our wedding coordinator are much appreciated by all of us here.

We are glad to see that your wedding day was memorable and that we have managed to make your day perfect. Your comments have already been shared with the team members concerned and will motivate them even more to keep up the excellent work.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday and wedding expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your future wedding anniversaries.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    150
    21
    13
    1
See reviews for
278
552
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've just spent an almost-perfect week at the Alexander the Great Hotel. The service is exceptional and all the staff we spoke to efficient, courteous and, at the risk of sounding patronising, absolutely charming. The waiters and chefs, who went out of their way to accommodate my mother's slightly problematic eating requests are worth a special mention – it really was service with a genuine smile. The only points that detracted from a perfect score are the buffet, which was a little samey, despite the various international evenings, and the fact that there were no flannels or bath robes in the rooms. However, these are minor, minor niggles. I am sure they would have been provided had I thought to ask for them. And in any case, the three a la carte restaurants – Japanese, Italian and Greek – were exceptional.

Room Tip: Do try to book a sea-view room. The views are so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Thank you for your comments about our Chefs and waiters that assisted your mother with her dietary requirements and I am pleased to hear that you found all of our staff to be efficient and courteous.

We do supply bathrobes to the Superior Sea View Rooms, the Cabanas with gardens, the Cabanas with pools and the two bed roomed Suite.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is an excellent hotel but unless the refurbishment included a move uphill away from the sea it is not on Makarios Avenue as the interactive map would have it. Tripadvisor placements of hotels and restaurants need checking carefully. I'm looking forward to returning to the Alex in December.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for pointing out the error of the hotel location and I am sure Trip advisor will correct this at their first opportunity. We shall also let them know by written correspondence.

Once again thank you for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this wonderful hotel. We got married here on the 4th October. Our wedding day was absolutely brilliant. We had the ceremony on the new Unity Terrace, followed by a barbeque for our guests. Everyone who attended our wedding were very impressed with the hotel and the setting of the wedding.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here, they are always friendly. A special mention must got to - Eva the wedding coordinator, for all her help and kindness in making our day run so smoothly. We feel she is a true friend now. The staff who attended to us at the buffet, always on hand, but discreet. Phillipa the Guest relations manager who was so lovely and helpful. Alina who works in the Alexander Bar was a favourite with my 2 year old son.

If you are thinking of having your wedding in Cyprus, we can highly recommend the Alexander the Great. You will have a truly amazing day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the food BBQ wedding menu, the event waiting staff, Alina in the bar, Eva our wedding coordinator and Philippa our Guest Relations Manager are much appreciated by all of us here.

We are glad to see that your wedding day was memorable and that we have managed to make your day perfect. Your comments have already been shared with all the team members concerned and will motivate them even more to keep up the excellent work.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday and wedding expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your future wedding anniversaries.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay in Paphos and although we didn't stay at the Alexander (we stayed in The Avanti ten minutes down the road) we visited the Alexander for my brother in laws wedding and I must say it was amazing! The difference between the hotels was unreal. Granted, the Alexander is a 5 star and recently refurbished but the atmosphere and quality of staff and food were of much higher standard. The drinks at the bar were of great selection and bar staff are friendly.

I did have a nosey at one of the rooms and it was lovely. So clean and fresh.

The pools looked amazing too and the ceremony was lovely with the scenery in the background. The hotel staff were brilliant and Katie the wedding planner was so friendly. We had the BBQ food for dinner and the quality was the best. If I was ever to return to Paphos I would stay at this hotel.

There is also a bar directly opposite the hotel called Gemens Cafe Bar and I would highly recommend it. Bar street is a little run down and Gemens is a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your expectations. Please pass on our congratulations to your brother in law and his new wife once again. We are delighted that even though you didn't stay with us you reviewed our hotel.

Our bar staff and all of the hotel team will be pleased that they have been mentioned. Also that you found the service and atmosphere of the hotel to be of a high standard.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here in October with our two ten year olds and had a wonderful time.

The excellent kids club staff Tasha and Stacey kept our boys entertained and always smiling.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, especially Phillipa and Emma.

The entertainment team were fantastic with lots of activities planned throughout the day.

Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the excellent kids club 'Little Monsters', our Guest Relations Manager Philippa, Emma our Head restaurant Hostess and the Kanika All Stars entertainment team are much appreciated by all of us here.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and I am delighted to hear that you are already planning a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Alexander. The refurb is out of this world, all that was promised and more, fabulous. The hotel staff were again excellent, nothing was to much trouble. Special thanks to the two maids assigned to our room, Varvara, our day maid, she was so helpful and friendly and 'went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable and everything we needed, also Roxane, our evening maid, who was also very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her either. Big thanks also to the reception staff, especially Samia, ultra efficient and 'sorted us' out a few times all completed with big friendly smiles, and not forgetting Phillipa, who seemed to be the font of all knowledge, brilliant, as were all the staff. Our room overlooking the harbour and ocean was fantastic. Food was again of very high quality and the Italian restaurant exceptional (we dined there twice!) Outside pool areas of the hotel are beautiful - made for a lovely relaxing stay. We are now in the process of planning our third trip to the Alexander. Ros & Mike W.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are quieter, no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, food, the Garibaldi Italian restaurant in particular and cleanliness of the hotel. I am also glad that the refurbishments also met with your approval and that you particularly enjoyed the new pool areas.

I will personally pass on your comments to all the staff, especially Varvara and Roxane who cleaned your room, Samia at reception and Philippa our Guest Relations Manager who will be delighted to have been mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your third visit to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#5 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.