We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alexander the great paphos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Paphos
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“alexander the great paphos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been to this hotel several times and the last visit has just ended it is in my opinion possibly the best hotel at affordable prices in paphos,The food was brilliant and the only problems I had with it was the Mexican night this was not because of the food it was my personal tastes,As for the staff they were lovely many thanks to Anka,Emma,Ida,raj,Christos,Katie,and Salomi in the food service area and also I would like to thank the animation team for their hard work in entertaining the guest's,the spa is great my wife and myself had an aroma therapy massage thank you Louisa and Rebecca,Yes there are faults with the hotel like the smart tv does not work very well due to the internet speed, And the pool water jets are very intermittent but I did not go on holiday to watch tv only to relax which was very easy to do at this hotel I would once again like to thank everyone who made my holiday so good and lastly thank kendel the holiday rep for Thompsons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and the constructive comments you have made. Also for highlighting and naming so many of the staff in our restaurants and also the Serenity Spa. I shall personally let them all know that they have been mentioned by name.

In closing we are delighted that you had an enjoyable relaxing holiday and hope that we shall have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    195
    28
    15
    2
See reviews for
334
660
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

While i was staying in Paphos it was my friends birthday and we wanted to have a spa day. Out of all the spas the spa at Alexander the great had the best value for money. We both had a full body scrub followed by a full body massage. The massage is one of the best massages i have ever had done. Both therapists were very professional and good at what they did (Rebecca and Louiza). The spa in itself was immaculate. Just overall we could not of asked for a better experience from walking in the door to leaving. I would highly recommend this spa to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. It is always rewarding to hear that our staff are looking after you.

I will personally show the review to Rebecca our spa manageress and Louiza, they will be delighted to see that they have been mentioned by name.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We're still here @ The Alexander The 'Fabulous' & I totally agree with the other customers, the Hotel is spotless,food great,lovely appointed bedrooms and the staff wonderful. The sunbed allocation is one of the best ideas we've seen for years the one unfortunate thing is there isn't as much shade provided as the other hotels give further down the beach front which is a must especially June,July etc...only on day 3 here and can't wait for the next 7 :-)

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I am delighted that you are reviewing the hotel whilst you are still staying with us and that you are finding everything to your liking.

Thank you for taking the time to do this during your holiday and I am pleased that you approve of our sunbed allocation system.

Continue enjoying your self and if you need any help with anything please let us know.

Once again thank you from all the staff at Alexander The Great beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel provides a lot of excellent and high quality services. It is also the host of many great restaurants/bars. It looks brand new and very eye-catching. The staff always has a smile on their faces and are very attentive to your needs. The prices are affordable for the excellent quality. The food and drinks are absolutely amazing, especially the cocktails. There's always entertainment around every corner. The rooms are very comfortable, complete with amazing views on the beach and Paphos itself. We were very happy with the trip and look forward to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were smiling and attentive to your needs.

In closing thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A lot of money has obviously been spent over the Winter making the Alexander the Great a lovely modern hotel.

We arrived Sunday afternoon, and were greeted with a cool fruit punch whilst we completed the formalities of check-in, which didn't take very long at all. A porter met us in our room with our luggage and showed us how everything worked. The room electrics operate by leaving a key card in a slot by the door, plus the air con does not function if the patio doors are open, a good energy saving touch. We had a room on the second floor above the reception, other than very loud vehicles/party buses we did not hear anything with the windows shut. The hotel operates a no towels to be hung on balcony policy, so we didn't miss having a balcony and sea view. I really don't think it would have added much to our holiday other than cost to have a sea facing room.

The food was of a very high standard in all the restaurants. The morning breakfast is extensive, I would however recommend sitting on the terrace not inside as it does get very hot inside. You would have to be very fussy to not find lots of things to eat. They have cereals, porridge, cooked breakfast items, omelettes cooked to order, toast, pastries, fruit, cheese, cold meat slices, fruit juices, coffee, teas, dried fruit etc... We were on half board so ate lunch at the pool bar, a good choice here of nice salads and sandwiches (hot and cold), plus cocktails and ice creams etc.... You could have paid for a lunch buffet in the restaurant where you had had breakfast, it we did not the it worth it. For dinner you get to eat at each of the speciality restaurants, the Italian, Japanese and Cypriot once per 7 days, leaving 4 nights in the supper buffet. This buffet was in the more formal dining room and again the food was of a very high standard. We were there for the Sunday Carvery, French night, Italian and Med nights, our least favourite was the Med night, but then I'm not that keen on fish. The puddings were amazing, hats off to the pastry chef! The Cypriot restaurant was great, you ate outside on the breakfast terrace, with a great tasting menu of local items. The Japanese again was great, sat outside where you could see the sunset over Paphos town. Garibaldis was the highlight of our stay, it's only flaw was the room was rather hot! The food was excellent, fine dining Italian, with the main courses revealed by the waiters simultaneously revealing the food under silver cloches. There really is something for everyone, and it's all a great quality.

When you arrive you need to go and speak to the pool attendant who will allocate you a pair of sun beds somewhere on the grounds. We were initially allocated some of the grass on top of the cliff with stunning views over the sea, however we asked to be moved to some slightly shadier by the pool. Nice not to have the big rush for places each morning. A towel each was provided to take from the room, only one is rather stingy, either bring some yourself or you can buy from the mini market over the road (which also sold all your essentials like sun cream, bottled water etc...). These get changed when your room is made up for the 2nd time in the evening.

I used the spa for a massage and facial, both great and lovely surroundings. There were loads of activities on offer if you want to get involved, plus a daily quiz to fill out and return at your leisure. No hassle to take part if all you want to do is sit by the pool and chill out. The pool itself is great, with a swim up bar. There's always some shade in the bubble section if you want/need that!

All in all a great holiday and we would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone, we intend to revisit in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you took the time to write such a detailed review.

The Chefs of all our restaurants will be happy to see that you have mentioned the food, especially Ioanna our head pastry chef.

Also the Serenity Spa staff will be pleased to see the massage and facial treatments met with your approval.

Once again thank you for reviewing the hotel and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I visited Alexander the Great Hotel in June 2013 for my birthday and to check out the wedding venue - we were not disappointed! The hotel has everything you could hope for: attentive service, excellent restaurants, wonderful and creative entertainment during the day and night, plus pictureques views from every sun lounger.
It is great for families as there are plenty of activities to keep the kids busy, so the parents can chill by the one of the two stunning pools or on the beach front.

We had an amazing time and will be returning next year for our wedding. We can't wait!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - it's worth the extra money. There is nothing like waking up to the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warm regards to you from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special occassion and for selecting us for your wedding for next year. We are truly delighted and can't wait to help you create the wedding of your dreams.

Your views of the hotel and services offered are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we all look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at our favourite hotel. Thanks to Leoni, George (bar manager), Pavlos, George the ( Sous Chef) ,Marios chef (full of fun), Katerina and Tatiana our maids (so perfect at.their work) .Phillipa is a brilliant guest relations lady. If I forgot anyone I apologise because u are all perfect.
Another memorable stay with lots of good friends. The hotel is fantastic , nothing to complain about at all. Already booked for next year and can't wait. SUPERB Thanks to all once again. Linda & Ron. X

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Linda and Ron,

Warm greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to heat that your return visit to us met your holiday expectations and that the staff once again added to your overall enjoyment. I am incredibly proud of all the team here at the hotel and their dedication to their jobs.

Leoni, George, Pavlos, George, Marios, Katerina,Tatiana and Philippa have all been shown your review and are over the moon that they have been mentioned.

In closing I would like to take this opportunity in thanking you for your loyalty to The Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and hope that we can continue to extend our hospitality to you for more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.8 mi away
The King Jason
The King Jason
#1 of 95 in Paphos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,940 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#21 of 95 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#25 of 95 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#7 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.