We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - but think twice about cabana upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 hotels in Paphos
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel - but think twice about cabana upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good stuff first - the hotel refurb is fantastic. Pool areas are excellent quality and you can watch other holiday makers walking past admiring and wishing they could get in! Hotel reception staff are always very helpful and friendly. Beautifully decorated and furnished to a high standard - feels quite opulent as you walk in. When we arrived we were offered a very refreshing welcome drink whilst we completed our paperwork. The Italian restaurant was brilliant once we managed to get it booked due to a very strange booking system. The lamb melted in our mouths. Bar staff excellent, room cleaning very good and maids were very friendly. Pool bar is great, although same music every day ( love a bit of ska but not on repeat lol). Pool bar food good value and very tasty. Great views from the terrace.

We booked and paid ((£862) for an upgrade to a garden cabana room which has a 'private' infinity pool. Rooms are just to the side of the hotel where it would seem that there was once some measure of privacy. We walked round to our room and were initially surprised that the photo I'd had as my phone wallpaper for the last 6 months, to keep me going til our first holiday in 5 years, did not look anything like the outlook we now had. See pics. We thought that perhaps the pic was from another room but after a couple of days it became apparent that no the outlook over the new adult only pool with resident bathers was it. We were room 047. and there are about 5 of the pool rooms. Outside our room was our beautiful infinity pool which is approx 12ft long then a 4ft path and then the faces of the pool bathers. Behind them is a simply stunning pool area, however, at no point did anyone tell us, not even at check in, that our room expectations were gone. The new pool is amazing but due to the water features it is very noisy, that kind of noisy that you suddenly notice when it gets turned off at 5pmish. We felt as if we had guests in our garden. I have thought hard before writing this negative bit as generally the hotel is lovely and we had a great time as we were there for a wedding and were probably lucky that we were out a lot so we didn't have long periods of time to get irritated whilst there. Other friends that stayed in 327 had the uninterrupted sea view and complete privacy on their balcony and only paid approx £340 for their upgrade.

We opted for the big upgrade as a first in our lifetime for our 20th wedding anniversary so we had privacy and a bit more of an intimate environment and we ended up (with no disrespect meant to our Paphos pals) with our mates having sun beds outside what we thought would be private.

This said the room is lovely, the pool great, bathroom is high standard although we found the fact that you had to stand on the toilet to see a full length view of yourself a little lacking as there is no full length mirror. We did mention this and were advised that had we said on the first day it would have been rectified whilst we were there, but that they wouldn't be able to get done until the day we left (29/5/13).

We reported our disappointment to our Thomson rep who was very understanding and was also shocked when shown my photo and then saw what we actually got. After speaking to the hotel reception staff and head office what came back was that when a hotel is under refurb the clause in the t&cs about cant guarantee pictures and descriptions comes into play. Mmmmmmm this was pretty massive a whole pool area was built!! A courtesy call or email to advise that all privacy gone and that when at the end of our pool we'd be looking at people 4ft away!!!! This was not what was sold.

The rep put a note thru our door just before we left to say that our £862 upgrade covered our 'private' infinity pool, our larger bathroom, a 42" TV (actually on a 32" in our room) and the more luxurious room. Our furniture was no different to our friends. So we paid £123 extra per day for that on top of the basic holiday cost of £223 per day. We could have stayed in an amazing villa for that and had total privacy.

Our romantic courtesy bottle of champagne (not nice) delivered to our room was a lovely touch for our anniversary but to be joined by a pair of 70somethings at the end of our pool did take the edge off it a bit.

We visited our friends room and it felt that the refurb had been more beneficial in the main hotel and these rooms were great with sea views that were beautiful. Gutted didn't save our money and book one of these instead.

We visited the Japanese restaurant which was the most disappointing eating experience at the hotel as there was no lighting other than 2 tea lights and by main course we had to use torch apps on our phones, along with the other diners we found it quite amusing, but really not nice to not be able to see what you're eating. We were there for 1 and 3/4 hours and only got to main course and gave up waiting for dessert menu.

Entertainment was a bit too holiday camp for our liking but a lot of guests seemed to enjoy The Jersey Boys being sung very badly by a couple of lads with deeper voices and no falsetto. Think the entertainment is a bit marmite.

Bar needs to stay open past 1230 as several times we came back in and would have liked a night cap and its a total no-no.

We have lived and learnt. We still had a great holiday as we were with good friends and would def recommend the Alex but would not pay the cabana upgrade again and would opt for a high superior sea view. Once the advertising is updated you'd never know what should have been but to be in the cross over was a big disappointment.

Sorry for the ramble do go and you will enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a superior sea view and ask for a higher floor or if you don't mind a lack of privacy book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly I thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are always open to constructive comments and observations as it helps us to progress forward.

I am delighted that you approve of the refurbishments and that all our staff her were helpful and friendly.

I will pass on your comments to our Italian restaurant , the Chef will be happy that you loved the melt in the mouth lamb.

It means a lot to our staff when they have been recognised for the work they do and I will make sure your comments are seen by them.

In closing I would again like to thank you for your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity in the not too distant future to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    595
    100
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
199
369
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I married here in june with a 2 night stay. I would highly recommend this hotel the service is top class, the cabana rooms very nice and comfortable, pool and hotel areas are great and the food wonderful.
I would also recommend marrying here the wedding menu food is just amazing, the wedding terrace a perfect setting with privacy for your party and lovely views. The service also brilliant.
The hotel are very accomodating and I highly recommend staying here.
Hope to return again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warmest regards to you both, I am so pleased you enjoyed not only a wonderful stay but also your wedding too.

I can't wait for you to come back and see us on your wedding anniversary too as it is a tradition in the hotel that you come and see us for at least one of your anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First time at this hotel still here in fact. Lovely hotel Staff very helpful especially Valentine the porter and Deet in the restaurants, Very accessible for anyone with disabilities. Would like to make 1 suggestion A lot of hotels now allocate tables for guests with mobility problems My partner uses mobility scooter and some tables not as easy to access as others.When first arriving to restaurant a member of staff could show you tables, then a wheelchair symbol could be placed on it with your name and room no. Would make life much easier for everyone , many hotels already do this successfully. Love reserving the sun beds for time of your stay, have traveled all over the world and this is a first! Well done to everyone for making this a first class hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warm regards from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

I will personally tell Valentine and Deet about your kind words.

I am also pleased to inform you that we will now inform all of our disabled guests that they can book their table with the restaurant manager for breakfast and in the main theme restaurant Roxanes for their entire stay.

Hope to see both back again with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thanks to all the staff at the Alexander for making our holiday yet again one to remember after last year's we thought it would be difficult to beat but fair play to you all you did it.
The refurbished hotel looks great and the food was brilliant we tried all the theme restaurants and all was suburb in every way well done.
Staff could not do enough to make sure the holiday was faultless.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Kindest regards from Alexander The Great Hotel.

Taking this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my 3rd holiday at Alexander the Great in 2. 1/2years, last time was just before it shut for a refurb, so I remember well what it was like before and was looking forward to seeing it again.I was not disappointed! It is beautiful, contemporary and clean.! The food is plentyful and of good quality, the room maids keep the room spotless with limitless pool and white bath towels.
The hotel seems to be trying to attract more young families, which means more babies and toddlers in the dining rooms and around the pools so it is not as peaceful as it was, as before it was mainly couples and older people, Saga have many people coming here. For us, looking for peace and relaxation for the week we found being surrounded at dinner by screeching babies a bit much but it was probably just bad luck, I think the restaurant manager should seat families together at one end and invite couples looking for a relaxing meal at the other. I have still given this wonderful hotel 5 stars as it deserves it.
The big plus is reserved sun loungers and a late breakfast. This means no-one has to 'get up early' to place towels on sunbeds like in other hotels, you can actually have a lie-in holiday and a late breakfast as they are open until 1030am. Heaven. We would walk down the new promenade to Paphos harbour about 10-15mins stroll and perhaps have a coffee then back to the loungers waiting for us, great!

The entertainment was mainly the hotel entertainment crew who were quite good, before we seemed to have a additional outside professional entertainer every night, now we only saw them every other night or less. There was a boy George singer/tribute/comedian, and the wonderful Castle Cypriot Dancers doing traditional Cypriot dancing, and another night a Blues singer.
The food is great, the Japanese, Greek Tavern and Italian Adult only are well worth dining at, and one visit per week at each is included on half board, plus a glass of wine,beer and a bottle of water per meal. We swopped 2 dinners for lunches on a sun bathing day so we could eat out locally. Try LES AMIS, across the road!, turn right and down a turning, I had the best Fillet Steak Diane I have ever had in my life there, husband had a lovely sea bass. The also do a 3 course dinner menu for £15e pp, the special one night chicken stuffed with mushrooms and covered in sauce was lovely and a very large portion.

Yes we will be back. It would be nice if a loyality scheme was created for people spending thousands of pounds at the same hotel, I believe other local 4/5* hotels do this....a gem in Cyprus.

Room Tip: Always pay extra for a sea view room, as the rooms on the other side face a busy road with bars. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings to you from a very sunny Cyprus and from all the management and team at The Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your repeat stay with us and that you found the hotel to be beautiful, contemporary and clean.

Our reserved sunbed allocation is and always has been a great selling point of the hotel, along with the location too.

I will also personally compliment our wonderful house keeping team as you have mentioned them too.

Plus we will take on board your comments re the seating of families in the main restaurant.

In closing thank-you for taking the time to write the review for us and looking forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel in June which had received a major refurbishment earlier this year. I have stayed in many hotels on business and my wife and I in hotels on vacations. This is one of the best.It is very clean,there are several very good restuarants to choose from. The choices of food are extensive and there are several pools for children and adults some of which have jacuzzis.The hotel borders on a small sandy beach and half the rooms have sea views.
Guests can book sunbeds and an umbrella for the week which overcomes the crazy morning dash to place towels on beds.The staff are very friendly and professional and every evening there is entertainment.On arrival free bottles of wine and a box of candies had been placed in our room where we could gain free wifi access via the tv to the internet etc.I thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from The Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thanking you for your kind comments, especially regarding the very clean rooms, the very good restaurants, the sunbed allocation system and the free wi fi access through out the hotel and rooms.

I am looking forward to the day when we welcome you through our doors once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the time we checked in with our complimentary drink until the time we left we had a fantastic stay. Our sea view room was spacious with the most comfortable beds we have experienced in any hotel. The bathroom was of a very high standard. Both towels and bed linen were changed regularly and the maid service was excellent. The pool area was lovely but we think it might get a little cramped in high season although the sun lounger allocation was a real bonus with no dawn patrol by the "towel brigade"

We were on a Half Board Plus basis which allowed us to dine in the Italian and Japanese restaurants both of which offered a superb dining experience. The Italian restaurant was small and intimate and felt that you were not in a hotel but in a fine restaurant offering superb quisine.The Japanese restaurant was situated outside on the edge of the hotel grounds and as well as offering good food with a difference also provided diners with superb views across to the harbour in Paphos. The Greek Tavern night which is held twice a week is also pleasurable with a taste of typical greek food. The Half Board Plus system also allowed us to switch from Dinner to Lunch which we did on several occassions allowing us to sample some of the many fine retaurants you find down by the harbour (we would especially recommend Theo's).

It was obvious that the hotel had spent a considerable sum on improving facilities both on the rooms and the pool area however the greatest asset that this hotel has is its wonderful helpful and friendly staff. Everyone from the management to our chamber maid always had a smile on their faces and greeted you daily as if they really wanted you to enjoy your stay. The bar staff and in particular the waitresses in the evening were extremely friendly and efficient. We are experienced travellers but have never felt so welcome as we did in the ATG.

The entertainment was first class with the "Kanika All Stars" working extremely hard throughout the day and in the evening they transformed into a talented group offering an excellent range of entertainment alongside external acts. We don't know where they get their energy from!!!

When we arrived in Paphos we were looking forward to our week away but never really anticipated returning as we like to try somewhere different each year. However as the week progressed we felt that there was every possibility that we would return to Paphos at some future date. If we do there is only one place that we would stay and that is The Alexander The Great.

Thank you one and all for a memorable holiday!!!

Room Tip: We were allocated a full sea view which was superb. We spoke to other guests with a side sea view wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warmest regards from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thanking you for all your wonderful comments. I will ensure that everyone from the house keeping department, the bar staff,the waitresses,the Kanika All Stars to the management Team are informed of your comments and kind words.

Also in taking the time to send such a detailed review it is much appreciated by us all here.

Looking forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.