We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
surrey england
1 review
“lovely relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here with my family back in April and we had a great time. The hotel was newly refurbished and i have to say they've done a fantastic job. My daughter loved the childrens' club and it was nice for her to spend some time with some girls her own age. Tasha who looked after the kids did a great job and made sure they were never bored. The evening entertainment was 5* and the whole entertainments team work very hard and put on great shows. Overall our holiday was great and we would definitely consider returning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your good feedback on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasant we were able to offer you memorable and relaxing holidays.

All staff here looks forward to welcoming you back again and to share our hospitality with you again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    126
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
253
472
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic holiday to Cyprus staying at the Alexander the Great Hotel in Paphos.. From the minute we arrived until we came home everyone treated us tremendously and made us feel special. The Hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment and it was immaculate in every respect. There was nothing to say bad about the Hotel and the only thing that I can say is that I give it 100% across the board. The reception staff very extremely helpful and polite and answered every query efficiently and speedily. They provided me with a bus timetable and explained that for 3 euros I could buy a hop off hop on bus ticket that lasted all day for all the buses so we were able to visit Coral Bay and The Tomb of Kings all on the same bus ticket. The entertainment in the Hotel was superb with the resident group of Warren, Olly, Steph, Lucy and Beth. A very talented group who provided us with a lot of relaxing pleasure on an evening. The Hotel has four restaurants and we visited the Japanese, Italian and Roxanne ones during our stay. I would like to say a big thank you to Deef in the Italian restaurant for his politeness and courteousness and the way he treated us like special people and gave us a wonderful night. We actually visited his restaurant twice during our stay because it was so nice. A great big thank you must also go to all the chefs and catering staff and all the cleaning staff who all did a fantastic job to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Another big plus for me is the allocation of sunbeds system. This was such a good idea that it should be adopted by all hotels as it takes the stress of looking for sunbeds without towels on after going for a morning walk. The weather also played its part with glorious sunshine every day so all in all we had the most relaxing holiday that we have had for many a year. We will definately return. Well done Alexander the Great you were superb in every department. I would also like to thank Jet2 holidays for helping us to enjoy the holiday from start to finish

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room wherever you stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let us express our sincere thanks for your excellent feedback about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel. Of course i feel that I cannot thank you enough for all these wonderful comments.

It is very great and also very important for us to hear such comments as yours. We are delighted we were able to fulfill all your expectations and this make us to continue our task.

Dear Guest thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to seeing you in our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here from 8th to 15th May. From the minute we arrived and were welcomed with a refreshing drink we could see we were going to have a great time! Nothing was too much trouble and the staff throughout the hotel were amazing. The rooms are lovely with large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. You are given beach towels to use by the pool and ours were changed every day. The beds are also turned down for you in the evening and you get a lovely chocolate! We were full board and this included water and wine/beer/soft drink with lunch and dinner, so you really didnt need to carry any cash with you! The food was of a very high standard and the desserts were home made and absolutely gorgeous. Whilst we were there it was my husbands birthday and when we returned to our room in the afternoon there was a lovely fresh cream birthday cake for him. It was a lovely surprise and it tasted absolutely gorgeous. Also there is a safe in the room for you to use which was free which makes a pleasant surprise. The pool area is spectacular with jacuzzi's and waterfalls. There is also a massive indoor pool near the Spa Area which was lovely. Although whilst we were there the weather was a bit touch and go it didnt really matter as the hotel was so lovely and it was nice just having drinks in the public areas which had comfy sofas and overlooked the sea. The Hotel is about a 15 minute stroll to the Harbour/bus station and Ruins. All in all this hotel is perfect in all respects and we would definetly go there again. We would like to mention two staff members who really stood out to us and these were Deep and Allina in the Restaurant who were really helpful and cheerful members of staff. Try this hotel, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It gives us special pleasure when we hear such excellent comments as yours. Taking this opportunity let us thank you for your good feedback on Trip Advisor about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are very happy we were able to offered you memorable holidays and all staff here is looking forward to seeing again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

An excellent hotel in a lovely location, recently refurbished and is very attractively presented and always clean everywhere! Only a short walk from the harbour and shops and it was easy to go further afield by local bus. Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful and our room was serviced twice daily. Restaurant service and food was excellent. Altogether we were very impressed with this hotel and would recommend it and possibly have a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool had great views and there was no noise from traffic at the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your so good comments about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We really appreciate it for taking the time to review us and we are very happy we offered you our best services.

We look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel resort has been refurbished at a cost of 9 million Euros, and this has really made it into the best hotel that I have stayed in! Having travelled and stayed in various types of accomodation around the world, that is quite an edorsement. Actually a friend of mine was getting married in the hotel and the hospitality of staff, the incredible setting by the beach , and the general atmosphere, made this the most memorable holiday event ever!

After the wedding was over the Entertainment team was also outstanding. Warren, Ollie,Steph
Beth and Lucy the team manager are all so talented and committed. I listened to the Michael, Buble tribute with awe, infact the sound system and the quality of dancing was
very commendable, lots of costume changes and popular song choices. Thanks for superb customer service and the most memorable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let us express my sincere thanks for your good feedback about Alexander The Great on Trip Advisor.

Your comments , especially that our hotel "is one of the best that you have stayed in'' make us to feel very happy and satisfied that we were able to provide you memorable holidays.

All staff here is looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veghel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

we have stayed here in april/may 2013. we have had a wonderful holiday. the hotel is really great. the staff is very friendly, the animation team off an amazing quality and the food gives choices for everybody.
the pool close tp the beach is wonderful and if you want to take a stroll to the town you only need to walk 10 minutes.

Room Tip: the rooms with side sea vieuw is really side sea vieuw. so if you want to look at the sea you better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your good comments about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We returned yesterday after a ten day stay. The location is excellent from our room we could look down onto sea which is crystal clear . Plenty of eating places nearby. Local bus system fantastic and only 10 minutes walk. A good place to relax and enjoy the views or visit the local historic sites.
The hotel is a good standard. We had a superior sea view room which was very comfortable with a decent balcony and a modern bathroom with effective plumbing. The room cleaning service was excellent. Staff were helpful and efficient. We had no air con on the first very hot night but it was quickly rectified the following day. We did not like the dinning room it was dark and depressing with tables very close together The meals are buffet with quality variable as is the temperature of the hot food.The evening entertainment is not too bad but the sound is intrusive elsewhere in the hotel. Overall pretty good but front rooms overlook main road.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing, Superior rooms very good but not over the entertainment area as the noise will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for taking the time to review Alexander The Great Beach Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that the issue of the air condition in your room was immediately rectified, due to our quick correspondence. It is also very important to write that the lighting of the dining room was accordingly regulated, in order to provide the best atmosphere and ambiance in all dining rooms.

Certainly, your comments are very useful for us, giving to us the chance to improve our services for all our guests.

Dear Reviewer, thank you once again and we are looking forward to seeing again in our hotel.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.