We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated 4star hotel in a very doog location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 95 hotels in Paphos
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Newly renovated 4star hotel in a very doog location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Hotel is a few minutes walk from Paphos Castle . Too many restaurants , cafe, fish- tavers and shops are near to the hotel which is renoveted two months ago.
Rooms,food, stuff are all excellent!
The view from our room was fantastic !!!! Seeing the Meditteranean blue sea and enjoing a wonderfull sunset....we felt lucky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your good comments about our hotel. It would be very pleasant for us to see you again at Alexander The Great.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    89
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
158
336
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a very good hotel in Paphos. The room we had is one of the most beautiful rooms in comparison to other 4 star hotels in Cyprus. Lunch was excellent!! Dinner on the other hand was a bit cold and not enough.The staff in all areas had an excellent attitude. They were very polite and helpful. In my opinion the hotel must make some changes that will make the hotel even better. They need some changes in their menus for the sweets part on dinner and lunch. Maybe more sweets! The room was very big clean tidy. Very luxurious. But you cant have a cheap hair drier in a 4 star hotel. Even cheap hotels have a good branded hair drier. And the kettle needs change. They need a change to the gardens. Maybe more green. The pools were excellent, clean and magical. Apart from these our stay in this hotel was fabulous and we are definitely going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for kind feedback on Trip Advisor for Alexander The Great Beach Hotel. Your comments and thoughts are always accepted.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We normally stay at ATG during each November, but this year we decided on an extra week (10 Apr - 17 Apr 2013) to sample the refurbishments. We have stayed at ATG 5 times before and have always found the hotel facilities, staff and entertainment excellent, but with the refurbishments everything is even better.
It is nice to be recognised when you first enter the hotel and addressed by name, (thanks Samir) with all your details printed out instead of having fill the form out yourself. We normally have a side view room but this time we decided on a sea view room. This was worth the extra money, looking out over the swimming pool to the Mediterranean. The newly refurbished rooms are excellent, although we would not have put a window between the bedroom and the bathroom. The rooms are spacious with both an extra large double bed and a two seater-settee. The electrical sockets are readily accessible, for charging mobile phones and Tablet PCs, the Wi-Fi is free and the coverage very good throughout the hotel.
The pool area has been extensively redesigned and it is now open to the public path and the edge of the sea, this does mean that there is nothing to stop the wind blowing off the sea and the "infinity pool" does not work, sure when you sit with your back to the hotel you can see the pool blend into the sea, but you can also see the sun loungers on the other side of the pool and the people walking past on the public footpath.
The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff is as good as ever, especially Guest Relation Officer and the reception staff.
The evening entertainment gets better each time we stay at ATG. The summer season entertainment team have really excelled this time, they put on shows not to be missed. Look out for Lucas, he is a STAR.
We can't wait to go back in November.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings to you from all of us here at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel. We are very happy to read comments such as yours. Taking this opportunity i would like to personally thank you for your excellent feedback. Our appreciation is undeniable for you.

It gives me great pleasure to met your holidays expectations (for sixth time) and we are really looking forward to welcoming back in our hotel again and again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a garden cabana and was worth every penny Lovely sat by your own pool even tho it was too cold to swim. The room facilities were great with turn down service on an evening The indoor pool was excellent along with the steam room and sauna The hotel is in a great location 10 mins stroll to the harbour or Bar Street ( most bars still closed ) The food in the main restaurant was good however we didnt try the other restaurants. The main plus point of the hotel was the evening entertainment The Jersey boys show we enjoyed as much as the original in London. Every show was polished and professional and exceeded many shows we have seen on cruise ships. This is a four star hotel with 5 star service and facilities.

Room Tip: If you want to splash out The garden rooms with a pool are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such good comments about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

It gives us great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to have the opportunity in the not too distance future to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the end of March. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished, the staff were friendly & professional, the entertainment team were exceptional & very talented & Tasha from kids club was great.

There were not many children in the hotel at the time however my son loved going to spend time with Tasha at kids club to do all of the activities she had planned.

The manger is also a lovely man, he couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Thank you for helping us have a great holiday.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I cannot thank you enough for your kind feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are really happy to hear we were able to exceed your expectations and helped to make your holidays memorable for you and your son.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future. Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overall the hotel was very good, but major problems with the shower. When you used it the water poured out the door and into the bedroom. We reported it and still hadn't been fixed by the following afternoon. We asked to be moved and the manager upgraded us to a much better room. Prices for accommodation are a bit on the steep side, look out for offers.
Food was very good and majority of staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Look out for offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

I would like like to express my apologies that problem with the shower hadn't been fixed but we are delighted you got other room that was more appropriate for you.

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments about our food and staff. We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I visited this hotel on a recent trip to paphos, I wasn't staying there, just went for a drink and the evening entertainment which was excelent! I realy enjoyed it, the hotel is beautiful, the staff very profesional and the entertainment team was briliant. I would not hesitate to book this hotel for a future visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us, expressing so kind comments about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

It is very pleasant for us to hear good comments from guests who did not stay in our hotel. Taking this opportunity i would like to express my sincere thanks and appreciation and we hope to see you in our hotel very soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.