We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Wow, Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 hotels in Paphos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow, Wow, Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love this hotel!
Just got back from Cyprus, where we spent 2 nights at the Alexander the Great whilst I ran the 10k Road race and then we headed to our own apartment in Larnaca.
We arrived on the first evening that the hotel opened after a major refurbishment, whilst not everything was finished and the hotel had obviously had some challenges due to a construction workers strike on the island which had meant their reopening had slipped, from the moment that we arrived to the moment that we left we felt thoroughly spoilt.

Our room was fantastic from a decor and appointment perspective, it was a little noisy on the first night as it overlooked the road (we live in the middle of the country - so we are noise sensitive), but if you live in town you would not notice it. I suspect beach or side facing rooms would be more quiet. The shower was amazing especially after a hot run!

We were meet by a porter (Valentin) who helped with our luggage showed us to reception and then took us to our room and showed us how things worked.

As it was quite late in the evening we went to explore the food options and managed to get into the Italian restaurant on site - Garibaldi's - this proved to be an excellent choice. The food and service were excellent and completely surpassed our expectations. There was a buffet of starters, followed by a soup, main course and dessert. Priced at 28EUR a head this was excellent value given the quality of the offering. We ate there on our 2nd night also and it was equally as good. Do try the local wines as these are cheaper and are excellent quality.

After dinner we headed to the bar, were the entertainment offering was in full flow - these guys were seriously good. The manager of the group has come off the cruise ships and really understands what makes a good show. We were also impressed that the entertainment team took the time to mingle with the guests not only after they had finished their work on the stage, but also during the day around the pool and hotel. Bravo guys - keep up the excellent work you are all seriously talented.

The breakfast offering was amazing - the hotel had thought of everything - every taste was catered for and both my husband and I were really impressed.

Ok, so the pool wasn't ready (but there was an indoor pool within a glass house you could use - we did and it was great as was the sauna) and the WiFi wasn't connected until the day after we left (we used guest services computer to deal with our business matters whilst staying) and the heating/cooling wasn't fully functional in our room (not a problem for us, but for older guests it was) - but these things did not spoil our experience and I have faith that the excellent team at the Hotel will have these things sorted really quickly.

Throughout our stay the quality of customer service was of the highest standards. Even though they were having a tough time dealing with issues, the smiles did not slip and the pride every member of staff has in the hotel is evident.

We are planning to return next year. Please don't be put off by the teething issues you will read about currently - this hotel is seriously good and will soon be back on top form I have no doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms with a beach view are quieter than front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to express all these wonderful comments about the new fantastic decor of our Hotel’s rooms and luxury of bathrooms. It was also great that you had the chance to enjoy the ultimate experience of food in our Garibaldi Italian Restaurant.

Moreover, thank you for your comments about the excellent work of our entertainment team which always ensures the highest standards of amusement to all guests.

The new outdoor infinity pool with additional features is now ready and is really stunning, offering to you an unparalleled leisure experience. Nevertheless, because of the weather is not very hot yet, guests can use the indoor swimming pool (in temperatures 30°). Indeed, we had some small teething issues with WiFi after refurbishment but I would like to be sure that all issues have been resolved and the WiFi is now fully working.

It is very pleasant for us you really enjoyed your stay at Alexander the Great and all staff here is looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    71
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
130
249
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed just as opened from a full refurb. Public areas beautiful, rooms comfy with big bathrooms. Breakfast good variety and quality - dinner nearly as good but expensive for the offering. Staff wonderful and go out of their way to please. Once teething issues (fuse box issues, lack of towels, poor wifi coverage etc) sorted this place will be perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments about our hotel.

Alexander the Great Hotel is already fantastic as all teething issues have been resolved, creating the best standards for our guests.

Hope you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel, and to Paphos. We also booked with Saga, like the previous reviewer, and arrived among the first guests after the refurbishment. Yes, we experienced teething problems, but the Management was unfailingly helpful and attentive and the completion work was continuing day and night (but quietly and unobtrusively!). It is an excellent hotel, with lovely staff, good food, and a superb position just a delightful stroll from Paphos harbour.

My only criticism was that the newly decorated bar is surprisingly minimalist and discomforting compared with the rest of the hotel, with entertainment that was too loud, light-flashing and obtrusive for my taste - but as the weather warms up you should be able to escape outside for peaceful conversation. We fully intend to go back for another winter visit sometime.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the sea view, and an upper floor will improve that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us and to express your thoughts on line.

I would like to assure you that the management of Alexander the Great provides the best services to all our guests and all staff here worked very hard to solute all problems that we had in the first days of our operation after the refurbishment.

Thank you for you lovely comments about our staff, food and general our hotel.

Dear guest, we really hope you enjoyed your first time in Paphos and we are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this hotel on recommendation from other people with Saga for my husbands 60th birthday. We were informed by Saga only a few days before departure that due to strikes the hotel would not be ready for the first 5 days so got up in an hotel in Limosol. When we got the Alexander the great there was no water & when the water did come on there was no hot water so had to boiler a kettle to have a wash. We were told by the Saga rep we had to use our own lounge which resembled a 1960s working mans club we felt we were being treated like 2nd class citizens untill the lovely Ele(guest relations) stepped in and we were allowed to relax in the normal bar area just like the other guess's The hotel should not have been open to guess until it was complete. It was our 1st time with Saga & Cyprus so will have to think twicw about using them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pafos123, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts on line.

Here at the Alexander the Great we take a lot of pride for the level of service we offer to all our guests and your comfort is a paramount goal of the whole Team. We are so pleased that the issue with the club was sorted on a timely manner and you have enjoyed the remaining of your stay with us.

In regards to the hot water we cannot apologize enough; a pipe had burst and obviously we were put on a very compromising position. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. The maintenance department worked very hard to put things together and cause as little disruption as possible. On the other hand, we cannot thank you enough for your support and cooperation. We do hope to have you stay with us in the near future. Given the opportunity we shall do our best to reinstate your faith to Kanika Hotels, and most importantly Alexander the Great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great
Alexander Great Cyprus
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list