We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleious Street | PO Box 60195, Paphos 8128, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
“Fantastic holiday!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at the Paphos gardens resort but we stayed in a private villa on the complex booked through paphos lettings. The hotel was in need of modernising but the villa(tulip b) was fantastic!!! It had its own commual pool/bar so you didnt need to use the hotels pool. It had the best of both worlds because the villa was like home from home and very spacious but if you wanted to use the hotels facilities you could. Would def go back again to this villa!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    192
    118
    51
    46
See reviews for
190
192
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

After I had booked Paphos Gardens, I decided to look for things to do in Cyprus and came across different review sites, most of which worried me, but as we were going for a wedding I thought i would just go and see what it was like(and move hotels if it was as bad as i read)

I was totally shocked by the villa, it was very spacious, clean, and well equipped.
1 of the sofas was a bit water stained, but what can you expect when ppl sit around after swimming, this sofa did not smell or did not put me off using it, it just needs the covers washing. The bedrooms were very spacious with clean bedding and towels, even a balcony(handy for drying towels etc

The kitchen has very good quality appliances(washing machine and dishwasher), unlike other places that just put in the cheapest thing they can find. Just before we turned up the fridge died, but Carol (who looks after the places over there) had already got a replacement fridge

The house looked like it had only just been painted inside, and although you might think the patio furniture is placed at the wrong end of the house(small patio at both ends of the house), it is in the perfect place for the sun and not get the noise from the pool.

The complex is kept clean and there was always a small army of cleaners and gardeners getting on with there duties. Paphos \Gardens is just a 5 mins walk to a nice sandy beach, or at night a wonderfull walk along the sea front, on the promenade(fully lit walkway). Also with plenty of nearby shops and places to eat(zsa zsa's do a fantastic range of food, and always struggled to avoid the crepe suzette)

The pools(2 large outdoor, 1 paddling outdoor and 1 large indoor) were always cleaned daily, the sunbeds around the pool look a slight bit dirty but i could not get any dirt of them and its more like the sun that has afected the covers, on the day that we were leaving i did notice a massive new delivery of sunbeds being unloaded.

Whislt i was there, one morning when we got up there was no hot water, so i rang Carol and within a couple of hours there was an electrician at the property, and we had hot water again after he had replaced the emersion. Carol does a wonderful job, although i only had to speak to her twice she was a credit to the company.

The hotel staff were helpful and courteousand happy, and all the staff were brilliant with the kids, the entertainment team were chatty and very funny(i hate bingo, but was crying with laughter at the guy calling the numbers).
Irena who runs the kids club was fantastic, alwaysa went round to all the children to talk to them, but never any pressure to go to the kids club, (she even played and chatted to our friends children, and they were stopping at another hotel and only visited us a couple of times)

I booked direct with cyprus/paphos lettings, and they were a good company to deal with, plus plenty of choices of places to stay

All in all a wonderful holiday in a wonderful place with fantastic people!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Having booked a one bedroom ground floor superior apartment with pool view and sunny terrace in January 2010 we were shown to a grotty, dirty dark apartment with unusuable terrace as dirty, dark and no chairs or table, together with the air conditioning not working. On return visit to reception were told that this apartment not available. On demanding another apartment were eventually shown a slightly better one but this proved to be next to a building site and overlooking the bins. Had no choice but to accept and make the most of the holiday.When a cleaner ventured into the apartment the "cleaning" was somewhat suspect, towels changed infrequently and even used towels folded up and placed back on the bed. Bed linen only changed once in two weeks and this was 2 days before departure. Had no control over the fridge as it froze contents one day and then defrosted the next. The only thing in this complex's favour is the locality which is close to the beach and within easy walking distance of the town. I must add however that there is a wonderful family restaurant around the corner called Za Za and the food is wonderful and reasonable in price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

After reading the review from Adam Fisher I thought I had to comment when I read that members of his party all came down with ear infections. On the last day of our holiday my daughter was complaining of earache and it got so bad the day after we got home we had to go to the emergency medical centre to be told she had a serious ear infection in both ears. It wasn't until I read his comment that I thought it could be the pool, which is quite disturbing if that is what caused it. What is lurking in there?

We arrived at the hotel and were taken to our apartment which was opposite the reception and right above the shop. When we walked in it soon became clear it wasn't our best choice of accomodation. It looked like our room hadn't been cleaned for us. We had dirty towels on the floor, no toilet rolls and no kettle it also looked like the kitchen surfaces hadn't been cleaned for a few days. I went to reception and told them. He gave me clean towels and toilets rolls but we didn't get our kettle for two days! We also had ants in the kitchen area and in the bathroom sink. The beds were uncomfortable and my daughter was scratching all the time after sleeping on the sofa bed.

To be fair and not all negative we ate at the hotel one lunch time and that was very nice and the waiters did really work hard considering how hot it was but unfortunately that is the only good thing about the hotel I can say.

We still enjoyed our holiday and liked Paphos but we wouldn't go back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Very nice hotel only 10mins walk from harbour area, rooms are a bit dated but OK. At least 3 rated restaurants within 200 yds all excellent. Pool very nice - 5ft deep at deepest point. Breakfast repitative (normal). 10 min walk from bar street. Entertainment was average of what we seen. Overall a lovely holiday. There seems to be some money being spent in the town on new restaurants and bars etc some are modern and plush.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We visited Paphos Gardens in August for 14 nights with a group of our friends and family (a mixture of adults and children) some staying in the hotel and some in the apartments on a self catering basis. We had a really lovely holiday and I felt I had to write after reading some the negative reviews on this site.

Yes, there are things that this hotel could be doing better - the communal areas in our apartment block could have done with a good clean, as could the sunbeds and tables around the pool (which need to be replaced) however, it ticked a lot of boxes for us in terms of a relaxing family holiday. Our apartment was lovely, very well equipped kitchen (dishwasher, microwave etc), large living area and very cool air conditioning. Some of the other apartments weren't quite so well equipped and we did experience some problems with air conditioning whilst we were there but the hotel did their best to sort this out. The weather was very hot so air conditioning really was a must. We ate out most nights so didn't really use the self catering facilities.

There are three swimming pools, the larger one has entertainment during the day (quiz, water volleyball, etc) and the smaller pool does not, so something for everyone there. There is a small indoor pool which was lovely and cool with the outdoor pools being very warm due to the hot weather. There was also a shallow children's pool which is suitable for very small children. The entertainment in the main pool was not in your face and you were not forced to join in by any means, but if it's not your cup of tea then the smaller pool was much quieter. There was no problem getting sunbeds around the pool at any time during our stay, and there were 15 of us! This was a big plus point after having spent many a previous holiday getting up early just to secure sunbeds. We thought the entertainment team did a great job, especially Jamie, who was so friendly and always stopped to have a chat or a game of ping pong, and Erina who worked in kids club.

There is an air conditioned, well equipped gym on sight and a spa where beauty treatments can be booked.

We didn't watch much of the evening entertainment, but caught the tail end of it a few times. There was a kiddies disco and bingo every night followed by a few different singers, a pub quiz and a guy balancing glasses on his head which was a bit bizarre!

I can't really comment on the food at the hotel as bar the odd breakfast or lunch, we didn't eat there. There are far too many great restaurants nearby to sample (Za Za's just across the road, and the Windmill in Paphos to mention a couple that we enjoyed very much). We did however enjoy happy hour at the hotel! (5.30 until 6.30 each evening).

Previous reviews have mentioned unfriendly staff but this wasn't our experience at all. All of the bar and waiting staff were extremely friendly, as was the guy in the supermarket, and all of the cleaning ladies always had a smile and a hello. I don't know how they do it in that heat. A couple of the staff on reception could do with being a bit more friendly though!

The location of the hotel is fantastic. There is a very well stocked supermarket on site, a selection of bars and restaurants with a stone's throw and it's a short walk across the road to the beach. Paphos harbour is around 10 minutes walk. It's lovely and bustly with lots of shops and restaurants. We went on a great boat trip for half a day where we could jump in and swim in the sea which we all enjoyed. The water park is also very nearby the hotel.

All in all we had a great time. If you go expecting 3 star accomodation then that is what you will get. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I have just returned from a two week stay in paphos gardens hotel. We booked through Thomas Cook and parted with a thousand pound each for all inclusive. First of all I will make it clear that we stayed in the hotel and not in the apartments. Prior to reading this review if you choose to continue, I will say now that the hotel was shocking and I would urge everybody even contemplating this hotel to forget it now!! As soon as you arrive you realise the hotel is run down and dirty. We arrived late at night and were allocated our first room (119). The bed sheets were dirty, tiles hanging off in the bathroom and a tv and telephone from the 1950's. We immediately complained the room was not clean to the resort office for the tour operator and to reception. They agreed to move us into another room (121), which turned out to be next door! This room was just as bad, had a horrible smell to it and the carpets were ground in with dirt, a theme common thoroughout the complex. Even when the rooms were cleaned on one occasion we had a dirty stain on the new clean sheets and we lost count the amount of times we had to ring reception for towels as the cleaner hadn't left us clean ones. Moving hotels unfortunatley was out of the question as we were there for a wedding party who were to arrive several days later. As you walked throught the hotel you would realise stains everywhere and layers of dirt. Simple things like the like fittings and televisions were all fixed wonky. We had a cockroach in our room which we removed oursleves because recpetion were too slow to bother and another party apparently had an ant infestation ion their bed. The food was edible but not very nice, same everyday, rice pasta potato chicken lamb and pork and vegetables. That was as good as it got. The plastic tables you were eating off were black with dirt just as were the sunbeds and tables provided thoroughout the pool area. The drinks menu was limited and you certainly didn't feel like an all inclusive guest. The staff were rude and barely spoke, it seemed a hinderence to them that we were there. Bizarrely it seemed like the self catering guests were treated preferentially to the all inc guests. 5 members of the wedding party came down with ear infections, including one having to stay out on his insurance for an extra three days. This seemed to arise because of the pool, whicjh we didnt see cleaned once during the two weeks. On our first day whilst eating a plam tree collapsed and fell on top of the restaurant area to which the staff all stood around laughing at. A few days later they cut the tree 3 storey high tree down, but allowed the guests to remain in the pool 20 metres away. The entertainment was poor unless you like listening to a bloke from chesterfield and playing bingo. There is much much more I could say but I will end with the best advice I have offered to anyone, Don't book this place unless you want a holiday from hell.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort

Address: Kleious Street | PO Box 60195, Paphos 8128, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quiety just 300 meters from the sandy beach, as if by a miracle, Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort disappears in the lush vegetation. Located off the main seaside road and just one hop off from the beach, the tourist area, shops, evening entertainment and much more.Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort combines self-catering with hotel accommodation, offering all necessary services and a variety of daily activities to suit every guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Gardens Holiday Hotel Paphos
Paphos Gardens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.