We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thomas Cook Reps Talk Too Loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleious Street | PO Box 60195, Paphos 8128, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thomas Cook Reps Talk Too Loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Overall, the hotel was fair to middling. If you don't mind overpriced drinks, and ants in your bed, then this is the place for you.

The pool is clean and colder than the sea which is great if you don't go in the middle of October!

The hotel's entertainment was great as long as you keep your standards to a bear minimum. The audience looked bigger than it was. This is because half the audience was actually sat watching one of the 2 tvs behind the "singers" (and I use the term loosely). I sincerely wish that next season after the refurbishment, they refurbish the acts and entertainment since the 1990s.

We asked for a twin room when we booked. We then double checked when we checked in. We got to our room, and low and behold - its a double. They resolved this (after talking loudly, slowly and with hand gestures at the cleaner) by giving us 2 single duvets for a double bed. Good effort. Shame about the result.

And finally the icing on the cake - the Thomas Cook Rep - Gemma - from Liverpool. As well as being a useless cow, she must have assumed I worked there, because she didn't care what she said in front of me. Slagging off guests, swearing casually, explaining how much she's looking forward to getting home, saying what she really feels about the hotel, and playing on World of Warcraft and check Facebook pictures of old school friends rather than do anything productive!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    205
    126
    53
    48
See reviews for
204
206
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is my third time at Paphos Gardens and as normal no problems staff as always very helpful and polite. Cleaners do an excellent job of the rooms. Food is great and the Chefs do well. I always enjoy my time here. Sadly the drinks are very expensive after happy hour. Most people went up town for drinks as you can get it hald of the price the hotel were charging.

Room Tip: I hace stayed in different rooms in the hotel and all been fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

enjoyed our 4th visit to paphos gardens. we have been to cyprus probably every year since 1985 and have stayed in all kinds of hotels and apartments some better and a few worse than paphos gardens . we had a studio apt this year as we like the facilities -fridge kettle etc. could not fault it .most of the staff were friendly and very helpfull. the hotel will benefit from a much needed upgrade during the winter.I hope to return next year I am sure that Maria will be as helpfull as usual in sorting my room request. I must agree with other reviews I have read regarding the level of noise from the so called entertainment. We look forward to visiting Za-Za Les Amis Chloes etc

Room Tip: we found self catering apts much nicer than hotel but this should change next year due to refubishm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our decision as a family to go with an all inclusive deal represented the best value for money. We were fortunate to have an apartment which suited our needs(Geranium complex). While the water pressure was poor for showers we had loads of towels regular linen changes and cleaning to compensate. It is a short walk of 5 minutes to the bus stop and small local beach. It is around 20 minute's leisurely walk to the harbour and a wide variety of activities . The animation team led by Jacinta were enthusiastic flexible and worked hard to deliver what the mostly adult residents were looking for at his time of year. They helped break the ice among residents so that there was a great sense of fun and enjoyment throughout the day. The evening entertainment was good and on one or two evenings was outstanding because the performers worked the audience with humour and requests. Should the entertainment around the pool not be to your taste there is a smaller quieter pool a minute's walk from reception. In the evening it is possible to sit away from the entertainment in the comfortable sofas in reception. We look forward to seeing what the refurbishment brings as we are keen to return.

Room Tip: Avoid poolside rooms if looking for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Went here through Thomas Cook on a pretty good value B&B package. Can't complain - staff were friendly (if not too helpful) pool is nice, rooms are alright. A/C was a bit dodgy towards the end of the week - kept cutting out and they didn't seem too hurried about fixing it (hence the not too helpful comment). Can't say that we went to any of the "entertainment" in the evening...I'm sure this was no worse than other brit-dominated resorts though! I'd say this place is decent, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Basically you get what you pay for, lovely place just needs alot doing to it. we were told that the place is closing for 6 months for a massive refurb so all in all things are looking up...only problem i had, was with breakfast as they didnt supply fruit which i found quite odd...not everyone wants a Cyprian version of an English breakfast everyday.

Room Tip: Try not to get a pool view room as your ear drums will bleed...music far too loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate Uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This complex is closing until April for much needed renovations. We booked a hotel room and were given a pleasant ground floor apartment. On arrival there was no welcome pack with hotel details and we had to ask for basic information. The apartment was well equipped but the shower screen had no seal so we had to jam a towel under it or mop up the bathroom tiles. The maid service was irregular and we went up to three days with no service.
The public areas were tired and the pool was losing tiles and the sun loungers were falling apart and had no mattresses.
The food (we were on an all inclusive deal) was good but you can only achieve so much with buffet meals.
The staff were very attentive and polite but seemed to be overworked.
We booked a 3 star hotel and had a 3 star experience so we can't complain too much!
The hotel is well placed for local facilities but about half a kilometre from the very good local bus services.

There was only one sour note. This hotel is part of a local chain and we were offered a "free visit " to the local 5 Star sister hotel with taxi transfers and an opportunity to relax round the pool with towels provided. We arrived to a 3 hour escorted visit and subsequent sales pitch from a very pleasant German lady. The "product" was a card offering large hotel discounts but I was expected to part with E9500 for the pleasure!. When we politely declined (pointing out that, if we had that money to spare, we would be staying in the 5 star hotel!) we asked for a return taxi but had to pay the driver E18 on arrival at our hotel. It was all a bit embarrassing. We eventually recovered our costs.

Room Tip: Don't have a room overlooking the pool the entertainment volume is ear splitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort

Address: Kleious Street | PO Box 60195, Paphos 8128, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quiety just 300 meters from the sandy beach, as if by a miracle, Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort disappears in the lush vegetation. Located off the main seaside road and just one hop off from the beach, the tourist area, shops, evening entertainment and much more.Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort combines self-catering with hotel accommodation, offering all necessary services and a variety of daily activities to suit every guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Gardens Holiday Hotel Paphos
Paphos Gardens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.