We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helios Bay 5 out of 5” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helios Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Helios Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Helios Bay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 60423, Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Helios Bay 5 out of 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Helios Bay Hotel and we couldn't have asked for better. Upon our arrival (which was mid/late evening) we were greeted by an extremely helpful lady at the front desk. After showing us to our room, she informed us that the poolside bar was open for refreshments/light snacks until midnight. Again we found the bar staff friendly and helpful. The food was reasonably priced and just what we needed after a long flight. Our room was spacious, fresh, clean and had all we needed for a self catering holiday, i.e, kettle, toaster, two hob cooker, fridge (which small freezer compartment) and a wide range of cutlery. There was a safety deposit box in the room which can be hired for €8.50 per week. WiFi is also available throughout, free is the reception or €10 per week in the rooms.
We found that the house keeping staff came in each day to do a general clean and make the beds (twin beds pushed together to make a double) and change the towels every third day. Again, the cleaning staff were pleasant and friendly and come back should we not be ready for them.
The pool area has plenty of sun beds (with parasol shaders), small tables and is very well maintained (with clear and clean water). The main pools shallow end is no more then 3ft and we would estimate the deep end about 8ft. There is also a child's pool along side the main pool at around 1.5ft depth, perfect for little ones to bathe and play in.
The grounds around the Hotel are lush and green with palms and ferns perfectly placed for noise reduction and ideal for shading. A short distance from the rear of the Hotel is a beach path that runs down to the ocean. Although there is some sand here, we found it to be more rock/stones and not ideal for sun bathing (but ideal for early evening romantic strolls as the path follows the shore line behide the other Hotels).
Just outside Hotel, a local bus service runs every few minutes to Coral Bay or the Harbour. Along this coastal road we found numerous restaurants, shops and bars. A one way trip cost us €1.50 per person or €5.00 for a day pass per person which is valid until 11pm. Although the bus service runs until around 4am, the cost of travel does go up after 11pm to €2.50 for a one way trip.
Both Coral Bay and the Harbour sport large supermarkets (both of which are cheaper then the local convenient stores). Coral Bay, (in our opinion), is better suited for a more mature evening out as it has more bars then restaurants. That being said, The Elephant and Coral King restaurants in Coral Bay both have excellent food, service and atmosphere. The Harbour, (again in our opinion), is more family themed with more to do for the younger generation. We eat in three restaurants on the Harbour, Chloes Chinese, The Captains View and The Captains Biasto, all of which provided a wonderful, friendly and professional atmosphere.
Along the Coastal road (on the bus route, 100 metres from the Venus Beach Hotel) The Tomb Of Kings can be found. An entry fee of €2.50 (per person) is required but it's well worth a visit.
All in all, the Hotel management and staff were the best we have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Nothing is to much trouble for them. As a last example, on the day of our departure, our flight transfer was not until early evening and although our room checkout was at midday, the management informed us we were welcome to leave our luggage in reception, spend the day by the pool and should we require a shower to freshen up before our coach arrived, we were welcome to do so.
A definite 5 out of 5 from us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    107
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
129
220
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have recently returned from a second stay at Helios and enjoyed it so much we now have a third trip planned.
This by far the best hotel apartments we have stayed in, in Cyprus.
It is in a superb location, the facilities are excellent and always immaculately clean.
We have found the staff are very helpful and friendly.
Paul and Anita

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay and wholeheartedly agree with the excellent reviews. The hotel is comfortable, spotlessly clean and in a great location at the end of an area of sea-front hotels. We had room 210 which overlooked the gardens/pool area but had a fabulous sea view and was shaded by a palm tree so the best of both worlds.
We tended to sun bathe in the lower garden overlooking the sea and didn't use the pool area much as there were quite a few children enjoying themselves!
Our only negative comments would be that the cooking/kitchen area is adequately but not extensively equipped and that the bar area always played rock/pop music, even at breakfast. Why not play more traditional music, I appreciate that is personal taste but the hotel is trying to be more traditional.
Couple of tips, turn left at the end of the garden and walk along the coast to Paphos, a great walk and brings you out at the port. Used the hotel beach bars en route for drinks.
Also, if food/wine shopping, take the 615 to the harbour terminus, stay on past the Lidl (its a flat rate fare so doesn't cost any more and is an extra 5/10 minutes). At the terminus turn left and walk 50 yards to Debenhams, turn right there and there is a large local supermarket with everything you need, bakery, meat, fish and Waitrose wines!
We would also highly recommend the Kasparis Taverna, over the road from the hotel to the left. Very traditional with superb, home cooked food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Once again my wife & myself decided to stay at the Helios which is where I am writing this review. We noticed at once the updates to the main building thr old verandah fronts had been replaced by new glass ones and I must say looked very nice indeed. All the windows and doors seem to have been updated as well. The service was the same as we were accustomed to (first class) and it was obvious to me the same care had been applied to the gardens and surrounding areas.
In conclusion we are enjoying another fine vacation at The Helios and would not change this venue in the future.

Room Tip: Garden apartments are the nearest to the sea but the top rooms in the main building have stunning vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Have just returned from 3 week stay at the Helios once again Nicos and all the staff made us feel at home nothing is too much trouble to ensure your stay is perfect. The accommodation public areas and gardens are immaculately maintained. This is the perfect place to stay if you want a quiet relaxing holiday and ideally situated between Paphos and Coral Bay. Nicos has continued to update the hotel with new patio doors and replacing wooden balcony rails with clear glass. Have already booked for next year

Tee Jay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in Helios Bay Hotel Apartments in the third week of May, we had an excellent time. We had a partial sea view room on the second floor on the eastern side of the hotel. The accommodation was great, the room was clean and well maintained and the staff very very friendly and helpful throughout. We would definitely recommend the hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool get very hot as they are SW facing and can be noisy during the day if the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Helios Bay in October 2013 so much that we have booked again for this year. The hotel is ideally placed between Paphos and Coral Bay and the excellent, frequent, bus service stops just outside. There is a beach nearby and a very nice coastal walk. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with regular maid service and all of the staff and management are very friendly and helpful responding positively to any request. We don't usually go back to the same accommodation but Helios Bay is the exception.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are ideal for those with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Bay Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 60423, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
#26 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helios Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helios Bay Hotel is located on the beach between Coral bay and Tombs of the King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Helios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Bay Paphos
Hotel Helios Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helios Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.