We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overall Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I had read a few mixed reviews of this hotel, however on arrival I was very impressed. The reception area is lovely and looks out onto the sea and the pool. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful and speak very good English.

Positives:
-Overall the pool areas, restaurant and rooms are all very clean
-The breakfast buffet has a ot of choice
-The hotel is in a quieter area but there are still a lot of nice restaurants and bars nearby, and more nightlife is only a short taxi ride away
-Pool area seemed to have plenty of sunbeds considering that we visited at a popular time of the year

Negatives:
-Room decor is quite outdated and dull
-If you like to nap by the pool in the afternoon, you will definitely be woken up by one of the staff members ringing a bell and offering strawberries and cream
-The 'private beach' is just a small, mostly shingle beach... we much preferred the pool area

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    330
    107
    35
    16
See reviews for
363
617
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed for one week at Athena Beach with my husband 18th-25th October. We left the kids at home and just came to relax really, so we booked a pool view room (ask for high floor otherwise club buildings will obscure the view), on a B&B basis. We had thought of booking Alexander the Great as it looked closer to the harbour. However I was really glad we didn't because we went to have a look and their sunbeds were squashed together. There was only 1 pool and the grounds were tiny. Athena Beach has lots of pools to choose from, the grounds are extensive and the sunbeds really spaced out. Besides that, you have a beach bar as well as the pool bar, and with each pair of sunbeds (with comfy mattress!), comes a huge umbrella, a stool and a chair.

The room may appear a bit plain compared to some hotels, but the tea & coffee facilities, the toiletries, slippers and towelling robe make up for this. The shower was lovely. Breakfast was great, fantastic omlettes, pancakes etc, we really filled up for hours on it.

The weather was fantastic, blue skyes, sunshine, about 30 degrees, so October would be my favourite month, as the summer months would be far too hot. Did not even need a cardigan to wear out in the evening for the first half of the week, but could tell it was getting a little cooler as the week went on.

There are several jetties to walk out to sea, if you want to go in to swim. You can access straight from the beach but its a bit rocky.

Had some lovely meals out, our favourite was the Sunbow restaurant, where they were very polite, not pushy at all, and the good was gorgeous. The king prawn in curry sauce started was the best. The worst meal we had was one of the ones advertising "set three-course meal for 14 euros". You get what you pay for!

The trips across the road from the hotel appeared half the price of the ones with Thomas Cook but can't vouch for the quality as we didn't try them. We visited theTomb of the Kings, we caught a bus outside the hotel (get a timetable from the reception). It was 1.30 euros each. Take water with you as its really hot and unshaded. We walked from there to the harbour, quite a way in the sun but worth it as on the way we saw the Roman Hotel which has a tomb in the garden, and two Catacombs on the side of the road (you will see the trees covered in clothes and tissues people have tied on the branches on the side of the path leading in), as you had down towards the harbour on the left side of the road. Really worth a look. Also visited the mosaics, house of Theseus, the Odeon etc. which were very impressive. One entrance to all these with one price to the right of the harbourside restaurants. Really worth a look, get those walking boots on! The bus stop back is outside Debenhams (!!), or the taxis outside the harbour cost 8 euros.

Spent the rest of the week swimming in the sea and pools, and lying on the sunbeds reading, it was lovely. Can't wait to go back sooooooooooon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

This was our 4th visit to the Athena Beach and yet again we were not disappointed.
We did consider the Athena Royal (next door) but having had a walk round the complex we think that there is probably more atmosphere on the moon, so we were happy that we had booked at the Athena Beach.

Okay the hotel is looking a little tired and some areas could do with sprucing up, but at the end of the day how much time do you spend in your room?

Our room was clean and effectively cleaned every day and we had no complaints about the decor or furnishings.

I can only support what one other contributor has said about Sofia on the egg station at breakfast, she is amazingly quick with preparing an egg as you want it as well keeping a good stack of pancakes on the go. ( Mr Misery the restaurant manager needs to go to smiling lessons and you only get the best out of your staff if you talk to them not AT them)

Reception staff efficient as always and Kornellia does an absolutely fantastic job with guest services. (Mr Constantinou she is a priceless asset who ensures that your guests leave with a positive experience)

Despite being busy getting a sunbed was never any trouble and the grassed areas near the beach offer a little tranquility away from the pools.

We did have one negative experience shared by a few others, some evenings the hotel has themed nights by the pool area, these start at about 7.30pm but they start setting up about 4.30. Believe it or not they set up tables around you and several couples and families like us felt we were being 'evicted' from our sunbeds, a little communication would have softened the feeling of not being wanted.

We have booked for next year but will be a little more selective of where we sit

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon at the Athena and can highly recommend it to anyone who may be thinking of staying there. Having read some of the mixed reviews here prior to travelling, I was a little apprensive but I truly cannot fault the hotel at all. I personally don't think that the hotel needs updating, the communal areas are stylish and most importantly kept clean. Our room was faultless and provided everything that we needed - tea/coffee/bottled water/iron/hairdryer/bathrobes/slippers/toiletries. Again, our room was cleaned daily and the maids were very friendly. As it was our honeymoon, we also had balloons and streamers on our door and complimentary fruit and sparkling wine on arrival. It seems the hotel staff will go out of their way to help you celebrate a special occassion as we saw several people celebrating birthdays and anniversaries.
All of the staff we encountered, especially the bar staff, were extremely friendly and courteous and are to be praised for the work that they do.
We ate at the hotel on a flexidine basis, which meant that we had the majority of our stay as BB but with three nights HB. As there is a weekly list of the different buffets lined up for each night, we were able to choose what nights suited us best so we opted for the candelit buffet, the greek night and the international buffet. The greek night was truly excellent, the food was amazing and the Cypriot singers and dancers were great to watch. Having said that, the food was excellent each night we were there and there was always a varied choice.
The location of the hotel is excellent, it is around a 40 minute walk to the harbour area but there are some great restaurants closer to hand, I would especially recommend the French restaurant Gabor. The food there was out of this world.
The World Heritage site at the Harbour is definately worth a visit, the Roman ruins are impressive. We also had a trip to Necosia, where it was interesting to see the "Green Line". If you applied for a visa at the checkpoint, you could cross over onto the Turkish side of Necosia for a visit.
All in all, this hotel surpassed our expectations and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it. Paphos is a great holiday destination, with lots to keep you busy and activities to suit a wide variety of interests, whether it be history, watersports or sightseeing. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Myself and my partner travelled to the Athena Beach to marry between 7th and 21st Oct 2009. We were staying on a bed and breakfast basis.
Upon arrival the reception staff were every so friendly getting us our keys very quickly appreciating the fact that we had a 5 month old baby with us who had had enough of travelling. Our room was a superior sea view room which was a decent size, with massive bed, plasma tv, fridge (which was very small and didnt hold very much in terms of bottled water, juice ..etc), a large wardrobe and table and chairs. The balcony was moderately sized too, with metal table and chairs. The one thing that you can't miss and you really can't fail to be amazed at is the view....it really is unbelievable, with the best sunsets you can imagine.
In general, no problems with the bedrooms at all, comfy yet basic. However when going on a beach/sun holiday i dont think you need a luxury room, after all you dont pay all that money to sit in a room do you!?!

Due to being on a superior room basis we were entitled to a "superior breakfast" which was really just breakfast in a different room, with the option to have it up to 11am. The big advantage however was...champange served every morning!! The food was buffet style with a member of staff making all things egg...omelette's, pancakes, fried eggs etc. The food was generally good, as good as you can get from a buffet breakfast.

The pool area was very clean, plenty of sunbeds and unbrella's with table tennis for those who can't sit still, a small water slide for kids, and 2 small baby pools. The beach was also clean however we never had very much experiance of the beach as it was very stoney.

The Bar within the hotel was a great meeting place for us and other family members who had travelled over with us and were staying at other hotels. Between 1900-2000 there was happy hour with all drinks half price. Approx 1.90 for a Keo (the local draft beer).

For those who are travelling to the Athena Beach for their wedding, i have to say we had a great experiance. Jayne the wedding coordinator was excellent, quelling all our worries, and sorting everything that we needed and more. Words cannot describe the thanks that we owe to Jayne. The hotel is a perfect location for gettting wed, we got married on the beach front which was perfect. We had 35 guests and the hotel catered very well for us all both with drinks and a lovely silver service dinner. The hotel were kind enough to supply us with a bottle of champagne and breakfast in bed the following morning. I really would recommend the Athena beach for anyone planning a wedding in Paphos.

My only criticism of this hotel was the very basic room i was given the night before my wedding. The hotel were kind enough to supply me with a room free of charge so i was away from my wife to be the night before the wedding. however it was very basic with 2 single beds a view of the car park and very busy road at the rear of the hotel. It didnt bother me due to being free and also for one night only, however i would be aggreived if i had paid the rates that they ask for such a room. So one piece of advice...pay extra for a sea view and if possible a superior room.

In conclusion, despite being a little basic and perhaps in need of an update in the bedrooms, this was an excellent hotel with excellent service from all the staff. Would defintely revisit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

myself and a group of 12 members of my family stayed here as my sister was getting married in the annabelle hotel. the hotel is good and i have no complaints whatsoever. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was excellent, it had everything you could want. The pool area is excellent and there were lots of empty sunbeds.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is in a good location with lots of restaurants, shops and bars without easy walking distance. my only criticism would be that the hotel needs an update, it all looks a bit dated.

good hotel though for the price and hopefully we will be back soon

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. We stayed 10 days in July. The rooms are clean but a bit outdated and without a wardrobe! Not very easy to store your clothes.
The restaurant is big. We never had the feeling there were a lot of clients in this hotel. Food was very good and the (mostly Russian) waitresses very helpfull.
But , what really changed our opinion about this hotel, is the 'reception' when you enter the restaurant for supper. The first days, some younger staff helped us to a table. The third day, an old (local) man refused to lead us to a table because our 15 year old son didn' t wear trousers but shorts. "Men have to wear trousers", he said and we were not allowed to enter the restaurant. We only had brought shorts for our son so we were not allowed to have supper. As simple as that. We complained at the reception where the advice was to leave our son in the room and bring him some food. We couldn't believe our ears. Only after negotiation with the manager, we were allowed at the restaurant , but at a table outside, so the other people couldn't see our son in his shorts. The next day we bought trousers during a trip. But the way we were treated gave us a unpleasant feeling about this hotel.
At the swimming pool, things weren't better. An older (local) guard kept an eye on the 'clients'. Although this hotel has a copy for adults only next door (Athena Royal Beach), Athena Beach itself is not recommended for children. Almost everything was forbidden in the pool - except drowning perhaps. The way this guard yelled at children and adults made us uncomfortable. And that is not what you're looking for on a holiday. Pity , because the moslty Russian and Czech staff was really helpfull and the location is very good as well.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#7 Business Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#12 Family Hotel in Paphos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel’s tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons® Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children’s playground with Kids Club. In the hotel’s Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym, a specially designated aerobics room and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and facial and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel’s restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.