We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed at this hotel august 10th to 20th with hubby, two children aged 7 and 12 and grandparents. It was fantastic, from start to finish. No checking in, cases delivered to room restaurant open late for late arrivals, champers on arrival, wine and fruit I room and mini bar restocked throughout stay. Staff all wonderful, especially Gabriel the waiter in reception, Cosmina in al la carte restaurants and Stevy on arrival. small niggle, the staff at the pool side bar were really quite miserable during the day and couldn't crack a smile even for my two very polite daughters when they went for drinks and ice creams. All other staff fabulous and very attentive.
If you want a sun bed by the pool, be prepared to rise early and lay your towel out, but further away from pool, not really an issue.
I personally thought the entertainment was average, a tad club singer-ish, but we didn't really sit in the bar area so only heard bits of it.
If you get a room at the front of the hotels the Main Street, there is a bar that has a very loud disco several times a week and the noise does wake you up but this didn't spoil a very lovely holiday.
Looking to return next year hopefully and would highly recommend this hotel, the service is second to none.

Room Tip: Chose Pool view rooms as those at the front of hotel are a tad noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    330
    107
    35
    16
See reviews for
363
618
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed here in August for our Silver Wedding Anniversay it was everything we could wish for. We were amazed at the speed of our check in computerised documents already filled in just a signature required to check in. Our room was a sea view with balcony and was lovely. Bathrobes slippers, beach and pool towels included along with tea & coffee facilities which were replenished each morning along with little milk pots. The a la carte restaurants along with the main buffet restaurant was amazing, so much choice you really are spoilt for choice.

The pools were lovely and clean and we're plenty big enough to accommodate everyone at the busiest time. Lots of comfortable sun lounges around on the grassy area, if you want one round the pool these are limited so be prepared to get up early. Each pair of loungers came with a parasol a chair and a table you didn't feel on top of each other.

There were no wristbands at this hotel, you had a little card which we initially thought would be a bit of a pain but you soon get accustomed to carrying it with you so no problem.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel everyone is friendly and helpful, special thanks have to go to smiley Georgia in the Atrium restaurant Agatha the hostess off the nectar bar this lady is delightful. Stavros nectar bar manager so funny and friendly and Gabriel a waiter with
the nectar bar who is speedy and lovely nothing is too much trouble for this lovely young man, and not forgetting Christos manager of the Adoniis bar all of these people helped make our holiday speacial.

Very near everything the harbour can be walked but is a short bus ride only 1·5 euros. Shops and restaurants outside the hotel, more bars and restaurants than shops if we honest. Dont worry about walking or taking buses the reception staff will call you a taxi around 8 euros gets out into Paphos old town.

This is one holiday we shall always remember and will certainly return to this hotel one day.

Trevor & Mandy T xx

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are what they are. The other rooms face over the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at the Athena Beach Hotel in August 2014 for 2 weeks for our wedding. All our guests and ourselves had the most amazing holiday. The staff were lovely - big thanks in particular go to Alina, Ovidu, Stavros and Adrian for making us all feel so welcome - the service was excellent! Also huge thank you to Jayne (wedding organiser) for all her hard work, she really did make our wedding day run absolutely perfectly and made us feel so relaxed. Loved everything about this hotel - premium drinks package on the all inclusive was well worth having n- cocktail menu was brilliant, food was fantastic particularly in the A La Carte restaurants which you can eat in twice a week, our sea view room was lovely, clean and always fresh towels etc. Location was also good with restaurants and shops just a few minutes walk away and about 30 minutes walk to the harbour. Only slight negative was that the men are required to wear long trousers for the restaurants in the evening which, when it was 40 degrees in mid August, made it a bit uncomfortable for them. Apart from that - absolutely fantastic!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here in august for our 10 th wedding anniversary we had the junior suite with our own pool for the minute we arrived we were treated like royality thanks to stevy she is lovely the room was amazing total paradise and the alacarte resteraunts are fab food was fantastic which is a lot for me to say as I'm a fussy eater paphos is beautiful and was nice to get around then come back to an amazing hotel cannot wait to go back didn't wanna leave :) highly highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Returned on 27 Aug after 6 days trip on my own. Sole purpose: suntan. Mission accomplished. 40 degrees heat, very humid. Be prepared. The hotel is not too far from the airport but if you don't know what Cyprus look like and you are used to for example Italy, it does resemble a barren land. Lord of the Rings style... For the first 15 min in the cab having passed nothing but sun burnt fields and building sites I seriously started doubting in the existence of this massive complex I had supposedly booked. But then the hotels started coming into view. Phew... I arrived at 2pm so right in time for check in. Very swift. If you are from the UK your plugs will fit and you don't need to buy converters from the reception. They tried to sell me one during the check in but I insisted I wanted to check if I needed it first - I didn't. I asked for a sea view room and I got exactly that 3100. Lovely room with bathrobes, beach towels, fridge, tea/coffee, TV and working air con. Nice balcony. OK, for some reason, every morning the toilet would start making a noise (around 7:30am) and then... it wouldn't flush. For about an hour. First day I went to reception to say it was broken and went out for the whole day. Nobody came back to me about it but when I was back it was fine. then I realised it was the same every day :) Minor thing. But listen out for the noise. Massive pool, outdoor Jacuzzis, indoor pool, small pool for the kids, water slide all the works. Mainly families with children, younger teenagers with their parents and couples. I was never bothered by any loud behaviour. There is no music blasting from any of the bars so it's nice and relaxing. the sun lounges are plenty but the rule seems to be (especially if you want to be by the pool): you come down to breakfast with your beach towel, you put it on the desired bed and off you go. You can be by the pool, on the beach or on a grass strip in between - very clever. Beach is mhmm, not exactly golden sand. Rocks, blackish sand and loads of seaweed but the pools are compensating for it plus there is a jetty for the guests going into the sea so you can jump from there into clear water. The water is beautiful. Location: turn left from the pool and after 10min you reach a beautiful church with the sunset point. Turn right and you will reach the harbour with all the bars walking along the seaside passing by all other hotels. there are no gates or anything, you walk freely through resorts. Or you can walk on the road and pass many restaurants on the way. Lovely Taverna Meze Corner opposite the hotel entrance to the right. I recommend. Overall I would recommend the hotel: many staff always someone available to help. Bars, restaurants - however it's cheaper to eat outside. Clean and fresh, nightly entertainment in the bars but all aimed at families, couples and older clientele. Loved it.

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view side. The higher up the better view. The other side comes out on the road. may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Returned last week after a 7 day premium all inclusive stay with husband and 13 year old son. Some many really good things:

1. Very clean room and hotel with stocked fridge in the room (soft drinks and beer) and bottle of wine and fruit on arrival. Room and sun bed/beach towels provided and changed daily. Comfy beds and pillows, good shower and easy to operate effective air conditioning. We didn't upgrade to a sea view as we didn't plan to spend a lot of time in the room and we understood seaview rooms weren't a lot bigger than the one we had and would have cost another 400 euros. In hindsight, glad we didn't bother as room was perfectly comfortable.
2. Two beautiful pools outside and one indoor. Again very clean AND large enough to accommodate everyone at a busy time without seeming too crowded.
3. Impeccably clean food preparation areas visible. Food of good quality, plenty of choice and 2 a la carte meals included in the Zephyr restaurant which were excellent. Drinks branded and good and served with peanuts!
4. Hotel virtually on on the beach (stony but very pretty) and good walk along the coast path to Paphos harbour.
5. Lovely spa at reasonable prices.
6. Some friendly staff ( Adrian in the bar and the super efficient Daniel in the Zephyr restaurant and smiley Georgia in the Adonis restaurant).
7. We arrived late (11pm) but one restaurant still open to welcome us. Quick and painless check-in and courtesy room for use for 30 minutes on departure date for showering before late flight home.
8. Good supermarket across the road and much cheaper than one in the hotel. Good choice of bars/eateries close by if you fancy a change.
9. Management presence/patrols shows interest and care in guest experience.

Some not so good but didn't ruin our holiday:

1. TV in room - poor selection of channels (Gold and BBC news) and reception hit and miss.
2. Wi-fi at a cost of 3 euros a day but it didn't work efficiently when in the room ( this should be included in price in the 21st century and at 4 star prices).
3. Sun beds around pool area reserved by guests from as early as 6.30am. People left towels on beds and some didn't return till much later in the day :-( However if you didn't mind not being by the pool, there were plenty of beds on the grassed area in front of the beach at all times in the day.
4. Card and signature system for absolutely everything consumed was cumbersome and laborious compared to wristband arrangement we have experienced at other all inclusive 4/5 star hotels.
5. Evening entertainment amateurish, old fashioned and lacking in variety.
6. Majority of staff (with exception of those mentioned above) were unsmiling and seemed miserable which "pervaded" our holiday. Many seasonal Rumanian staff struggling with the card/payment system and possible language issues caused them to seem grumpy.
7. Gym basic and equipment dated.
8. Had to pay extra for a room safe key.

Overall we had a relaxing week in the sun in a nice hotel through First Choice but, on reflection, I think it was expensive compared to similar places we have stayed in Gran Canaria and Portugal which took the shine off the 4 star rating for us.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from the 10th of August, for 10 nights. The rooms were lovely and clean! We were checked in quickly, and there was no issue with food, as we'd arrived quite late. We was told there was a restuarant in the hotel, that stays open for late arrivals which was great! The hotel has lots to offer, with quite a few different resturants, and it's on the beach front, which is beautiful. The pool area is amazing! So pretty! They were always sunbeds left, and they were placed right out onto the beach. Free towels were given which was also a plus! The food was great, I stayed bed and breakfast, and it was lovely, with such a variety! The rooms were always cleaned in the morning, and they made the extra effort to make sure we was comfortable with them cleaning it, at the time they came, if not they'd come back! So pleasant! The hotel has such down to earth staff, and everyone gives you a smile and hello! It is also in a great location, with lots of bars and restaurants! You can also take a walk on the pathway along the coast line, which is absolutely beautiful! Please visit this hotel, it's fab! And if your hesitating about visiting cyprus, please visit! It is stunning, truly gorgeous :)

Room Tip: I would try and ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#12 Family Hotel in Paphos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel’s tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons® Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children’s playground with Kids Club. In the hotel’s Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym, a specially designated aerobics room and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and facial and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel’s restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.