We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Thomas Cook representative” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Thomas Cook representative”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel has potential to be amazing, unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to experience this! I have travelled to Paphos on many occasions and I was visiting this hotel on my own as an all-inclusive customer.
I was taken critically ill during my holiday and was shown a lack of customer care by the Thomas Cook rep "Paul" and the hotel staff, all whom failed to assist me when I became too ill to help myself.
The rep was elusive from day one, I did not receive any paperwork from him. Although there is a rep's board I had problems locating him.
After three days of being unwell at the Athena Beach I was able to locate the rep this time and as the I could stand the pain no longer he requested reception to call a taxi to the medical centre.
Having crawled up the hospital steps, I received life saving surgery. I was not contacted by Paul my rep for a week. By this point his visit was an insult. When my daughter flew out to pack my things from the hotel she was assisted by the customer relations at the hotel and they were unaware of my admission to the hospital. Frighting that a lady by herself in an all-inclusive hotel was not missed.
Both the hotel and Thomas Cook rep showed no empathy and kindness and all correspondence from Thomas Cook have belittled the lack of support I received.
Due to the poor customer service by all concerned I would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    330
    107
    35
    16
See reviews for
363
617
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a weeks holiday here in June 2012. On the whole, first impressions were good, the hotel looks really grand as you come into the lobby area however the service and welcome were disappointing. We were really pleased with our room, even though we were facing main road you cannot hear any noise once you shut sliding doors. The grounds and pools are impressive however you do have to be out very early in the morning if you want a sun lounger in a nice spot as many people reserve these before breakfast.
Now on to the let down of the hotel...the food! Every single night the hotel portrays that they have different cuisine buffet, however they do not! The same LUKE WARM, BLAND food gets served up every night. We were put off eating at the hotel halfway through the week and ending up paying to eat elsewhere. We did raise our concerns with the general manager but were not satisfied with his response.
The location in my opinion is just right, it is close enough to the centre of Paphos to enjoy the shops, restaurants and night-life but at the same time it is far enough away to have a quiet holiday if you wish to. A walk along the seafront path at night is definitely worth a go, at a leisurely pace it takes around 30 minutes. Things we enjoyed in the area were the adventure golf that is a short walk away and the archaeological sites in Paphos. On the other hand I wouldn't recommend going to the zoo as the animals didn't look very well looked after and the supposed 30 min bus trip was an hour and a half.
I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't plan on eating here.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The moment we walked in the hotel they welcomed us with champagne & Cypriot delights, we stayed at the superior seaview room and it was just 'amazing' to hear the sound of sea & to feel the fresh breeze everyday. The room had the best expresso machine & the pucks are easily available at their variety store of the hotel.

We had a civil wedding & when I came down in my bridal dress to leave for the town hall the way all the ladies greeted us it just touched my heart and I will never be able to forget that. 

The buffet breakfast was delicious & grand and we had so much to chose from. The services were amazing. Cypriots are very friendly & helpful. We had a great time at the hotel & it's at the perfect location from where u can easily walk down to the harbor for shopping or go to any other restaurant (in case you want to try something different) best fresh seafood & Italian restaurants just at walking distance. The best sheesha cafe' (Marie Marie) good food & amazing view of the harbor ! 

Over all we had the best experience & we would love to go back for vacations some time soon :) 

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the moment we walked into this hotel back in 2010 we knew this was going to be the place where we wanted to hold our 2011 wedding.The hotel is spacious and elegant and the hotel gardens are well maintained the beach front location was perfect for our wedding,saying our vows to the sound of the waves and in the cypriot sun was truely magical we could not have asked for a better day.The service we received on the day of our wedding and throughout our 2 weeks at the Athena was excellent and our superior seaview room was amazing ,it was so nice to wake up and see the beach and sea every morning.We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was gorgeous with plenty of choice and as we were superior guests we could have a late breakfast and eat alfresco.Going back in June for our anniversary and husbands birthday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After returning from Athena Beach for the 5th time, i must say we were very disapointed, before this hotel went all inclusive we felt we were treated like royality the moment we stepped into the hotel. Very sad to say this but the hotel now feels like a cattle market, firstly waiting up to half an hour for a drink from the bar.The one thing which is still very odd, is the fact i was rudely told off for passing a ping pong ball in the main pool to my 5 year old son ( the game is called catch ).
i was told i must go into the kids pool to do this, sadly i could not do this because since this hotel went all inclusive they have now chosen to play volley ball in this pool twice a day ( around 20 grown men falling out and causing nothing but hassle ).
Dont get me wrong, the hotel is still very nice and clean, but the wow factor as been taken away from it.
On speaking to the manager i got the impression he thought the same, but said the holiday companys had forced this hotel to go down this route of all inclusive ?.
To finish: yes hotel for first timers, you will love, customers returning will see a big change ( not for the better )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The food was out of this world amazing - you didn't need to eat a la carte as the buffet area had so many varieties of cuisine.
The twin side view room was quite small for the price - we barely had room for the 2 suitcases.
There also wasn't any airconditioning in the corridors of where our room was situated which was strange and there was only one key given to a family which was also strange.

The entertainment was very good - especially a Michael Jackson tribute act.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in adjoining rooms with Mother & Mother in law and us in family room. Needed a bit of a refresh but very clean and good facilities. Bar and lounge areas were excellent and restaurant and food choice was very good. Pool areas were all high standard but beach a bit below par. Paphos was very nice with excellent Mosaics and museum area. Restaurants in town were also very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Family Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel’s tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons® Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children’s playground with Kids Club. In the hotel’s Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym, a specially designated aerobics room and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and facial and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel’s restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.