We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but some niggles.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good - but some niggles.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have to totally agree with BettyAlpha. We have just returned from our holiday in the Athena Hotel. We arrived late (approx midnight). The night receptionist was a little grumpy. Having never been there before we were not even told where our room was or where the lifts were etc. A map of the hotel would have been good and to be shown where our room was. The 'bell boy' told us that he would take our cases to the room for us and when he saw we were looking around - looking where to go, he showed us where the lift was. We had to find the room ourselves and our suitcases eventually followed us. We were a group of three adults in the same room. We had the usual two single beds and a put up bed. It was suitable (just) for our adult daughter. We were all inclusive and the hotel had left us three meals in our room (cold meats/salad) and a bottle of wine - which was good. We had a room overlooking the road on the 2nd floor. The next day we had to find our own way to the restaurant for breakfast. Food was good - however the food on the plates was lukewarm. They do fresh cooked omelettes, make your own toast, full cooked breakfast, cold meats, cereals etc, plenty for everyone.
There was plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, however did notice those that liked to reserve 'their' beds. We had lunch at the Leda restaurant to start with. Not impressed. Its like a works cafe and the food is lukewarm at best, and looked like it had been there for some time. We then discovered the food at the Adonis. Fresh cooked and plenty, only one person taking orders so a little wait, but once taken the food came quite quickly. The meals are big enough to have one between two, which we did after we saw the size the first time! We also had the problem with not being recognised as a party of 3 in the same room. Only 2 towels left for us the first couple of days. We had to contact reception a couple of times the first day to get another bath towel and the second day I managed to get one from the cleaner. At breakfast and evening meal - the tables were not set for 3 which was not good. I did complain to the holiday rep with what I called 'little niggles' only to be quoted '46% of our customers are returning customers......'!!! Not what I wanted to hear and not impressed! She did not take the room number when asked to sort out about the towels - only when I stood up and said by the way our room number is.......I also complained about the lukewarm food in the poolside 'restaurant' and she did not seem interested. I told her that she should eat there and see for herself - she told me that she does eat there!!
The card for all inclusive seems to be a little confusing. Some staff wanted two card if we wanted to order 3 drinks, others just wanted one. Also a little confusing about where you can eat at night on all inclusive. Never really did find out if we could have eaten in the Adonis bar at night on all inclusive.
Entertainment during the day - they need to come around the pools to remind everyone what's on just before. Other places we have been to come around and persuade you to join in. You do not keep looking at the time if you want to join in!! Evening entertainment. Agree too much going on at the same time. The entertainment on the pool at night is quite poor/amateur, except for the Greek night - very good.
Vera does deserve a special mention - she is excellent and deserves recognition.
The hotel is going through a refurb over the winter. Please do something with the outside - make it more welcoming please.
No WiFi in reception unless you pay for it - which is expensive. Other places we have been have had this facility at least in reception.
Mini bar in the room is not replenished which is rather strange when on all inclusive. Even the water was not replaced with the tea and coffee.
Good hair dryer in the room, not one in the bathroom. Iron and ironing board also in the room. Slippers and dressing gown for your use in the room and you can take the slippers home with you.
Pool side toilets need to be refurbished. They were 'ok' but need some work on them.
The sea view rooms need to be advertised as either partial sea view or sea view. There were some people complaining about their so called sea view.
Despite the 'niggles' we found it a good hotel and enjoyed our stay and would go back again. Next time though we would probably go for a bigger room if there were 3 adults.

Room Tip: If intending to have a room for 3 adults consider a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    347
    110
    36
    17
See reviews for
375
675
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Athena beach hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay. It's a lovely hotel great staff good food and good bars. Our only gripe was that we paid for a sea view room and the room we got (134) can hardly be described as a sea view, there is a large roof just below and the sea is way in the distance obscured by the roof. I think it's very naughty of the hotel to describe this room as a sea view, I've had better side sea views at other hotels. We arrived late at night and couldn't see the view so we unpacked and went go bed and by the time we saw where we were we couldn't be bothered to pack up again and besides we were told the hotel was full.I would go back to this hotel but I would make sure the room was what I paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor especially if you pay for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Athena Beach Hotel, both it and Paphos made for a truly relaxing holiday.


Room

We stayed in a Superior Terrace Room on the 3rd floor, it had lovely views over the hotel pools and out to sea. The room had a terrace with a table and two chairs and also 4 sun beds and parasol. The Kingsize bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spacious with a great rain effect shower.


Food and Drink

We stayed on the All Inclusive package, this was done via a credit card system rather than the usual wrist bands. This worked well although it often took a while for your card to be returned. The food at the main restaurant was probably the best we have ever had at a buffet. We never tried any of the a la carte restaurants as these had to be booked the night before and we were never sure what the menu was going to be.


Pools and Beach

The pool area was both well laid out and spacious. We never had any problems getting sunbeds with a parasol despite only going down after 11am. There are several jetty's allowing you to get into the sea but avoiding the rocks. Although be warned the sea can be very choppy.


Staff

The staff were all very efficient and friendly especially those in the superior dining room.


Entertainment

The only disappointing thing about the hotel is the daytime entertainment. This seems very poorly organised and you never know where and when things are on. See also the twice weekly music quiz which we only stumbled upon by accident. The evening entertainment is of mixed quality and is mainly duet and solo singers. Special mention to Anastazio, a former Eurovision entrant I believe.


Overall

We both loved our stay at the Athena beach and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday. Paphos is amazing too, we walked to the harbour every night (35 minutes) and this was a great way to walk off our tea. Although be warned the seaside path is very poorly lit and uneven in places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a late break with guaranteed sunshine in a comfortable hotel - and that's exactly what we got. Yes it's big, yes it's busy but it doesn't feel crowded. We always got a table outside for breakfast, always found sunbed/umbrella whatever time we arrived at the pool (how pathetic to see some folk creeping out at 7am, yes really, to lay claim to their place in the sun).
We did initially have one disappointment when shown to our seaview room - it was on the lower ground floor (not a high floor as requested). It transpires that all rooms not facing the road count as seaview however limited so be warned. However, when we spoke to reception, they offered to move us 2 days later when a room on a higher floor became available. Both rooms were spotless and spacious - and I know some people preferred the lower rooms as they do offer more outside space and your own loungers, just no real view.
The choice of food at breakfast was endless, with lots cooked to order, even porridge was on offer. I just wish hotels could get their act together over the coffee - horrible and not just at this hotel.
Being on a B and B basis we ate out locally most nights and can highly recommend both Cavallinis and Gabor.
Not sure why some people hold the hotel responsible for the quality of the sand or the rockiness of the beach?
So yes, to use a cliche, it does what it says on the tin - lovely pool, garden and beach area, good food, spacious rooms, very comfortable beds, well cared for public areas, excellent staff who work hard, oh and the 10% discount card for food/drinks for returning visitors is a nice touch - just remember to tell them if you've moved house in the UK since your last visit as it doesn't register it otherwise.

Room Tip: Seaview is worth it - always higher floors, especially if not seaview otherwise you could look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at Athena beach hotel 23rd sept, travelling as a group of 3 adults sharing the same room, all inclusive basis. first impressions of the outside are not that inviting other hotels in the area are more inviting with their entrance, but once inside the reception area it is bright, air conditioned, clean with comfy seating.
Reception staff were a little abrupt but we put it down to being early hours if the morning as the day staff were helpful.
Room was a standard room which over looked the road, which was only busy in daylight hours. The 3rd bed was a put me up bed - don't sit on the end of the bed as it may collapse!
Room was clean, beach towels and bath towels were provided along with ur normal toiletries dressing gowns and slippers. Shower was great it was a rain shower!
However it seemed that for the 1st couple of days the cleaner didn't recognise us as a group of 3. Leaving us only 2 hand towels and 2 bath towels and we had to contact reception on numberous occasions because of this!!!
Bewear if u book a sea view room some of them are "partial sea views" but not advertised as so!!! There seemed to b alot of complaints about this.
Beach - rocky/ pebbly/ lots of sea weed and need to use the jetty to get into the water.
Pool area - clean, numerous pools, water slide, water was a little cold but you didn't mind that because it was so hot in the sun! However most of the time you are left to struggle to put up your parasol by yourself which for some of the older clients is a struggle!
Meals
In general all meals are nice and plentiful they do seem to have an obsession with sprouts.
On the 1st morning we were left to our own devices to find a seat and suss out what we needed to!
Food some was hot others cold in the atrium, they really need to sort out the hot plates! Restaurant staff was very variable in the service. Most were pleasant but could of done with cracking a smile! Lunch time go and eat at the Adonis as fresh hot food of massive portions one meal between 2 would do us! Leda meals were cold don't eat there! Also we found that most of the place settings in the restaurants were set for 2 and trying to squeeze 3 people on a 2 table can be a little tight
Bar - special mention to Vera one if the only members of staff that diserved a mention! I think she possibly needs to run a course for the rest of the staff, smiley and had a little banter would ask how you are.. Drinks are good worked our way through the cocktail menu, drinks easily labels what was included and what wasn't.
Entertainment - average felt that there was too much going on at one time. One act in nectar bar another act on the pool island and they are in close proximity. But holiday cheese acts mainly!
Surrounding area
Paphos only short walk away we did it in 30 mins along the costal walk. Good to see the mosaics and roman ruins, a regular bus service runs €1 single journey and €3 for all day travel.
We also hired a car to visit the tomb of the kings, Limassol and Aphrodites baths all worth a visit. Word of warning if you are going into mountains the roads seem to be never ending winding!!! But good views and we visited the kuddos monestry

Main niggles,
Not being recognised as a group of 3 so left the 3rd adult feeling very left out
Restaurant staff could do with being a little more friendlier, with some banter for the guests (you had a good day or some other pleasantries) or even cracking a smile.
Lack of help around the pool
Lack of a map of the hotel so you know where the facilities are
They also need to make it clear what is included in the 'all inclusive' as its not clear with the restaurants

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding and our stay was Ok. The service was great but the rooms were very average, especially considering the price! Facilities were all well maintained and clean. Hotel is well positioned on the seashore but unfortunately, as is common in this area, the beach was rather rough and rocky and the sand was not any good for making sandcastles with! Approx 30-40mins walk to the centre of Paphos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a large hotel which I was told was fully booked, but never really felt crowded. The reception is an imposing welcome to the hotel with a great view out over the gardens. Check in was fast, efficient and friendly with attentive staff and porters. The room was very comfortable with good air conditioning, a very comfortable bed and a well-appointed bathroom all kept very clean, nice touches included the bathrobes and slippers. I only stayed bed and breakfast but it was an ample spread with plenty of hot and cold food available. The pool area and beach are very well maintained and kept clean and never felt crowded or regimented.
On the down side the hotel shop did seem very expensive, but just across the road is a small parade of shops including restaurants, a bar and a minimarket. Just down the road is an area known as the triangle with more bars and taverna’s with a couple of good lunchtime spots, The Crocodile and The Black Rose being amongst the best and with the best fans to move the air about. The coastal path is a great and interesting walk into Paphos itself taking 20 to 30 minutes on a flat path illuminated at night. A frequent and rliable bus service also runs from outside the hotel into the harbour area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#14 Family Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel’s tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons® Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children’s playground with Kids Club. In the hotel’s Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym, a specially designated aerobics room and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and facial and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel’s restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.