We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Cyprus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SHROPSHIRE UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First trip to Cyprus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Hi all
Stayed at this hotel 13-20 June 2012.
Start with the room first:- we stopped in a superior deluxe terrace with seaview.
The bathroom I found of poor quality, cheap and dated suite and missing a bidet, which we both find useful when the weather is hot as it is in Cyprus.
Wardrobe also of poor quality, plenty of coathangers, but a definite lack of draw space and also including the safe.
Bedroom itself was great, bed really compfortable and the linen was so compfortable, I slept like a baby every night, good flat screen tv with a few uk channels, tea and coffee making facilities and also an expresso machine, the first 2 expresso cartons were free after that you pay, we also had a bottle of wine and fruit waiting for us on arrival in the room.
Our balcony was large with 2 sunbeds, 2 loungers and 2 plastic chars with a plastic table.
On arrival because we had booked a superior suite, we had express checkin, you sit down drink champagne while a wonderful lady called Odile sat with us and checked us in, which was a nice touch.
We could have used the separate restaurant for people who are booked into superior rooms but as we had travelled with another couple who were booked into a standard room we used the normal restaurant where I ate like a Lord for the week we were there, I could have burst, trying all the delights on offer, the restaurant was well set out and even when busy a couple could still sit opposite each other having a romantic meal and seem there was no one else in the room.
The pool area and surrounding area was perfect, nice sunbeds brollies and trees to shelter under and a couple of bars for snacks and drinks and the area was always kept clean and tidy.
We tried a couple of the shows on in the hotel at night time and enjoyed them, especially 2 english guys called The 2 Amigos, very good indeed.
Overall service in the hotel was good, only occasionally abrupt, alot of the staff are non Cypriot.
On the rating for the property I have only awarded it an average score which is based on comparative hotels and prices on properties I have stayed in and the price difference between the standard room our friends stayed in which was good and similar to the superior deluxe terrace room we had, except for the balcony.
If you are staying at the Athena Beach Hotel have a wonderful time.
All the best
Mark

Room Tip: Go for higher floor and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    347
    110
    36
    17
See reviews for
375
676
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My 19 year old daughter and I have just returned from a week in this hotel. Considering all we wanted was relaxation this was fine, if my husband had been with us we would have moved hotels...our initial room was like a broom cupboard, when I asked to upgrade to a superior room the reception staff, who were very superior, eventually made this happen, a day later. All other staff were extremely polite and accommodating. The new room was fine, although above the Nectar Bar so we were 'lulled'...not,. to sleep every night until midnight to the local crooner. The overall decor is dated, its a little like walking into a 1970's hotel. Weddings were every day, 4 last Saturday, but each had their own theme!! The sunbed dawn chorus is absolutely ridiculous...some sunbeds are saved all day and no one appears? There has to be a better system it really is quite comical to see guests staggering down at 6.30am no kidding to baggsy a bed!! Would we go back no, climate great , stakk great but hotel tired.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at The Athena Beach Hotel in June 2012 and had a fantastic time. The hotel was great value for money. We had five star service and a four star price. The pool area and gardens are beautiful and the sun beds are nicely spread out so you never have to sunbathe on top of other guests! The beds are super comfy too with the soft mattress covers. Only problem was that you had to get up early and get your towels down if you wanted to nab a parasol. I dislike having to do this but it was the only way to get some shade. Some other hotels near by had a reservation policy which would have been great but it really didn't spoil the holiday.

Food was brilliant. I have stayed at five star resorts which haven't catered so well. Large selection of food for breakfast including hot english breakie, fruits, ham, cheeses, eggs made to order and freshly made pancakes,waffles, breads and pastries. We had lunch at the restaurant near the pool a few times and this was great too. Really beautifully cooked (swordfish, steak baguettes, chicken gyros pitta's, burgers, sandwiches, salads etc) and reasonable prices considering you are in the hotel. And a LOT of food! The drinks were also very reasonably priced, again being in the hotel I would have expected higher prices but we were pleasantly surprised. And 50% off drinks at happy hour 7-8pm was an even bigger bonus!

The rooms were nice but nothing amazing. If the rooms were a little more luxurious I would definitely have guessed at a 5 star resort but the rooms and the corridor areas looked a little basic. They were spotlessly clean and provided everything you could need but just slightly basic fittings.

Staff at the hotel were incredibly sweet and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

My sister got married here and the Wedding was beautiful. She choose the large gazebo which was the best option due to the number of guests and HOT weather, as the gazebo provided some shade. She was very impressed with the wedding co-ordinator (thomson) but I would have liked to have seen more of her on the day. The hotel however were really great. The gazebo looked beautiful, dinner was really yummy and everyone had a great day! Such a beautiful setting for a special day.

All in all the holiday was perfect. Paphos area itself is a really nice base. There is lots to do if you want it, ranging from jeep safari's, buggy and quad biking trips around the island which were GREAT FUN, boat trips etc. The harbour area is lovely (30min walk along the sea front from Athena or 10min bus ride) and not tacky considering the number of tourists. A huge choice of restaurants and bars to choose from and a lovely place for a relaxing evening. There is also bar street if you want lively bars and clubs but if that is not your thing don't worry as it is set back and you don't even know it is there. Loved Cyprus and our holiday! We didn't want to come home x

Room Tip: Sea view is lovely if you can afford a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Athena Beach for 10 days this June, we could not fault the hotels cleanliness, the politeness of the staff and the overall experience of staying in this well run hotel. We loved it from the moment we arrived, the reception area was flawless. There were a lot of weddings going on which didnt seem very personal with a whole load of half dressed people staring while you said your vows! People did seem to allocate sunbeds to themselves at some ridiculous hour of the morning! The breakfasts were amazing with lots of variety and the food tasted very good, the staff were very cheery at all times and could not seem to help enough. Our only complaint was the courtesy room, as we had to check out at 12 noon and our flight was not til 11pm, we booked a room to shower and get changed, due to the very hot weather, lack of sufficient air conditioning and the smallness of the room, it was extremely uncomfortable. That said, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Travel away from tourist area for food, its well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we loved it, staff were so friendly and helpful, weather glorious! Food lovely, only slight complaint was sunbed situation, people reserve them and seem to go missing for most of the day,

We are back to Cyprus this year but staying at a hotel nearer to the harbour which allocates sunbeds to ur room number, will let u know if we've done the rite thing as I loved Athena beach!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just back from a week at the Athena beach, great hotel with incredibly helpful and friendly staff. The hotel boasts it has the most comfortable beds in the world and they most certainly were. Food was excellent, just too much of it! Enjoyed happy hour of cocktails in the Nexus bar overlooking the beach complex. Rooms were well equuipped and clean, the only downside was our initial room was on the first floor and immediately above one of the function rooms which was being used for wedding discos- we complained (as it really was annoying) and reception moved us to a superior room on the third floor which was amazing. It is best to be on a higher floor to get the best view and if you can afford to upgrade to a superior room then it is well worth it (this also allows you to eat in the more salubrious restaurant (the Zephyr) which is good.
The Athena is a big hotel with some 641 rooms and it is sometimes a problem getting a sunbed (the usual thing happens where people reserve them at 7am!), if you want a quieter experience then go next door to the Athena Royal beach which is adults only and has only approx 160 rooms and has a much more sedate feel to it around the pool area.
Walking into Paphos takes about half an hour but is a pleasant walk along the beach path.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor if you can for the best view and be away from the disco noise if the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Family of 5, going to Paphos for the first time. The hotel was very clean, and so was Paphos, which we appreciated very much after bad experience in Crete & Corfu. The staff at the hotel was friendly, especially the animation staff. A lovely hotel, where we met 2 x families who have been coming over and over again. On an HB basis, we still had to buy our drinks, including water, every night (13 euros for a bottle of local wine, 3 euros for soft drinks, which is a bit heavy when you have 3 x kids, 1.70 for a litre of water) We appreciated the fridge in the room where we could put away some water etc. bought at the local supermarket. One big downside = the inland view rooms face a bar / restaurant across the very busy road; so it;s loud with music and loud with trucks, cars, jeeps, pick ups, coaches, etc all the time. Those rooms are also the reception area where wedding coaches, taxis, etc.. pull up constantly. We are likely to go back but we will have a sea view or nothing. The beach is not great but still good enough. YOu need to walk down a floating pier to get down in to the water as it's too rocky & shallow to go in straight from the sand (coarse sand but at least did not fly off every where in the constant breeze). The Spa until offers massages (no treatments) but I was told they will work on it as it has not been opened very long. Pools were fresh water ones, which was lovely, and the chlorine was not excessive. Lots of weddings took place (2 per day sometimes) which really was turning those ceremonies into some chain production but I guess the brides never noticed... By the way, it's windy so make sure your veil is securely fastened.. and that you don't mind walking across lots of people is swimsuit and flip flops.. : )

Room Tip: Do not get an inland view - very noisy road + bar / restaurant playing music late into the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#14 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel’s tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons® Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children’s playground with Kids Club. In the hotel’s Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym, a specially designated aerobics room and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and facial and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel’s restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.