We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in Paphos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Almyra Hotel to your Saves list
Almyra Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Paphos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Well situated. Easy stroll into harbour area. View of ancient citadel from room. Breakfast on herb filled terrace was relaxing start to the day. Long lazy lunches and dinners. Loved the sea front restaurant. authentic experience. One off best tennis courts encountered in a hotel. Looked after by Helle who made our wedding anniversary delightful. Fab range of ice creams at poolside! Will return. You can always count on weather in Cyprus.

Room Tip: Upper floors for great views of harbour and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, we are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    271
    88
    35
    23
See reviews for
290
363
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived late on Sunday 9th June to a very warm welcome from Maria. This set the tone for the 10 days we were there, with the staff being excellent throughout our stay. Having read the reviews before we went to Almyra we were apprehensive as some said the best and some said the worst hotel they had stayed at! Maria welcomed us with a Cyprus coffee and it really was the nicest welcome we've had at a Hotel. We paid extra for a superior sea view room and this did not disappoint. We opened up the curtains on Monday morning to a glorious view and this was our view for the next 10 days. Yes the rooms were basic in their furnishings which was what other comments had said but the view more than made up for this and the cleanliness was great. Hotel towels I have found to be very different in quality but these were some of the best I've used. The food got very mixed reviews, but in the 10 days we were there the food was excellent throughout and never faltered. It was tasty and varied and really well presented and I can not find any negative comment to make about the food as it was excellent though the whole stay.
Price was mentioned in previous reviews as a negative and this was possibly the one thing to detract from the positive reviews. The wine and drinks were expensive in the restaurant and bar and the same bottle of wine was 4.92 euros in a supermarket as opposed to 22 euros in the restaurant. This is what one might expect to a degree in a hotel but over 10 days the price does add up. Ok so this hotel would have got a 4 star review from us but the staff were outstanding enough to make it a 5 star.
Too many to mention but I must try to name a few:- Maria when we arrived on the 9th and when we left on the 19th was the warmest, friendliest and most welcoming lady we've had the pleasure to meet. Eleni in the mosaic restaurant made breakfast a pleasure every day with her beautiful smile and her attentiveness. Also Elena was wonderful throughout the whole stay especially as my husband thought she looked like Sandra Bullock and this made it that much easier to enjoy her warm welcomes. Andrew also from the restaurant was an asset to the team along with Ciprian. From the reception bar Magda set us up for the evening with a lovely cocktail. If you go between 18.00 and 19.00 these are much more reasonably priced. Markos put the most beautiful flowers in the water feature at the front of the hotel which was lovely to see every day.
The location of the hotel for a first stay in Cyprus was excellent - close to the harbour and a lovely walk to the nearby bars, restaurants and shops Overall I want to want to say thank you for a wonderful stay at Almyra! Would we return? Yes absolutely............

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Its lovely to hear from you. Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Almyra, for your first holiday in Cyprus, and I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the team, which is always happy to hear from our guests.

I really hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Almyra again soon. Please contact me directly at mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com if I can assist you in any way at all.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just got married in Cyprus and we were staying at Almyra for our honeymoon. It was just excellent we had a great time. The room when we arrived was lovely and had a great view of the harbour, the breakfast in the morning was great you had so much to choose from and the buffet dinner at night was fantastic could not fault a thing. The staff were very helpful. There was a lot of children staying at the hotel so if you are on holiday with your husband there is an adult pool which is very quiet and relaxing to just read a book and sunbath and they great sunbeds not your plastic sunbeds. We will be back for our anniversary or just a holiday.

Room Tip: The superior sea view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have just had a lovely week at the Almyra - it's advertised as good for families which I'm sure it is as the staff are all really friendly and seem genuinely happy to be around kids
I loved the infinity pool which is adult only so a lot quieter than the main pool which was just what I wanted - for location it is about 5 minute walk to the harbour which is a lively place with loads of restaurants and bars - also was at this time of year safe for families as the restaurants are also very welcoming
The beach is not the best so if you're after a sandy beach then try somewhere else.

The buffet restaurant food was excellent with lots of different flavours from Italian to Japanese - breakfast was also excellent

The Spa was wonderful although the treatments are not cheap but I had some wonderful treatments and would recommend it

Only couple of faults the bath in my room was tiny anybody over 5ft 6inches and an adult would not be able to lie in it!

It is the sister hotel of the Anassa and Annabelle ( which is next door) as a guest you can use their facilities it would have been nice if there was a transfer to the Anassa available as a taxi is prohibitory expensive to Laatchi

Room Tip: Go for sea view it's worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Almyra. The adult pool and spa facilities were brilliant. The many bars and restaurants were excellent and all of the staff were attentive, helpful and professional.

I loved the many additional touches (like lanterns in the olive trees at night and live music each evening) that hadn't been advertised online. The hotel was on a beautiful stretch of coast and only a five minute walk into the centre along a pedestrianised path that stretched several miles. We had wonderful early morning walks!

Yes, the food and drink was pricey when compared to restaurants and bars in Paphos town, but the prices were nothing when compared to prices in major cities or high-end resorts.

As a child-free couple wanting a romantic holiday during the school holidays, we had been quite nervous about the family friendly reputation of the hotel. We really shouldn't have worried. The family area of the hotel is completely removed from the adult areas. Only at meal times in the buffet restaurant did we encounter children. Eating later in the evenings made things much quieter.

The hotel was very family friendly. I was incredibly impressed by the staff's response to often quite rude demands from parents. I watched one mother hand a waitress a dirty child's bottle and demand that it be sterilised and then filled with warm semi-skimmed milk. The waitress smiled and brought it back as requested a few minutes later. The children's pool was also covered and shaded by a pretty sail-cloth covering on sunnier days. This hotel definitely caters to the pickiest whims of the Boden wearing Mumsnet brigade - but it also offers space for the rest of us to relax in peace.

We chose the most basic garden view room and loved it. The room looked over a pretty, well landscaped grassy field. In keeping with the art-deco theme, the room was sparsely but attractively furnished. We appreciated the turn-down service where our post-pool shower before dinner mess had been tidied away, our towels replaced, the bed made and our night clothes laid out each evening when we returned for bed.

We rented a car for a day and the staff organised the rental for us and gave us directions and tips to help us enjoy our day out.

Finally - as we had a late night flight home, the hotel provided a courtesy room for us to change and get organised in before we left. Such a wonderful treat!

The only potential downside to this property is the lack of a beach - but the infinity pool feels like it falls into the sea and there are several small beaches only a few minutes walk away.

We loved this hotel - thank-you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: For adults on your own, try to get rooms closer to the spa and away from the kids' pool (115-130...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback about your recent stay and our team. Our aim is for all of our guests to have the most memorable and enjoyable stay with us, and it is rewarding to know you have lovely memories of your holiday. I have communicated you kind comments on to everyone.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed the tranquility of our award winning adult only Almyraspa pool, which is a wonderful area for guests who would like a quieter area to relax and enjoy the sea view.

We hope to welcome you back to Almyra soon,

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a really relaxed stay at the Almyra. The staff were exceptionally good, friendly and smiling and happy to attend to whatever you needed. The hotel was lovely, both swimming pools were great with fantastic day beds and loungers, however, I think in high season there might have been a bit of a fight for sunbeds because even though the hotel was not full there were a couple of occassions where there were none free around the Spa pool area which we particularly liked. We stayed half board and the food was good although it was a little samey after a week. We stayed in an inland view room, and the view wasn't particularly pleasant, overlooking the rooftops of the buildings below and the road, so would definitely pay a bit extra for the sea view rooms. Overall though a really nice relaxing stay which I would definitely repeat in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a garden or sea view room, inland view faces onto the road although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I would recommend this , not often I can say this about places I have visited it was faultless .the staff the food the location snd people were all fab could have stayed for much longer there is a adults pool as well as a children's fab place for a wedding so relaxed from the minute you step inside

Room Tip: Sea view I would recommend but were ever you are in this hotel you will enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#22 Family Hotel in Paphos
#26 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almyra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.