We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant but minimal hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almyra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Almyra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 96 hotels in Paphos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant but minimal hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in september with some friends who were visiting from uk. we both requested sea view rooms. We both got sea view rooms but our room was allot more spacious and cosy than theirs. We both had balconies, but ours had space for 2 chairs and a table while all they had was a large window. It was a shame for our friends but we had a great time overall.
In the afternoon we went for a snack at the pool bar and was shocked to see the single pizza cost €14!!!
And all it was not all that!
I should note that the place was immaculately clean and the sheets were changed daily. Staff was also friendly and helpful.
Overall we enjoyed ourselves and might consider going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    239
    85
    34
    22
See reviews for
259
319
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a inland view room and i was shocked a 5* hotel would let out a room of this standard. The floor was painted concrete and scratched there was a 6ft mirror just leaning against the wall (which i was told was a design feature) there was no dressing table and the room looked very empty. The bathroom had tiles missing paint flaking off and dirty looking grouting. The next morning i went to reception to ask if we had been given the room by mistake as i didn't think it was ready to be let out but was told yes thats how the rooms were.We were offered another room that had a tiled floor so took that as it was better with a dressing table and mirror attatched to the back of the door although the bathroom was not much better. Food in the restaurant was ok nothing special.

The really good things about this hotel is its location which is handy for everything. The staff are really lovely and do everything to make your stay enjoyable.

I stayed here in 2000 when it was the Paphos Beach and the bathrooms don't seem to have had a re-vamp since the first time i stayed. We were left very disapointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am pleased you experienced a welcoming service from the team.

I am sorry that your first room did not meet your expectations, The Almyra style is minimal in design, and the floor mirror leaning against the wall is a quirky element of the design which I appreciate isnt to everyones liking. With regard to bathroom tiles being missing in the bathroom, this is definately not our usual standard, and were fixed when reported. I am pleased we were able to offer you an alternative room.
We are continually maintaining and improving our rooms & hotel. During the last few months we have been completing extensive enhancements in all areas in the Hotel. Therefore should you decide to give us another chance which I hope you do, I assure you, you will not be disappointed with the standard of the Inland View room, or any the 10 room categories you may chose.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Superb hotel in an magnificent location. The sea view is awesome, the city view is also very nice and one can take a stroll to Paphos' old harbour which is picturesque.
Top personnel, splendid facilities, superb service, all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay in the Almyra. This trip including flights was just £340 ncluding all meals, transfers, late check out and sea view room and was one of the best hotels for service I have ever stayed in. I include Raffles in Singapore and The Peninsula in Hong Kong and this hotel was just as good not as opulent but service was second to none you could not fault the staff.

Food was good ,enough choice but having said that I am a foodie and will try anything. The dining could be taken in The Almyra or the Annabelle next door our dining room was quieter and I preferred our dining room to the Annabelle which was busier and noisier. You could dine a la carte for 15 euros extra in both hotels that was well worth the extra money and was a lovely treat. The Ouzeri bar on the ground floor by the sea was just amazing the meze was to die for !! The hotel rooms were spacious and cleaned every day the only slight irritation was the shower screen was too short so the floor was very wet after showering.Beds were very comfortable though. We had a sea view room and what a view it was brilliant.

All the seating areas in the hotel and outside were lovely and comfortable and the setting was just wonderful I would highly recommend this hotel. The only fly in the ointment was the price of the drinks they were just so expensive. Cheapest bottle of wine was 24 euros or a glass of wine 9 euros, bottle of water was 4 and cappucinos were 4.50 euros . The bars in the surrounding areas were good value for money so there was no real problem.

I went with a girlfriend,two ladies of 50 something and we would definitely go back and will be looking out for another bargain next spring. The temperature was hovering around the 22 degree mark with just two cloudy days, still warm but more hazy, the shorts stayed on and only later in the day did you need a light jacket or cardigan. Fingers crossed for another bargain next year !!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view room beautiful and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had read all the reviews on TA & have to admit they were spot on.

The hotel is modern & attractive with the most helpful staff imaginable. The buffet choices were great & we chose to pay extra one night & eat at the sister hotel, Annabelle. That cost us an extra 15 Euros each but it was fabulous.

The only irritations have been mentioned already, ridiculously high prices (cheapest bottle of wine 23 Euros) so all it does is encourage you to drink across the road at a really friendly local bar where half a carafe of decent red wine is 5 Euros. Also take a travel kettle plus tea & coffee as they charge 3.50 per day for 3 sachets of Nescafe I believe.

All in all excellent value (deal from Travelzoo) gorgeous weather & fab food!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable 6 night stay at this hotel in early March. It's a large hotel with loads of facilities - spa, three pools, sauna, steam room plus a wide choice of eating and drinking possibilities, indoors and out. We were on full board on a great deal, so had planned to eat out if the food wasn't great. But it was really very good indeed and we had every meal in the hotel. It's in a good location, a short stroll from the harbour and the archaeological site, though not the place to be if you want a beach. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped with a fantastic sea view. It was such good value we'd find it hard to fault it - other than perhaps the wi-fi which was a bit erratic. We'd certainly recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony or sea view (this side gets more sun) so worth asking if these matter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay at Almyra, I have passed your comments on to the team, which is always motivated to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you very much for your review, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We're just back from a week's holiday in the Hotel Almyra, it was fabulous. We were there on a half board basis and I cannot praise the standard of food highly enough. They have a buffet style breakfast, where you can have a full cooked breakfast or a very good variety of continental style breakfasts. The Chef is always there to prepare your choice of omelette, fresh crepes and waffles over and above what is already presented. The evening meal, because of the time of year, was done buffet style too, when the weather heats up they offer a la carte, although if we had wanted it we could have gone to the sister hotel, next door. Once again there was a very large variety of foods prepared, I would certainly say something to suit everyone. On top of the foods already presented, each evening there was a chef available with a different roast each evening, who carved it fresh for you. The booked only a basic room, which was excellent and spotlessly clean. We also had our own sun terrace, because we were on the groung floor, which was very private and great for sunbathing. The staff were very attentive and cheerful at all times. The hotel was quiet in the evenings, with a pianist or singing duo for entertainment. Overall the hotel was excellent value for money, it would be very hard to beat the level of comfort and standard of service, along with the quality of food elsewhere for the same money. The hotel is also in a great location, with only a very short walk into town, literally 5 minutes.

Room Tip: We chose only a basic room and were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Paphos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#21 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#26 Family Hotel in Paphos
#29 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almyra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.