We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with good service and food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Elysium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with good service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We loved the architecture and detail of the hotel, as well as the layout of the gardens and terraces. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly, courteous and personal. We felt very welcome. Although the prices of drinks and food - as most reviewers are saying - is high, the way it is presented and served is at least 5 star. Also the staff at the spa and gym were very pleasant and helpful. The buffet diners were not really value for money but we understood from the chef that much has to be imported at Cyprus, which apparently drives up the price. The a la carte restuarants were good and service standard high. The hotel's website made our choise easy, what you see is what you get. We do not agree with others that the rooms are not big enough. When we looked at alternatives when we were there, the maisonnettes looked great, a little more expensive though. For us, Paphos was not an interesting place. Not much to see and very touristic. The beach is small and has not much to offer, but at this side of Cyprus, the beaches are not too great. My advice to the hotel is to offer free internet as you now have to pay 10 euro a day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    304
    80
    31
    18
See reviews for
520
1,113
42
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

The Elysium is a very good hotel, made special by the staff who are really great. Fabulous location, fabulous facilities, but...! The rooms are definitely not up to a good 5 star standard, being quite small and even having an ordinary over-bath shower complete with tacky plastic shower curtain. The second thing to beware of is the profit mentality of the hotel where everything is twice as much as it should be - a bottle of water with your meal, that will be 5 euros thank you, or a pot of coffee for 2, that will be 9 euros thank you! And so it goes on with multiple prompts for extra tipping on top. Having been to many 5 star hotels you do see great variations on on-site pricing from some hotels who provide great service AND realistic pricing, and those who provide great service and take your eyes out - this hotel is definitely in the latter camp.
The other major problem is that the hotel does not have the balance right between managing the prolific number of weddings going on, and looking after the normal holiday makers who have paid good money to be there.
The wedding parties come along and usually seem to comprise of 20-30 people who are loud around the pool, and who are clearly not the normal 5-star clientele - without being snobby they dont know how to behave, or simply dont care, but they do cause friction with other guests. The weddings must create a huge profit stream for the hotel, but if you are going to the hotel for some well-deserved peace and quiet, you may well be disappointed.
Despite all of this, it is still a very good hotel, but not the perfection that some visitors have suggested.
There are many great restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, so you are better doing your own thing if you like trying different places each night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My wife and I have just returned for 10 nights at the Elysium Hotel. Overall we had a lovely time there and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and its facilities.
The good points are the peace and quite that the hotel offers with plenty on sun beds though there was an outbreak of “the laying of the towel” on a few occasions but that was the exception rather than the rule. The staff are extremely helpful and all have a smile and a hello when they see you.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic and always easy to get served though one Sunday morning it did struggle to accommodate the sudden influx of guest late to rise who may well have been locals who were there for the weekend for one of the many weddings that the hotel hosts. I should add that the weddings themselves don’t “take over” the hotel and many have happened without you even noticing. Only at night on two occasions did you hear any music from the wedding celebrations and these stopped at a reasonable time when we were there.
The pools were all very clean and the gardens are lovely. The Royal Pool is lovely and private but because the area is sunken without any sea breeze at was like a furnace at the height of the sun at mid day. There was always a supply of fresh towels in the room twice a day and the high quality toiletries were always replenished and house keeping was always done before mid day and sometimes before 11 in the morning.
I celebrated my birthday at the hotel and was presented with a lovely chocolate fudge cake with chocolate sauce delivered to my room on my birthday.
Just a few grumbles. We had a Royal Studio which of course allows you the use of the Royal Pool. However, the room which was on the fist floor is described as sea view- which it is certainly not as the trees between the hotel and the Tomb of the Kings obscures the view and you can only see the odd glimpse of the sea. The Studios are of course very spacious but the better sea views can probably be had from the higher premier sea view rooms in the main building. Prices at the hotel are not cheap even taking into account its five star status. This is also due to the poultry rate of sterling versus the Euro.
The main road just up from the hotel is a big disappointment. More than just a few Sky sports bars serving full English and not forgetting Karioki. There was the odd reasonable eating establishment but we ended up in the harbour on a few nights, as despite the menus being much the same at least the surroundings were more pleasant. You can walk to the harbour in about 45 minutes along the coastal path (I timed it at a steady stroll).
All in all it was a very relaxing holiday and the hotel certainly lives up to its five star billing. But if you are eating and drinking in then remember to take you wallet!!
Ps and note re the touts – just say “no thanks” before they even get the chance to get their “hello are you English” question! It only happens the fist few days and then when you are sporting a bit of a tan they assume that you know all about their scratch card scam – we saw a few couples falling hook line and sinker!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Just returned from a two week stay at the Elysium, actually our third visit. This hotel is the benchmark against which we measure all others - and they've raised the bar even higher! Room spotless, staff fantastic, food great, pool and beach areas super (there was no beach the first time we stayed), they even surprised us with a cake for my partner's birthday. We like to explore new places - but, I've no doubt we'll be back to the Elysium before too long.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I have just returned from the Elysium and have to say that yet again my stay was superb. I had a sea view room which was immaculate, as was the rest of the hotel. This was my second stay at the hotel and even though the hotel was busy the service was impeccable, maybe even better than my previous stay. We stayed on a halfboard basis, this was well worth while as the food was excellent. For a small suppliment you could select extra dishes (additional £5) in the a'la carte restaurant. The food was superb. You can also use your half board credit towards a meal in the Italian and Sushi restaurant. Breakfast was fresh and a great selection - just what you expect from a 5* hotel. The drinks at the hotel were expensive, especailly champagne or champagne based drinks. We had a lovely relaxing break, at the moment the spa is offering good discounts and while I didn't take advantage of this we did use the gym and again helpful staff and very clean. I am a Travel Agent and am lucky enough to stay in some superb hotels - this is definately one of my favourties and I will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at The Elysium back in 2007 and decided to go back for our honeymoon this year - hoping that it is as lovely as we remembered. We were not disappointmented! The standards and attention to detail are as good as ever and it made our honeymoon extra special.

The weather is also a big plus an we didn't see a cloud in the sky. The hotel is fantastically positioned to take advantage of this with ample loungers and an amazing vantage for the sunsets!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We had a warm, friendly welcome to the hotel with a porter taking care of our luggage even before we'd stepped out of the taxi! The hotel reminded us of The One & Only Royal Mirage Hotel in Dubai. We had a fantastic deluxe room with x2 sea view balconies! Therew as a bowl of fresh fruit waiting for us and we instantly felt ourselves unwind! The weather was schorchio and we had plenty of choice as to which part of the pools or grounds we wanted to sunbathe in. There was waitress service around the pools and the hotels cute private little beach was a stones throw away from the pool area. The beach wasn't golden white sands - but nice enough.
There was ample choice for restaurants! There was the Lemonia buffet dinner which had amazing selections of food and REAL lemon trees growing around the outside eating area, Bacco - 1st class Italian food with REAL grapefruit trees growing in the outside grounds of the restaurant & pictures of famous guests such as Matt Daemon on the outside, O'Shin Sushi Bar - which created amazing Japanese food that the waiters described and explained perfectly, Mediterraneo Restaurant which was on the sea front and had splendid views and a welcoming cool breeze - plus there was a simple bar food menu around the pool and desserts with fabulous cocktails at the Astria Bar near the reception! My favourite was the Strawberry Collins!!! Hick! I heard a lot of people (mainly British) complaining about the price of food in the restaurants in the hotel - but my argumenet is what do you expect in a 5 star hotel?! You pay for excellence in my opinion - and that's just what you got! Amazing food, drink and service! You could not complain really! There was the option of entering into a discount dining scheme called "Dine Around" and it knocked of at least 10% each for your food (not drink) - if you used your "Dine Around" voucher at the buffet meals, then you didn't pay anything more for food - it's all included in your voucher price. Desserts were FABULOUS!!! Everything was hand made, fresh and of a very high standard! EXCELLENT!!! The hotel also put on themed nights such as Cyprus Night - Yiamas! which was REALLY GOOD FUN!, Asian food night, Itlaian night, BBQ, Japanese sushi night etc... So lots of entertainment and choice was available. You really couldn't fault it!
Beware of the "champagne" and "Kir Royale" offer as you sit down to your meal - it isn't free!!!
There are areas very close to the hotel to visit of hisorical interest - such as The Tombs of the Kings (right next door!) and the harbour area next to the 3rd & 4th Century Mosaics & ruins. Very well worth the visit - even if it isn't normally your thing. There are also golden sandy beaches a short way away North of Paphos in an area called Coral Bay. We went on a boat trip on a catamaran which was nice - but try and get on a smaller catamaran if possible as ours had x50 people on it and it wasn't as much fun as the ones I've been on in the past.
The hotel doesn't seem to have air conditioning in the common areas and there isn't wi-fi access in the hotel rooms which I found very strange in a 5 star hotel?
There were small weddings & do's going on in the hotel when we were there - but this didn't interupt our holiday at all - and you hardly ever saw any wedding parties. However... there was a HUGE Cypriot wedding later in the week which had x400+ guests!!! BEWARE that Cypriot weddings start later than British weddings at around 5pm and then go on till 6am approx! This wedding was FABULOUS! They had a HUGE marquee in the grounds near the beach and then a stage set up for a beach party later on after the meal. However... There was VERY LOUD music which went on untill 4am and having a sea view next to a beach party wasn't a great mix!!! The hotel did apologise the next day and supplied us with a free bottle of wine and allowed us to stay in our rooms the whole day on our last day when we were supposed to check out at 12pm.
All the staff were brilliant! From porters, reception, waiters, pool side, bar staff etc - everyone was a pleasure to meet - always a genuine smile & helping hand at the ready!
The evening entertainment after the themed evenings was quite limited with an excellent resident Cuban band playing in the Astria Bar each night. Although they did tend to go off for breaks every hour or so for 15 mins, which left you in a state of limbo when you'd just got into the rhythm of things! There were some rather unpleasant British bars in the village down the road from the hotel which showed the usual football & sports on large screen TVs - but we found Fat Mamas a hoot with some cabaret and a FAB atmosphere!
The hotel's Spa was excellent with 5 star features! I would highly recommend the facial which rehydrated my skin after a weeks worth of intensive sunbathing!!!
Overall I would highly recommend The Elysium! Fantastic holiday!!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.