We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Elysium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We have just returned from a week at Elysium. It is a beautiful hotel there is no doubt about that however we would not return.

Reasons:

Air conditioning not good enough! Bedrooms and public areas still very hot!
Too many English people
Too many children
Most of the guests were the sort of people you would expect in Benidorm
The area it is in is ugly, Paphos itself is also not nice, full of Irish pubs, chinese restaurants etc.

Nice things:

Lovely public areas
Lovely pools
Nice bars and restaurants
Good breakfasts

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    304
    80
    31
    18
See reviews for
520
1,112
42
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We were lucky to find out about Elysium from trip advisor, it was rated one of highest hotel in paphos for quality and service. We had earlier booked in Coral beach resort, but trip advisors reviews saved our honeymoon. So, here is my honest feedback:
Good Stuff:
Location: Fantastic, close to the shops and the harbour. All walk away distance.
Staff: Fantastic: Guest relations (Rita and Cynthia), Waiters, Restaurant managers, they were extremely helpful and made the extra effort to fulfill your whims and fancies. They would do whatever it takes to make u smile. There was a lady on the reception (don’t remember her name, but she was short with red hair). She gave me some good tips to take my wife for a romantic dinner around town. She was really helpful till we sat in our taxi on our departure to the airport.
Prices: Very expensive, but if you are looking for quality, then don’t complain about prices, if u are looking for cheap food and drinks, there are other cheap hotels in paphos one should explore. I didn’t mind paying for anything, as we wanted a good experience and not commodity & we were happy to pay for the experience we received from Elysium.
Food: Breakfast buffet is exhaustive with a fantastic range of everything. We only had supper once in the hotel on our last romantic night, it was a bomb on our wallet, but as I mentioned earlier, we really enjoyed the special attention service & experience and it was worth every penny spend.
Room for improvement:
Internet: Usage on internet and charges are ridiculous. One has to pay 12 Euros per day and can only use it in the lobby. A good hotel being so stingy about internet usage is a no no.
No kettle in the room: If u want hot water, call room service and they might charge you 2 Euros for using room service, which is a bit ridiculous. Though we asked for hot water & honey daily (no charges), they charged room service only once when we ordered for an ice bucket to enjoy our complimentary champagne on our last evening at the hotel.

Would I stay there again? DEFINITELY YES (and wont even bother looking elsewhere)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We recently travelled to the Elysium to get married. We couldn't have picked a more amazing venue! Some of our guests stayed at the hotel for a couple of days with us on the lead up to the wedding and they were equally impressed.

The wedding co-ordinator at the hotel, was fabulous and made our day a complete dream.

You cannot fault the staff at this hotel at all. They are all equally as friendly as each other. They certainly make you feel special (no matter what your bank balance).

I would agree with some of the other reviews, in that it was very pricey. But at the end of the day it is a five star hotel, so you kind of expect it to be expensive. Although I didn't at anytime feel ripped off. In fact, we had wine left over from our wedding, which the bar staff kept labelled in their fridge, so that of an evening we could ask for a glass! You wouldn't get that in the UK!

We mainly ate out, whilst here and would highly recommend Olivetto, Chloe's and Zaffron. All within walking distance, with suberb food and good value for money. If you want something a little more traditional, San Marino was fantastic. i had the best Moussaka ever!!!

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone getting married, or wanting a holiday where they feel totally spoilt!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed here for 11 nights during the end of July, with my partner, her sister and a 4 year old girl.

Its a beautiful property, with a great layout, fine choice of pools, and great staff - mostly.

However.....

I read beforehand about the food prices, but this place is crazy. I reckon we were spending about about 140 GBP just on the food in the buffet, and then you have to add on the drinks. 35 GBP for a cheap bottle of wine is simply a joke. This lead to manyh meals costing in excess of 200 GBP for a fmaily of four.

Lunch was often in the region of 150 GBP. thats just pushing ti far too hard in my opinion.

The reception staff are in the most, completely un helpful.

The guidebook in the room states that if you want to order a packed lunch, "simply" call the front desk. "Oh no, you have to call room service for that sir". which I did.

"Oh no, you have to fill in a form for that sir............."

Then, considering it was 32 DEG C outside, I went to colect my over priced packed lunch for our family day out on a boat, to find it is waiting in a box. What use is a box of fruit, juice, sandwiches and salad in a box on such a hot day?

I asked for a cold box "No". so I had to walk into the town and buy one. Not really what I would expect again from a 5 * property.

and why should they take a 20 Euro deposit for each beach towel? given the prices, what is that all about?

The staff were very nice and friendly mostly. The rooms were very clean but somewhat dated for the price.

All in all, I would not visit this property again. they are pushing the prices way too high, and it makes you feel like they are simply milking it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Fantastic hotel. Great rooms. Great for kids too. Great sunlougers. Fab breakfast smoked salmon and champagne availible. Great lattes! relaxing break. friendly staff.
For restaurants (we stayed b&b) we used the recomendations on here and were very happy with SIENNA first class. Adelaida, Metaxas, Theos,would not reccoment the Harbour restaurant althought looks good. Fat mamas is ok for the kids very blike tgi fridays. Fab overall holiday! Also I noticed some people said the coridors were narror, I noticedthis when we had a coutesy room. But the area where our room was had a big open space outside. And our room was just a standard room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband and I returned to the Elysium for our 5th wedding anniversary on a B&B basis. We booked our flights direct with BA (we went to the Londa Hotel in Limassol for our second week). We booked our accommodation with Olympic Holidays. This worked out cheaper overall - we got a 2 week holiday for just over what a week would have cost brochure price.
We went to relax as it's been a hectic couple of years. So our days consisted of sunbathing, going to the gym and deciding where to eat. Key things about our experience of the Elysium:

Pros
- very clean rooms
- good service
- lovely hotel, has the wow! factor
- lots of beds around the pool, on the grass and by the sea
- fantastic location for the sunset
- well located for restaurants and bars nearby
- well equipped gym
- one of the best breakfast buffets we've been to in Europe

Cons
- a lot busier at the time of year we went in mid-June, particularly among young families
- the beach is not as clean as it could be - it hadn't been cleaned, there were bottles and caps on the beach and a plastic bag in the sea near the shore when I went there
- noisier in the hotel, a lot of human traffic along the corridor from guests and staff.
- very expensive drinks!

Recommendations for places to eat:
Metaxas - fantastic food, great value and wonderful staff. We ate there 3 times!!!
Phuket Thai - lovely food, nice setting, we ate outside and the planting conceals the road.
Pizza place at the top of the road next to Duomo's. Really good pizza and greek salad.
Raffles - they were really accommodating to our request for a selection of starters. Standard reliable fare. Dessert was a bit of a disappointment for hubby.

We would recommend this hotel - take your credit card if you plan on eating and drinking there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

\we just stayed for 5 nights at the Elysium. It's a wonderful hotel, large, selection of restaurants, wonderful service, large rooms and great gym and pools. The pools are large but way too warm. The beach is small and cool but filled with gargabe. The service is amazing and the location of the hotel allows for easy access to other points. The spa seems wonderful but way overpriced. The gym is terrific and the indoor pool a great break from the heat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.