We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel drinks a little pricey, but it is a five star hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 95 hotels in Paphos
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab hotel drinks a little pricey, but it is a five star hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Fantastic hotel. Great rooms. Great for kids too. Great sunlougers. Fab breakfast smoked salmon and champagne availible. Great lattes! relaxing break. friendly staff.
For restaurants (we stayed b&b) we used the recomendations on here and were very happy with SIENNA first class. Adelaida, Metaxas, Theos,would not reccoment the Harbour restaurant althought looks good. Fat mamas is ok for the kids very blike tgi fridays. Fab overall holiday! Also I noticed some people said the coridors were narror, I noticedthis when we had a coutesy room. But the area where our room was had a big open space outside. And our room was just a standard room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,303
    245
    65
    34
    18
See reviews for
414
905
39
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband and I returned to the Elysium for our 5th wedding anniversary on a B&B basis. We booked our flights direct with BA (we went to the Londa Hotel in Limassol for our second week). We booked our accommodation with Olympic Holidays. This worked out cheaper overall - we got a 2 week holiday for just over what a week would have cost brochure price.
We went to relax as it's been a hectic couple of years. So our days consisted of sunbathing, going to the gym and deciding where to eat. Key things about our experience of the Elysium:

Pros
- very clean rooms
- good service
- lovely hotel, has the wow! factor
- lots of beds around the pool, on the grass and by the sea
- fantastic location for the sunset
- well located for restaurants and bars nearby
- well equipped gym
- one of the best breakfast buffets we've been to in Europe

Cons
- a lot busier at the time of year we went in mid-June, particularly among young families
- the beach is not as clean as it could be - it hadn't been cleaned, there were bottles and caps on the beach and a plastic bag in the sea near the shore when I went there
- noisier in the hotel, a lot of human traffic along the corridor from guests and staff.
- very expensive drinks!

Recommendations for places to eat:
Metaxas - fantastic food, great value and wonderful staff. We ate there 3 times!!!
Phuket Thai - lovely food, nice setting, we ate outside and the planting conceals the road.
Pizza place at the top of the road next to Duomo's. Really good pizza and greek salad.
Raffles - they were really accommodating to our request for a selection of starters. Standard reliable fare. Dessert was a bit of a disappointment for hubby.

We would recommend this hotel - take your credit card if you plan on eating and drinking there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

\we just stayed for 5 nights at the Elysium. It's a wonderful hotel, large, selection of restaurants, wonderful service, large rooms and great gym and pools. The pools are large but way too warm. The beach is small and cool but filled with gargabe. The service is amazing and the location of the hotel allows for easy access to other points. The spa seems wonderful but way overpriced. The gym is terrific and the indoor pool a great break from the heat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Went to Elysium for our 30th aniversary, had a deluxe seaview room. Hotel very striking with structural (nice) suprises around every corner! The staff were brilliant and so helpful . Most relaxing break we have had in years. Food was great in the a la carte, but a bit repetitive in the buffet. Drinks very expensive & aggravated by the reduced exchange rate. Would definitely go again for special celebrations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmp67
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Elysium was a disappointment on many levels. This was once a luxury hotel where the owners are now penny piching and it shows - frayed towels, stained curtains, cheap toiletries - one bar of soap at the beginning of the week that was not replaced - and on two occasions our room wasn't made up. The high prices for water, drinks and meals constantly gave the impression that you were there to be exploited to the full, as well as an automatic default to no on any requests from reception. Throughout our stay our room was not cleaned until 4pm, nevertheless a request to keep our room until 2.30 on the day of departure was met with a no. The Italian restaurant was a complete rip off and the only decent food at a reasonable price was the Asian restaurant. We had a pleasant restful week that could have been so much more enjoyable with more flexibility and 'fairness' on the part of the hotel owners. What a shame....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapamiltiadous, Management of the Elysium Hotel, Paphos. at Elysium Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2009
We are always pleased to read our guest reviews on Tripadvisor and their experiences about their stay here at the Elysium.

The comments on the reviews, are a most helpful tool that enables us to constantly evaluate and improve our facilities and services and within this perspective they are thoroughly appreciated, considered, and respected.

We feel compelled to respond to the review posted on 13th July 2009 by Tripadvisor Member gmp67, as it does not reflect an objective and just image of a reputed and well established 5 star property such as the Elysium, a hotel which is a member of the Great Hotels of the World, is constantly receiving awards and accolades from many prestigious Travel Industry partners and also enjoys a high ranking of customer satisfaction amongst the reviewers of Tripadvisor.

Referring to the comments of Tripadvisor member gmp67, in a more detailed way, we would like to mention the following:

-The linen of the hotel is not only of the highest quality, but is also checked very thoroughly on a daily basis to ensure that it is maintained in an impeccable state.

-The toiletries we currently use are Prija, a line used in exclusive hotel properties around the globe.

-The rooms are serviced on a daily basis and this is a constant procedure monitored by our Executive Housekeeper. Even in the event of a “do not disturb” sign, a note is placed under the door asking the guests to contact Housekeeping whenever they are ready to have their room serviced.

-Late check-outs are amply provided to enable our guests to enjoy their stay at the hotel up until the last minute, obviously subject to availability, ensuring at the same time that our arriving guests have their rooms available at least by the standard check-in time.

-In regards to the prices, they are in fact in line with all other 5 star hotels in Cyprus.

Thank you

Management of the Elysium Hotel, Paphos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We chose the Elysium after researching on trip advisor and were not disappointed!

We paid for a deluxe room with a sea view, the room itself was perhaps a side sea view but we could see plenty including the fantastic sunset. The balcony was in fact a terrace and also had views over the pools and the royal suites opposite which had subtle changes to lighting throughout the evening. The room was smaller than I would have liked but very clean with excellent air con.

Breakfast was ok, sat inside most days because there were hundreds of sparrows outside that had no fear in landing on the table to pinch your food. If you are inside at breakfast you will undoubtedly hear the very energetic omelette maker (think he was called Marios), he is very friendly and chatted very animatedly to anybody who wanted an omellete. If I'm honest he got on my nerves but 10/10 for effort. The food is varied and fresh but the coffee not great and fruit juices were from concentrate. The previous reviewer should have tried it as it was nothing like what she was worried about.

We only ate in the restaurants in the evening twice, the first night in Epicurean which was good and on our last night had room service which was surprisingly excellent. The food in Epicurean was very good but wine was ridiculously expensive. Slight confession, we must have been drunk as we can't remember what we ate. Room service cheaper than the restaurants and in our experience better, being a room service virgin I was more than happy overall with the experience.

Restaurants to recommend outside the hotel include Chloe's, this is an excellent Chinese, there is one in the harbour area and one just a 10 minute walk if you turn left past the tomb of the kings towards Coral Bay. A huge menu with good service, if you like spicy the chicken szechuan is very tasty.

Next door to Chloe's near the hotel is a place called Olivetto, you can cook meat (fillet beef, duck, veal etc) on a very hot stone at your table, not particularly successful for us but a novel concept all the same (be warned - you have to wear a hideous golden bib for protection). The same company owns both Chloe's and Olivetto so the wine list was the same, again very varied and much better value than in the hotel. There is also a wine shop between the two restaurants that we used to buy wine for the room; you can buy ice from local shops to help cool. *Tip - regardless of the warning on the mini bar, in the room, that non-hotel goods will be taken out, they weren't so feel free to move things about to squeeze in a bottle of wine bought elsewhere at a massively reduced price*

Sienna restaurant was a little further away in the same direction, about 15 euros in a taxi but the food was excellent, definitely recommend the Keftedes (meatballs) and Kleftiko (slow cooked lamb).

The hotel pool area is good, the service from the many bar attendants also very good. We spent a couple of days by the pool but most days on the grass area overlooking the sea, fantastic! The loungers are very comfortable and there are plenty of parasols for everybody.

The walk to the harbour area took us about 30 minutes on the coastal route and about 20 on the road. There are plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and a very large supermarket if you need anything (oh and a McDonalds to help the wallet and sit under air con).

The Tomb of the Kings is literally adjoined to the hotel, whilst not thrilling (for us), at under 2 euros you should check it out.

The only negative and something I suggest you check is internet usage, it is very expensive and on one occasion didn't log us off, the charge was 150 euros. The hotel backed down immediately and took the charge off suggesting this happened regularly! Free wi-fi should be provided!

Overall, this is a beautiful and clean hotel with attentive and efficient staff. A wonderful holiday that went far too quickly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I would just like to say that this hotel is amazing, and the best hotel we have stayed in, doubt very much that any other hotel will come close. The rooms were so clean and towels were changed twice a day. The staff were always friendly and polite, nothing was too much trouble.
Whilst sat around the pool they come round with cold face towels which were brilliant.
Breakfast was really good, plenty to choose from and cooked infront of you.
Only thing was we booked through Cyprus Dream Weddings who co-ordinated our wedding, and because they made a mistake and didnt charge us for a DJ they held back on things we did pay for. Wasnt impressed. Be very careful with this company, get prices for everything as you dont know how much they are charging you for extra's.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#5 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.