We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Cyprus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Elysium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Arddleen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love Cyprus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel, very relaxing. All the staff we came into contact with were very helpful and friendly, everywhere was kept spotlessly clean, and we felt very comfortable in the well kept surroundings. The grounds of the hotel were very attractive and the pool area was popular with families. The grassy area near the tiny beach was quieter for reading and sun-bathing.

For exercise we walked to Paphos every morning before breakfast, along the scenic coastal path. We used the main restaurant every day for breakfast and dinner, lovely food and plenty of choice. Wow, expensive drinks though.

My only gripe would be about our room, which was pleasant enough inside but looked out onto the front of the hotel, where guests would be dropped off or picked up by coach or taxi at all times of the night! It was very noisy and frequently woke us up!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing out onto the pool area of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    304
    80
    31
    18
See reviews for
520
1,113
42
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Where to start - from the moment we entered The Elysium we knew we had made the right choice. Professional and courteous welcome on a late night arrival, cooling welcome drink and a charming doorman to take the luggage to our room. We stayed in a Cyprian Maisonette which was an excellent choice - spacious over two floors, two beautiful bathrooms, walk in wardrobe, comfortable lounge, quality tv, super king bed (best nights sleep in years) and a fantastic sea view from our terrace (room 1002). Air conditioning and ceiling fan kept the room at a comfortable night time temperature. The maisonette was spotless and immaculately cleaned each day with fresh Molton Brown top ups as required. Mini bar had some of the lowest prices for such a facility that I have ever seen.
The hotel is so spacious that although nearly full you never felt crowded anywhere. Sun beds always available around the varied pool complex, inside pool invariably deserted.
We had the half board option - breakfast with an enormous choice, good quality produce especially the fruits which were some of the best I have ever had. Good coffee and even the tea tasted as it should - glass of fizz anyone!? Marios the omelette chief was the "Ted Bovis" character of the place - ever present and with a warming larger than life personality. Buffet dinner was again of a very good standard, wide variety on a themed night basis - steak, sea bass, salmon, lamb based dishes with sea food starters and pasta dishes being particularly good.
Service everywhere was exemplary, seemingly totally genuine and so so keen to do a good job and please the client. Marina befriended our 5 year old and even gave her two bracelets at breakfast - most kind and our daughter loved it. The kids club is another fantastic facility with Rachel and Anastasia being outstanding in providing that key respite from the sun for little people. Our daughter was totally comfortable from the moment she stepped into the club and ended up going most days out of her own choice and loving the experience and the two girls.
Stunning beach party looked a must - even with the little ones - we regretted turning up too late. Cocktails superb in all bars with a proper kick.
Only downsides - poor wi fi and beach being very small but with such a good pool complex it wasn't a great miss.
We stayed at Coworth Park (Dorchester Groups 5 star country house near Ascot) a month previous and I can confirm that service standards here are even higher than that excellent operation. We will definitely be back - one of those places that exceed all expectations!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

For the third time running I have stayed at this hotel, this time I took my 2 grandchildren
My granddaughters went to the kids club, this was not my attention , their first afternoon there they wanted to go back
Rachael and her staff were excellent with the children, they participated in so many activities and all ages were tailored for, the care they received was second to none
I had no concerns what so ever of leaving my 2 grandchildren in their care . A very big thank you to the staff at the kids club and I hope they are recognised for the service they provide by the management of the hotel
An excellent hotel once again however drinks are over priced, people would spend more money in the hotel if beverages were in line with competition with outside the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Having visited here earlier in the year it was a no brainer as to where hubby should take me for my birthday. A last minute dash to the travel agent and we were off.We had a wonderful time, and all the staff, with no exception , treated us as valued guests.From breakfast staff Luigi/Marina. Natasha/hairdressing,Yanis/Cedric in the resturants. We can't thank them enough.We laughed ! We learned about wine. We met some super folk. True Cypriot Hospitality is still there behind all their economic troubles. and were certainly are not going to give up on them, so back again soon i hope!
,

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade, but be polite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed 7 days, returned yesterday.
Great staff throughout the hotel, very polite and friendly.
Great spa, I played tennis a lot and they were very accommodating.
Lovely warm pool. Pool area very clean and well run. lots of sun beds, parasols etc.
Great food although buffets every night do get a bit boring.
Beach is very small with black sand and a bit grubby so we stayed by the pool.
Food and drink is very expensive. 900% mark up on local beer, which was a bit much.

May only real complaint is the rooms. We had two deluxe interconnecting rooms. I thought the rooms were small with tiny bathrooms. Should 5 star hotels really still have a shower head over the bath?? The room style was very Greek with lots of old and scratched wood, a little shabby with carpet stains. If you expect ultra modern, these rooms are not for you. We complained and were offered other rooms which were just the same so we stayed put.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights between the 3rd and 7th July to celebrate our anniversary. Having stayed before we just had to go back.
We stayed in a Royal Garden Villa with sea view and private pool. Excellent value for money for such exceptional accommodation, especially if you are seeking tranquillity and privacy. The Royal Villas further enjoy the exclusive use of the magnificent Royal Pool.
We had limited time so we wanted to eat in the a la carte restaurants that we missed out on last time.
All were excellent. If you are looking for fresh Lobster or prime Kobe beef steak then try the MEDITERRANEO, Cedric the wonderful maitre de ,will really look after you.
If you prefer something more romantic then you must try the Italian restaurant called Bacco.The ambiance of this torch lit courtyard is wonderful, you really felt that you were in a quiet corner of Tuscany.
However we thought O'SHIN the Japanese restaurant was the best all-round , this is not to take anything away from the others but the food was simply exquisite.
When dining in these particular restaurants please try the Cypriot wines, they were surprisingly good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Full service hotel great for a relaxing getaway for whole family. Very prety hotel very child friendly. Has Kiddy pool and great playroom.
2 improvements needed. Playroom closes to early, no place to play post dinner. Need to have toys out by the kiddy pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.