We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every aspect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Elysium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in every aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Cyprus during the first week of May 2013.
We visited Paphos for 5 days after being another 5 days in Ayia Napa. The west part of the island has been kept less developed in terms of construction and the landscape and sea is much nicer. Take a tour on 4x4 or quad in the Akamas National Park, and visit the inland between Paphos and Polis, very beautiful.
The Elysium Hotel is excellent in every aspect: in terms of service we were cocooned since our arrival letting us choose the room that better fit our taste (we visited 3 rooms with different locations/views), we made a late check-out and took benefit of a courtoisie room without extra-charge on the day of our departure. The food is very good, very nice breakfast buffet and a lot of choice for the dinner as several restaurants are available in the resort. The facilities of the hotel are excellent: private beach, very big swimming pools, spa, bars... We had a romantic dinner at the Bacco, the Italian restaurant of the hotel, very good food and service.
The price is high but so is the value of the hotel. If we come back to Cyprus we would certainly come back to the Elysium.
Only bad aspect: the hotel is really big, around 300 rooms, so expect a lot of guest if you go there in high season. It seems that the best moment of the year to visit Paphos is around mid-May as the weather is good and not too hot.
We totally recommend this hotel: E X C E L L E N T !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    287
    79
    31
    18
See reviews for
491
1,048
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I will not repeat all the superlatives that other guests have already written about this hotel. All the staff seem to love their jobs and the hotel management have pulled it off in terms of service and professionalism.
I agree with comments about other guests fro Eastern Europe who clearly now have the money to buy the most expensive rooms and are very demanding.
The wifi problems noted last year have now been fixed and free wifi is available everywhere in the hotel including the rooms, gardens and pools areas. The free service is speed limited to 1.2 / 0.2Mbps and is not enough to video conference but if you want to do this you can pay for a faster service. For all normal uses its perfectly adequate.
There was a lot of door slamming by other guests, which is a pity as in most other respects the hotel is quiet, the rooms and corridors are carpeted so you get very little noise from people moving around. The management should consider putting soft door closers on the bedroom doors to fix this problem. After all it's 5 star and guests should not have to put up with inconsiderate noisy occupants of adjacent rooms.
We had a rear facing room, and we were disappointed with the view over a dump site and a rough ploughed field. We were offered another room which we accepted, but this was above the Astria bar and in this area you can hear the entertainment until midnight.
We travelled with Thomson and the price we paid was very good value, but you only get what you pay for and you will need to pay for the upgrade if you want a room with a good view. Maybe this does not matter so much at the Elysium, as the balconies are not very wide and you do not get sun loungers on them. Sitting in an ordinary chair for a long period I'd not my idea of a good time, so we spent all our time in more comfortable places around the hotel complex.
We thought the walk into Paphos along the sea front was uninteresting and only did it once, but the mosaics when you get to the end are world class!
The drinks in the hotel are silly prices and hardly any of the guests frequented the bar in the evening. This was disappointing as socialising with other guests is a big part of our vacation and this was very difficult when the bar is almost empty all night.
We paid for half board and this was good value. We ate at the buffet every night and the variety and quality is excellent. A different theme every night and four courses - it seemed like the quantity of food you normally only get on a cruise!
There are a lot of sparrows nesting there, mainly in the balcony foliage of the side facing rooms - one of the reasons we did not pay for an upgrade. Being dive bombed for leftovers at breakfast everyday became a little tiresome.

Well done Elysium, a very slick operation, please address the things we have commented on and we will return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I didn't stay to Elysium however i went to visit one friend that was staying there. She has 2 kids at the age of 3 and 8 and that's my point. At the Angels kids club i saw for the first time a woman enjoying her job : was A M A Z I N G !!!! Specially with kids and with kids that are not yours. She was very friendly, funny and the kids loved her. we had our coffee with no worries! I was totally impressed by her total behavior and attitude towards all the kids that were there. I've been all over the world so i don't get easily impressed by the luxury standard of the hotels in Cyprus but i totally want to congratulate the Angels Kids Club for the perfect staff!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days, the staff couldn't do enough to help with any small problems we had. The pool is lovely and large and very child friendly. Loved the walk down into paphos but always preferred coming back to the peace and quiet of the hotel. Would never stay anywhere else in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a lovely week here 21-28 April and chose it after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The staff were first class, so friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, with the jolly chef, probably more than the evening buffet. We had got a deal where we got a free upgrade to half board from bed and breakfast; this was great as having to pay on the evening would have been 39 euros each (not worth this much). We upgraded a couple of times to the Italian restaurant which was superb. The drinks were pricey and so sometimes we went up the road to local bars which were very reasonable with lots of offers. It would be a good idea for the hotel to have a "Happy Hour".
We loved the spacious grounds and there were lots of sun loungers with umbrellas and attentive staff. There was a lovely coastal path to Paphos harbour (about 35 mins).
We paid extra for a seaview room, and it was first rate, but would agree with another contributor that it could get very hot on the balcony in the late afternoon (too hot to sit comfortably on some days) so wouldn't want a room in that situation in the summer.
If going to Paphos again we would definitely stay here

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from lift if there are mobility problems. Seaview rooms lovely in spring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was in this hotel from 28.04 till 9.05.2013.First , a few disadvantages :
- small outdoor swimming pool
- impossible to leave the room without bang the door
If you prefer swimming in the sea , it is the perfect choice (remember that in this area there are no big sandy beach). I was with 3 years old son and we have about 10 meters of sand to play and swim. Not too much , but enough . THe crystal water compensate all.For those who prefers swimming pool rather than sea I would advice the Paphos Amathus.
The main- absolutely perfect service , not typical for Cyprus, very friendly stuff.
Good restaurants and food . The same price for the equal quality food in the city .

Room Tip: Absolutely necessary to book at least side sea view ( with fully booked it could be road view), Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Being located on the edge of the trashy bar street tourist area-- this place makes the perfect escape. A great hotel to experience for all seasons. Splendid waterfront views also overlooking Tombs of the King archaeological site and very long seaside trail- making it also nice for nature/fitness lovers. Family friendly. Great coffee and excellent sushi restaurant!

Room Tip: choose the private chalet with your own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Family Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.