We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not the standard of a 5* hotel - be warned!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos to your Saves list
Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidon Ave | PO Box 62381, Paphos 8098, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
SURREY, ENGLAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is not the standard of a 5* hotel - be warned!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Having booked with Soveriegn Holidays for our hoonymoon, we arrived at this hotel to find the standard was that of a 2-3* only. I beileve this hotel is misrepresented and should not be considered a 5* Hotel.

The main issues we had with this hotel was

1. The beach is non-existant and not suitable for children
2. General areas were poorly maintained
3. Plastic sunbeds with damaged cushions
4. Table legs balanced with newspapers
5. Rust aound the swiming pool
6. Rubbish at the back of the hotel
7. Windows not cleaned
8. Cats roaming around the pool bars
9. Cat excrement

Please see photo's

We moved within the day to the Elysium Hotel A real 5* Hotel. Interesting Sovereign are claiming this is still a 5* hotel - don't believe everything you read!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    193
    65
    33
    16
See reviews for
276
591
26
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at Amathus Paphos in July last year and had a great time. The hotel catered very well for our family and all our needs. A lovely break.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

Have just returned from a 4 night stay and was a little worried about some of the reviews before we went but there was no need to be.
Some people mentioned lots of soldiers staying there, if they were there we never saw or heard them - in fact the hotel seemed very quiet.
Hotel - a few reviews mentioned that the hotel was a little tired and while it looked expensive the furnishings were of a poor quality. We had a standard inland view room which we couldn't fault in any way - all was immaculate. The public areas were also similar and nothing looked cheap at all. A previous guest mentioned plastic sun longers (if that is all you have to worry about you should be very happy) which there were on the beach but around the pool they were wooden with lovely mattresses, nothing to complain about at all.
Drinks - I am aware it is a 5* hotel and that the drinks were expensive but I have travelled a lot all over the world and these are very expensive, to the point that you almost thought twice before ordering. There is a little supermarket across the road that you can buy drink from at a reasonable price, the hotel does tell you you can't do this though. Food was good and there was a great choice for all meals.
All in all a great hotel in a good location in the resort, the beach is non existent which is the only downside but if you walk 5 minutes along the seafront there is a great sandy stretch there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Stayed here for a week at the end of hotel and thank goodness we had the fab Amathus to stay at as the weather was dreadful, rained everyday!!! The hotel is great and definitely 5 star quality inside and outside, but this all comes at a hefty price. The poor sterling exchange rate didnt help as everything is expensive. latte at almost 5 euros, 34 euros for buffet dinner. I must say that the quality of food drink and service though pricey was very good, but if cheaper then the bars and restaurants would be busier and have a better atmoshere. Lots of decent restaurants close by. Chloes chinese in town was very good. Do go to the go carting great fun.
The worst thing is that the beach is poor, I wouldn,t even call it a BEACH JUST A SMALL STRIP OF BUILDING SAND!!!!.
Overall a lovely hotel with great service and food and would stay again and recommend to friends, hopefully next time the sun might shine!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

The hotel is okayish, but this is not what should be expected from a 5-star-hotel. Everything is made to LOOK expensive, but if you look closer, cheap materials are used, furniture is dated, and there is no love for detail. In my room, the toilet was apparently not prperly cleaned, it was a 1950ies style toilet anyway, not 2009! The plug from the bathtube was broken (a minor issue, yes, but not to be expected in a 5-star-hotel). Many more details of that kind. Staff was giving the impression that they were "just doing their job", but not that attentive. Again, not 5-star standard.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Hey everyone - i have spent many short breaks at this hotel and even attended a conference there once. The hotel is fantastic - i don't care about all the negative remarks that it's been getting lately, as i say it smells "set up" to me! The staff are great, very professional and the food is wonderful. OK the beach is not that good but I will go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

The hotels is beautiful. We had such a good holiday. We found the food to be great although the drinks were expensive. The best treat was at the Spa. The treatments that are offered were excellent. We stayed in a Junior Suite with the private pool but what surprised me on the Trip Advisor that there were soldiers staying at the hotel. The week that we were there we did not see one single soldier. We found the hotel to be very peaceful and the staff were fantastic. We found the staff to be friendly and professional. We would recommend anyone wanting to have a wonderful holiday as we did to go Paphos Amathus as we will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos

Address: Poseidon Ave | PO Box 62381, Paphos 8098, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#16 Family Hotel in Paphos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious five star Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos lies on the seashores surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and is just two kilometres from the charming fishing harbour of Paphos. Dining: Luna Rosa restaurant, with resident band, La Rotisserie, for a la carte dining. La Terrazza, for Italian selections al fresco and Asiachi for pan-Asian and Chinese cuisine. Byzantium coffee shop, Cocktail lounge. Pool bar and in-room dining is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Amathus Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.