We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos to your Saves list
Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidon Ave | PO Box 62381, Paphos 8098, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Amathus Beach is pretty good but falls just short of the very best in a few areas. The rooms are a little dated despite the refurb program - they are very "old school" which will, appeal to as many as it turns off.
Our bathroom was quite cosy with poor lighting, the beds were not joined together to make a king/queen instead 2 singles pushed together & made up separately.
The breakfast buffet is a wide ranging spread which should appeal to most tastes. The Italian buffet was also very enjoyable.
The spa offers a wide range of treatments - some competitively priced but many quite expensive.
The pool area is fine but the hotel allows beds to be claimed from some unearthly hour & inevitably many are not used all day which is very frustrating.
Wifi (slow speed) is free - a faster option carries a charge....why do hotels do this in the 21st century ?
The hotel is going all-inclusive soon and to be frank this will probably mean I never stay here again as I fear for the atmosphere that will be generated by some holidaymakers who will not be able to resist the lure of free booze.
All in all, majority of staff very friendly; front desk are a bit cold but restaurant guys are very helpful on the whole.
Amathus Beach is a fine hotel but in my opinion just not quite in the top echelon. Our last trip to the nearby Elysium topped it.
If you fancy all inclusive then this is the place for you; if you want to avoid the Brits on tour element; possibly one to treat cautiously.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmathusReservations, Business Development Manager, Amathus Hotels at Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, one of The Leading Hotels of the World and the Leading Golf Hotels, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely Yours

Katerina Yennari
Business Development Manager
AMATHUS HOTELS
Tel. +357 25832000
Email: kyennari@amathushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    193
    65
    33
    15
See reviews for
279
592
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to the hotel. Wonderful holiday. Lovely hotel. All staff friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble for them - a credit to the hotel. Excellent food and good wine list. We have booked for next September, after which the hotel is being sold and will become 'all inclusive' for 2015. Not a good change as 'all inclusive' conjours up bad vibes for many people. I do hope this does not attract the wrong type. It's a shame as many have been guests for a number of years and I believe they may not embrace the 'all inclusive' holiday. I am sure the hotel will lose some, if not all, of it's 'little extras' - bath robes/slippers/tea & coffee making facility.

Room Tip: All rooms arevery pleasant (sea view/side/sea view and inland)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmathusReservations, Business Development Manager, Amathus Hotels at Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos!

Indeed, the Board of Directors of Claridge Public, the holding company of Amathus Paphos, has decided to convert the hotel into a premium all-inclusive property. This decision was taken so as to meet the changing customers’ behaviour towards this popular hotel concept, especially in Paphos destination.

The implementation of this decision will start as of the end of September 2014. According to the official information we have, the hotel will operate as an Amathus Hotel, 5 stars and under the same Management until 30.09.2014. All renovations planned by the new management company will take place after the 1st of October 2014 but details are not yet published. However, please have in mind that the hotel will be renamed and will meet the same lines as the “Olympic Lagoon Hotel” in Ayia Napa.

We would like to invite you to visit our Amathus in Limassol any date of your forthcoming stay, at your convenience so as to give us the opportunity to show you around the hotel and provide you with the best possible offer for a future stay.

I hope that the above information will help you to make your arrangements for your future visits to Cyprus. No need to mention that I am at your disposal for any assistance you may need from our Amathus 5-star hotels in Limassol and in Rhodes. We promise you that we will offer you the most competitive rates for both Amathus Hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos in September 2014 and we are at your disposal for any clarification you might require.


Yours sincerely


Katerina Yennari
Business Development Manager
Amathus Hotels
T: +357 25 832 000
E: kyennari@amathushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had a wondeful holiday at the Amathus Beach Hotel, in Paphos. My only regret was not staying longer. The hotel staff were fabulous every one of them made sure myself & other clients were treated to a fabulous experience. The facilities the hotel offered were 5 star,& maintained to a great standard. I visited the spa, the gym, attended a Pilates class, the hairdresser, all fantastic. I cannot speak any more highly of the team that put that together.

I had a gorgeous room, in the centre over looking the pool, and could see the sea, I could not of asked for anything any better, very luxurious,& comfortable.

Room Tip: To book a pool facing, high floor room... that way you can see the sea from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmathusReservations, Business Development Manager, Amathus Hotels at Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World and the Leading Golf Hotels, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations .

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely Yours

Katerina Yennari
Business Development Manager
AMATHUS HOTELS
Tel. +357 25832000
Email: kyennari@amathushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff are excellent and the service also was very good.
The beds were not great and mine collapsed because one of the wooden slats was missing and another was displaced! This gave my wife a good laugh!!!
Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection of goodies.
The bath was not long enough and it was also narrow. It was quite difficult to get out of it!
We experienced very high levels of noise (music) from a local taverna on 3 occasions during our 7 day stay.
The spa was excellent as was the service and music in the Nu bar. Parking facilities were good.
The hotel is in a great location with good bus services nearby.
The bedroom was clean and kept tidy by the staff. The replenishment of the tea/coffee facilities left a bit to be desired.
I have travelled extensively and did not consider that this hotel should have been a Member of the World's Best Hotels.
We enjoyed our stay but would not make a return visit.


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmathusReservations, Business Development Manager, Amathus Hotels at Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos.

We are glad to read that, overall, you had a great experience with us and that your found our personnel, the service, the spa and the cleanliness to be of the highest quality.

We are really sorry to read your bad experience with your bed and the lack of replenishment of the tea and coffee making facilities. Please rest assure that your comments have been forwarded to the relevant Department Heads so as to investigate them further and take all necessary actions.

During your next visit at the Amathus, I am sure that you will observe the difference on these two matters.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you very soon in one of the Amathus Hotels.

Sincerely Yours

Katerina Yennari
Business Development Manager
AMATHUS HOTELS
Tel. +357 25832000
Email: kyennari@amathushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel. A little outdated. Bed could have been more comfy for 5 star. Staff very professional and pleasant. Received fresh fruit and wine each day. Excellent breakfast and situated in central location. There was no adapter available for Australian plugs though. Staff at the private beach were very busy bringing patrons there every need. Beautiful view of the ocean from our room and excellent bathroom with fluffy towels. Overall a pleasant stay save the mattress.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for double room not twin beds stuck together
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmathusReservations, Business Development Manager, Amathus Hotels at Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear 22Aussie

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, concerning your recent stay at the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos!

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We have noted your comment concerning the bed mattresses and this has been forwarded to the Hotel Management for future upgrading plans.

Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of the Amathus Hotels in the near future.

Sincerely Yours

Katerina Yennari
Business Development Manager
AMATHUS HOTELS
Tel. +357 25832000
Email: kyennari@amathushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just come back from 2wks at the Amathus hotel and had a wonderful time...food excellent ...staff lovely...rooms although are a little tired they are very clean and the sheets are changed every day. I could not fault the hotel at all...Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmathusReservations, Business Development Manager, Amathus Hotels at Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear JanetB

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos for your recent stay.

At the Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, one of “The Leading Hotels of the World” and the “Leading Golf Hotels”, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you very soon in one of the Amathus Hotels.

Sincerely Yours

Katerina Yennari
Business Development Manager
AMATHUS HOTELS
Tel. +357 25832000
Email: kyennari@amathushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifensee, Switzerland
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lets start with the positive points:
- nicely located outside Paphos
- excellent pool-area, deep water good for swimming
- nice buffets and affordable wine-prices, good wine list
- fresh orange juice at breakfast and excellent "Müesli"
- personal friendly, 90 % of the staff come from Russia
and now the negative points:
- curtain in the bathtube is a absolutely no-go for 5*, no separate shower!
- bathroom is extremely small, only for one person
- we got first a standard room with old and dirty carpets, max 3 *, with additional costs a renovated room,
- dresscode should be applied not only mentionned in the guestbook (La Terazza). Diner in Shorts and slippers is not acceptable for the other guests
- sea-access poor, you cannot swim or only for meters, rocks or heavy waves
- the bath-towels are handelt as diamonds, this organization is not on the level of a 5* Hotel, thats mass-tourism
- bath-accessories incl. towels max. average quality, 3*-level
- night-service of the room around 6.00 pm is nothing, should be done during diner-time, not when everybody is preparing for diner

In general max. a 4* Hotel and never a qualified member of leading Hotels of the world. If you talk russian, than you feel like at home.

Room Tip: take in any case a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos

Address: Poseidon Ave | PO Box 62381, Paphos 8098, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious five star Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos lies on the seashores surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and is just two kilometres from the charming fishing harbour of Paphos. Dining: Luna Rosa restaurant, with resident band, La Rotisserie, for a la carte dining. La Terrazza, for Italian selections al fresco and Asiachi for pan-Asian and Chinese cuisine. Byzantium coffee shop, Cocktail lounge. Pool bar and in-room dining is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Amathus Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amathus Beach Hotel Paphos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.