We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Fish Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint George Fish Tavern

Saint George Fish Tavern
Next to the Church, Paphos, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 427 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Value Fish Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a restaurant that prepares and cooks fresh local sea produce. The decor isn't fancy and the food presentation isn't fancy. Select the fish meze and be amazed at the seasonal selection of shellfish and fish delivered to your table. It comes in two parts. The salad and a couple of dips with village bread accompanied by several fish starters, whitebait, calamari, baby octopus etc. This is later followed by cuttlefish, octopus several seasonal fish and of course potatoes.
This is not high end cuisine, but honest cooking of local fresh produce at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great fish restaurant with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a very good fish restaurant. The cooking is not fancy just relies on really fresh ingredients. We had lunch here and had the fish meze which was fantastic. It comes in two batches so watch and not eat too much bread as the portions are large.
There are lots of locals here as well as tourists which is always a good sign.
The setting is at the top of a cliff overlooking the sea so is quite spectacular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saint George Fish Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been to this resturent many times over past few years and have neglected to give it a review which is unfair on our part.

If you like Fresh simple fish or a fish meze this is the place to go , it is situated 20 minutes drive from Paphos past Coral Bay and has stunning views over local bay and islands.

Be careful on a Sunday out of season as can be very very busy at lunchtime with locals.

Gilted sea bream is to die for with a small greek salad.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived about 3pm on a Saturday afternoon, there were about 6 tables occupied but we waited ages for someone to come over and give us a menu and take our drink order - if I hadn`t been so hungry I would have left and found somewhere else to eat.
The salad, hummous, bread to start was nice enough (but they didn`t bring the oil and vinegar) and fresh. We had pork chop and white bream. Both were acceptable but the plates they were served on were too small, and there was no salad at all, so I was glad we had ordered the small village salad.
2 cokes, 1 large bottle water, 1 white bream, 1 pork chop, 1 small village salad (with bread and hummous), 1 nescafe and 1 Cyprus coffee = €41.
Just as we were finishing off, quite a few people came in with their cameras to watch the sunset and have a drink.
Not exactly cheap, but a lovely view. Once the staff served us they were pleasant it`s just a shame we had to wait for so long.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
“Dangerous cooking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My family was already 3 times in Cyprus. We dined at this restaurant for more than 7 times. We got into a terrible, dangerous situation at this restaurant. My wife found in cooked fish, fish-hook. We have received response from the restaurant, it's a normal situation. I was a kid, if my daughter had eaten the fish??
Do not eat at this restaurant. Such an attitude to cooking meals is dangerous to your life and your family.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint George Fish Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Saint George Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint George Fish Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.