We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Street and abandoned premises” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Street

Bar Street
Agios Antonios Street, Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 27 Nightlife in Paphos
Type: Neighborhoods, Bars
Attraction details
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bar Street and abandoned premises”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our hotel, Sofianna, is as the western end of "Bar Street" (real name Agios Antoniou) but you would hardly have known it. Sit in the George and Dragon and enjoy a quiet drink in September and there's hardly any sign of any activity down Bar Street. Walk down after 7pm and it's quiet with a few bars opening. Note the high number of closed or abandoned establishments at this time of year which I initially attributed to it being "off season". Visit during daylight and it's quite obvious that some of these places have been abandoned for some time.

Wander down after 9pm and there are the omnipresent touts trying to drag you into their establishment. Hmmmm . . . No thanks, we're just passing through.

Yes, can't deny it but quite a few bars, kebab shops, restaurants and eateries are open. It all looks quite inviting when it's dark and the ones that are open are lit up. There are also quite a few people about and some of the more popular places are busy, but by and large it appears to be an area in decline. Apparently "Different" bar is a gay bar! Ha!!

I imagine it's a lot busier during June July August, but we were there mid to late September. Even our hotel was full of "the older set" with only a few youth present.

If you like my reviews and need more info, I'm johnnyram and I'm 'at' TalkTalk and would be happy to supply advice. Cheers

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    17
    11
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beirut Street”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We walk past Bar Street in daylight and at night. This street should be really vibrant but in all honesty if you are looking for this sort of thing with lots of bars and wet tea shirt compitions I'd go to Ayia Napa. The old woodys bar has had a fire and it gives Bar Street the look of a war zone during the day. Lets make no mistake at night the fire damaged Woodys bar is not so really a worry and if you're a fireman on holiday you might like to see a burnt out bar now and again. The clever bar owners often employ young British teenageres to urge you into their establishments. What I like about the eager teenagers is that they are so inclusive. Who'd want a middle aged northern bloke spoiling the fun. Those wonderful teenagers do not see it that way. Everyone is welcome on Bar Street. Bubbles and Flairs are the places to be. Also Linikers is very good. The people from Linikers drive around in a Big Red Jeep during the day. Why they drive around so much I do not know. Robinhood's Bar is must if you're from the Nottingham Area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A street in decay.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We last came down here 9 years ago when it was a busy, bustling place. How things change. Now most places are closed up and derelict. Linekars and about 5 other places still trading. A few restaurants still going that only get half full at the weekend. Only the harbour area gets anywhere near busy. A resort in decline, and probably our last visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“gone downhill in 4 years”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

visited 2007&2008 good choise of bars then good atmosphere.2012 totally differant best bars gone drinks cheap and nasty,some undrinkable,bad atmosphere.better off going to harbour every bar does offers on decent branded drinks.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“So run down now, prefer the harbour area”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We have been to Paphos 4 times in the last 3 years and bar street just looks more run down every time. The first time we went it was so busy and there was so much choice and had a great party atmosphere. Now it just reeks of desperation as each pub's PR staff do what ever they can to get you in to one of the few remaining pubs that really aren't anything special.
We usually do a couple of nights in bar street but this year we didn't bother Much prefer a relaxing drink down at the harbour area now, where it's busy and fun to watch the world go by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Street also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Bar Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.