We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot if you are there when it's quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery

Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery
Main Road through village, Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Attractions in Paphos
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot if you are there when it's quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The monastery lies at the tail end of my favourite drives in the Troodos mountains, Paphos to Mount Olympos, across to Kykkos monastery, down through Cedar valley and back to Paphos.
The monastery is quite small and if you are there with coachloads of visitors, it can be swamped.
Fortunately, I have always managed to avoid that, and found the atmosphere wonderful. Truly peaceful.

Well worth a visit, but not in a crowd.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    60
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Chrysorrogiatissa Monestry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

You must visit-t this site and experience the calm and beautify. Dress respectful and soak up the atmosphere and there sanctaty

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

beautiful and peaceful. stunning views from the cafe. superb wine from their own vineyards. incredibly beautiful chapel.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Went on a trip to visit this monastry was in a lovely peaceful setting, on the trip we visited a number of other places of worship or interst but this by far was the most memorable place.
The weather was very hot on the day of our visit so my advice to anyone who does visit the monastery would be to take a hand held fan. And deffinately remember no short shorts you will have to put on a wrap or a kafton type of covering to cover your legs.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

After visiting a local winery we decided to visit the monastery. We wandered around for a bit and then sat at the small cafe and enjoyed the view. Really loved the serenity of the place!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.