We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot if you are there when it's quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery

Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery
Main Road through village, Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$79*
and up
Kykkos Monastery and Troodos Mountains Day Trip from Paphos and Limassol
Ranked #14 of 99 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot if you are there when it's quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The monastery lies at the tail end of my favourite drives in the Troodos mountains, Paphos to Mount Olympos, across to Kykkos monastery, down through Cedar valley and back to Paphos.
The monastery is quite small and if you are there with coachloads of visitors, it can be swamped.
Fortunately, I have always managed to avoid that, and found the atmosphere wonderful. Truly peaceful.

Well worth a visit, but not in a crowd.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Chrysorrogiatissa Monestry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

You must visit-t this site and experience the calm and beautify. Dress respectful and soak up the atmosphere and there sanctaty

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

beautiful and peaceful. stunning views from the cafe. superb wine from their own vineyards. incredibly beautiful chapel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Went on a trip to visit this monastry was in a lovely peaceful setting, on the trip we visited a number of other places of worship or interst but this by far was the most memorable place.
The weather was very hot on the day of our visit so my advice to anyone who does visit the monastery would be to take a hand held fan. And deffinately remember no short shorts you will have to put on a wrap or a kafton type of covering to cover your legs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

After visiting a local winery we decided to visit the monastery. We wandered around for a bit and then sat at the small cafe and enjoyed the view. Really loved the serenity of the place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing