We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent from a discerning senior citizen!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Annabelle to your Saves list
The Annabelle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“excellent from a discerning senior citizen!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

In response to Mr Petersfields review while I agree with some of his comments I was incensed by his comments that the elderly clientele were less discerning than himself, I would point out that the "Oldies" had been discerning enough to get themselves a very good deal with Mercury Holidays and were thoroughly enjoying their 3 weeks,,Perhaps when Mr Petersfield is of a similar age he will view things slightly differently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    345
    137
    45
    10
See reviews for
236
775
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a 4 day break in Cyprus to get some winter warmth. We also like the idea of being spoilt in a 5 star environment for a few days, so, since Annabelle was classified as 5 star on the Book Cyprus web site, we decide to go for it. Our Easyjet flight and the luxury car transfer from the airport were superb.

When we arrived at the hotel we were told we were upgraded (from a Double Sea View) and taken right to the far end of the hotel to a suite - which was next to a building site !
We were not happy with the view or the noise or, indeed the long walk to the hotel facilities, so asked for a room back in the main body of the hotel and this was done immediately. The question I ask is why were we not given this room in the first place ? The hotel was only half full and nobody in their right mind would want the room provided. It was not a good start.

The food, especially in the evening, was not 5 star - at least as I understand 5 star to be. There was no omelette counter for breakfast although there was a reasonable choice of continental and cooked breakfasts. The lunch and dinners (all buffet) were hugely disappointing. There was a different "theme" every evening from English to Asian to Mediterranean etc but the fact is that apart from one or two buffet pots , the food was exactly the same night after night.

Now I know that most of the residents were elderly (time of year ?) and are perhaps not as discerning as most - but even the most reasonable of them admitted that the food was very boring when staying for 2 or 3 weeks. Well we noticed after 3 days !
On the plus side the grounds are beautiful and well kept; there are ample spaces to sunbathe on comfortable beds and plenty of "hideaways" in the gardens if you don't want to be close together by the pool.
The staff were all excellent and gave a 5 star service.. We felt that the reasonably tired state of the hotel (again not 5 star) was saved by the excellence of the staff i.e. those looking after the rooms,waiting staff and reception staff were all happy, loyal to the hotel and very helpful. No complaints here at all.
So all in all, if we had been expecting and paying for a 4 star hotel then I guess our expectations would have been met but we came away feeling we had paid a lot of money for a reasonable room and ok but boring food.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor overlooking the sea,preferably on the side furthest away from the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

As a current guest at The Annabelle I must commend management for their fast response to reviews. Several issues which were raised recently on Trip Adviser - coffee pots at breakfast, tea/coffee making facilities in rooms, use of fridge, water at mealtimes, free use of the safe - these have all been addressed.
We booked a side seaview room, another time I would definitely book a seaview- they look amazing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Annabelle Hotel is rated as a 5 star hotel. It is in a great
location, right on the western shore of Cyprus. I arrived at 10am to a
sleepy December morning at the hotel, for a one night conference stay.
The hotel looked about 40% full. Nonetheless, the front desk stated that I
could only get my room at 2pm - when proper check-in is provided. So for
4 hours I was forced to lug my trolley around with me, as well as
request that some food which needed refrigeration, be placed in a
fridge.

There is a smell to the hotel that I can't quite put my finger on. I
think they are trying to use some sort of spray but it smells like sweat
and sugar. It permeates the open spaces as well as the rooms. My room is
102 and every noise in the uncarpeted hallway gets echoed into my room.

The rooms and venue are clean. The room does not have blackout curtains
so light will get in. The towels are large and plush as well as a
bathrobe and slippers are available. No pay-per-view is available, just
about 15 TV stations - with plenty of news channels.

Room Tip: Find a room where the hallway is carpeted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with four friends last week in November and from check in to check out we were overwhelmed with the friendly staff...faby huge beds in lovely seaview rooms where the sun shone on the balcony all day..immaculately clean everywhere...the food was a huge choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner and was all delicious...great location and easy walk into town...we definately coming back next year for another relaxing holiday in the lovely Annabelle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my 1st time of staying in one hotel for 3 weeks and I couldn't have hoped for a better experience than I had at the Annabelle. My room was extremely comfortable and well cared for; the staff were friendly and always very helpful; the buffet meals provided a good range of choice and variety; the grounds and view were magnificent ; it was accessible to the promenade and local shops; there was an excellent bus service and ample parking on site for hire cars. I certainly will recommend the Annabelle to my friends and hope to return regularly.
Alison, Yorkshire Nov 2013

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and it was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second holiday at The Annabelle and were so sorry to leave. In 40 years, we have never returned to the same hotel - until now. We had such a good time last November, that we just had to come back. It's just like home from home. It's so relaxing and the staff are charming. They all work so hard to make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. In the main restaurant, the chefs are busy cooking a huge variety of food and always making sure that it is replenished, so it doesn't matter when you come to eat. Every day, there are different themes - the only problem is limiting yourself to a sensible amount! After each course, the plates are quiety taken away, by smiling, gentle staff. Most days, after breakfast, we walked along to The Almyra, next door (sister hotel) where we both enjoyed a warm swim in the indoor pool. It was quiet most days and we often had the pool to ourselves. Outside, by the infinity pool we used the sunbeds to dry off before lunch. We then strolled along to the restaurant to eat a lovely choice of soup, salads, hot choices and sweets. Their fruit platter was particularly good. We enjoyed all this in the garden by the olive trees. Generally, we returned to the Annabelle for the evening meal. Though most evenings, we went along to the harbour, for a drink or two and to watch the world go by. Away from the harbour, we also found local bars that served tasty cocktails at reasonable prices and went out to a couple of restaurants to enjoy a different eating experience. Everything about our room at The Annabelle was spacious. We think that because we were returning guests, our seaview room was upgraded. The balcony was big with very comfortable chairs and the bathroom was large, with a separate shower (probably the most useful bit). The beds here are huge and very comfortable, so we always got a very good nights sleep. We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday for two weeks and are already planning to return next year around the same time, when the English weather is getting cold. It was in the early 20's most days. Even when the sun was hiding behind some clouds, it was still warm enough to wear summer clothes, just lie around and do very little. Writing this with the dog and the cats waiting for their tea, the central heating on and I've got to cook dinner - I just want to be back there!

Room Tip: Always go for a seaview room, makes sitting on the balcony more peaceful and relaxing and the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate it and we are honoured to know that the Annabelle is the only Hotel you have returned to. It is very rewarding for us that you had another wonderful stay.

We appreciate your kind comments about our team's charming hospitality, and the quality and variety of the buffet meals in Fontana. I have passed your comments on, which the team will be delighted about.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a third visit soon.

Meanwhile we wish you a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Paphos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#19 Family Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Annabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.