We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as people make it out to me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Annabelle

Save Saved
You added The Annabelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Annabelle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 95 hotels in Paphos
Israel
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Not as great as people make it out to me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Annabelle Hotel is rated as a 5 star hotel. It is in a great
location, right on the western shore of Cyprus. I arrived at 10am to a
sleepy December morning at the hotel, for a one night conference stay.
The hotel looked about 40% full. Nonetheless, the front desk stated that I
could only get my room at 2pm - when proper check-in is provided. So for
4 hours I was forced to lug my trolley around with me, as well as
request that some food which needed refrigeration, be placed in a
fridge.

There is a smell to the hotel that I can't quite put my finger on. I
think they are trying to use some sort of spray but it smells like sweat
and sugar. It permeates the open spaces as well as the rooms. My room is
102 and every noise in the uncarpeted hallway gets echoed into my room.

The rooms and venue are clean. The room does not have blackout curtains
so light will get in. The towels are large and plush as well as a
bathrobe and slippers are available. No pay-per-view is available, just
about 15 TV stations - with plenty of news channels.

Room Tip: Find a room where the hallway is carpeted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    260
    111
    43
    8
See reviews for
171
574
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with four friends last week in November and from check in to check out we were overwhelmed with the friendly staff...faby huge beds in lovely seaview rooms where the sun shone on the balcony all day..immaculately clean everywhere...the food was a huge choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner and was all delicious...great location and easy walk into town...we definately coming back next year for another relaxing holiday in the lovely Annabelle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my 1st time of staying in one hotel for 3 weeks and I couldn't have hoped for a better experience than I had at the Annabelle. My room was extremely comfortable and well cared for; the staff were friendly and always very helpful; the buffet meals provided a good range of choice and variety; the grounds and view were magnificent ; it was accessible to the promenade and local shops; there was an excellent bus service and ample parking on site for hire cars. I certainly will recommend the Annabelle to my friends and hope to return regularly.
Alison, Yorkshire Nov 2013

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and it was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second holiday at The Annabelle and were so sorry to leave. In 40 years, we have never returned to the same hotel - until now. We had such a good time last November, that we just had to come back. It's just like home from home. It's so relaxing and the staff are charming. They all work so hard to make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. In the main restaurant, the chefs are busy cooking a huge variety of food and always making sure that it is replenished, so it doesn't matter when you come to eat. Every day, there are different themes - the only problem is limiting yourself to a sensible amount! After each course, the plates are quiety taken away, by smiling, gentle staff. Most days, after breakfast, we walked along to The Almyra, next door (sister hotel) where we both enjoyed a warm swim in the indoor pool. It was quiet most days and we often had the pool to ourselves. Outside, by the infinity pool we used the sunbeds to dry off before lunch. We then strolled along to the restaurant to eat a lovely choice of soup, salads, hot choices and sweets. Their fruit platter was particularly good. We enjoyed all this in the garden by the olive trees. Generally, we returned to the Annabelle for the evening meal. Though most evenings, we went along to the harbour, for a drink or two and to watch the world go by. Away from the harbour, we also found local bars that served tasty cocktails at reasonable prices and went out to a couple of restaurants to enjoy a different eating experience. Everything about our room at The Annabelle was spacious. We think that because we were returning guests, our seaview room was upgraded. The balcony was big with very comfortable chairs and the bathroom was large, with a separate shower (probably the most useful bit). The beds here are huge and very comfortable, so we always got a very good nights sleep. We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday for two weeks and are already planning to return next year around the same time, when the English weather is getting cold. It was in the early 20's most days. Even when the sun was hiding behind some clouds, it was still warm enough to wear summer clothes, just lie around and do very little. Writing this with the dog and the cats waiting for their tea, the central heating on and I've got to cook dinner - I just want to be back there!

Room Tip: Always go for a seaview room, makes sitting on the balcony more peaceful and relaxing and the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate it and we are honoured to know that the Annabelle is the only Hotel you have returned to. It is very rewarding for us that you had another wonderful stay.

We appreciate your kind comments about our team's charming hospitality, and the quality and variety of the buffet meals in Fontana. I have passed your comments on, which the team will be delighted about.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a third visit soon.

Meanwhile we wish you a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphoa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Perfectly located hotel, on the water front of Paphos and basically where all the action is... the hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly... it's just a perfect place to be when vacationing in Paphos...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

we recently had a week half board and it was all fantastic, comfortable good sized rooms, all areas including grounds were immacutely clean and the food was great but most of all the staff (all of them) were helpful and friendly - would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we were balcony overlooking the harbour as the sun went down - perfect - can't comment on other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to ensure your holiday was an enjoyable as possible, and your comments have been communicated to the team, which will be very pleased.

We hope to welcome you back to Annabelle in the near future

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went to cyprus for the first time in August. The heat was unbelievably fabulous. We stayed at the annabelle hotel and it was gorgeous. When we arrived the room allocated was not so good but after we negotiated with the manager we got a room more in keeping with the price we paid. I spoke with a couple of other guests and they said they too were allocated rooms which could only be described as staff rooms with the most awful views over air con (i think). Anyway, once we got that sorted the hotel was fabulous. Room was brill, food was amazing and so much choice. Location was also great as it was only a short walk to where it was 'happening 'and it was right on the beach. Perfect.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room on the side of the hotel which had a path between our hotel and another. ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#9 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Annabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.